We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's been said before, but this place is THAT wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oba Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Oba Hotel to your Saves list
Oba Hotel
Kucuk Ayasofya Mh. Ozbekler Sk. No.26 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Please visit our website.
Ranked #21 of 943 Hotels in Istanbul
NYC
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“It's been said before, but this place is THAT wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

After a rather harrowing experience at a different hotel in Istanbul, my fellow traveler and I were desperate for comfort and a place to feel welcome. This hotel was all that and much more.. it was literally one of the best hotel experiences I've ever had. Firstly, the place isn't easy to find. It's down a very steep back street and, as is the case with most streets in Istanbul, there are hardly any street signs to be found. So, after relying on the kindness of strangers - tourists and other hotel owners alike - we found our beacon of blue light - the Oba Hotel. Weary from our previous hotel and long aimless walk, we were beckoned in and offered coffee, water, or tea whilst we sat down to enjoy some English programming and friendly conversation with fellow tourists.

The hotel owner was unbelievably friendly and kind - his face radiated warmth and we felt immediately at home. Although having booked a mere few hours before, he found our reservation without issue and escorted us promptly to our room. After having paid ~$45 a night at one of the worst hotels in the city (see my review for Hotel Eyfel), we were amazed at how beautiful our accommodations were, and especially at the ridiculous value rate of $50 for the night. Despite being on the cozy side (our room was on the top floor and had a sloped ceiling), we had all the amenities we could have wanted. Fresh towels and soaps, a hair dryer, spotless bedroom and bathroom, vanity dresser with huge mirror, closet w/ bathrobes and slippers, a safe, a small fully stocked fridge (although no booze, to our disappointment), and a huge fluffy bed with pillows galore. The room was also adorned with tasteful artwork and rugs, and the dresser was magnificent wooden beast. We dropped our backpacks, leaped on the bed, and squealed at our good fortune - finally, a place we can really rest!

Our host was more than gracious in giving out maps and directions and even recommendations for places to go and see. Although we were unable to make the breakfast the next morning, I have read from other reviews that they put out quite the spread. I'll have to save that for next time :}

Overall, gorgeous and comfortable accommodations, fantastic value, and the best hosts in town. Love it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    75
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
85
206
17
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Great place, located close to Grand Bazaar, Blue Mosque and other attractions around Sultanamet.
We were welcomed warmly by Ishmail who continued to assist us with our stay....with great local advice and assistance in booking whatever we needed.
The hotel is clean, comfortable and warmly decorated.
Do not hesitate to book a stay at The Oba !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, CA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I was only able to spend a night in Istanbul, but Oba was the perfect place to spend it. Izmail welcomed me to his charming hotel. There was coffee and tea waiting. The room was warm and quite pretty, and had all the amenities of a high star hotel. The neighborhood made my packed day of sight-seeing simple. To start, there is a drop-dead gorgeous mosque 50 feet away-- really worth visiting (but no pictures allowed inside). Then it's short walk to all the main attractions of Istanbul. The next morning Oba puts out a delicious breakfast buffet-- cheeses, boreks, stuffed grad leaves, homemade jams-- and the small number of rooms ensures you won't be overwhelmed by tour groups or hordes of guests. In all, Oba is a jewel-like retreat in a busy city-- and I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Breakfast was delicious with a variety of hot and cold items that were clearly made in house. The items changed throughout a things ran out, new recipes showed up which was awesome. We're vegan, so there were a lot of items we couldn't eat that looked great. Cheese and dairy is pretty common in Turkey. That said, we still had a ton of variety of fruit and cereal, olives and hot food. We were very happy as usually our options are pretty limited. Honestly, this is run more like a B&B which we loved. There is clear attention to detail and it's well cared for. We arrived very late (or early morning as it was). They arranged a shuttle from the airport for 25 Euro. Honestly, you could probably arrange your own taxi cheaper, but when arriving late, not having to wait for the taxi line or explain our destination was worth the likely little extra. When we made it to the hotel, they were waiting for us and offered us fresh tea or juice and some late night conversation. Our room was beautiful and comfortable. It felt authentic instead of a cookie cutter hotel room we could stay in anywhere. When we left the next morning, they held on to our luggage while we went exploring. When it was time to go (we were heading out on a cruise), they called a taxi for us and it was there within 5 minutes. The taxi driver was a little confused at the exact location of our port, so the lovely lady at the desk happily called the port for us to get precise directions for the driver. It was very convenient to the Grand Bazaar, the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, the Palace, and the waterfront - all within easy walking distance (less than 10 minutes). It's also convenient to the Spice Bazaar and the port, both of which can be reached easily with the tram or a longer walk. I would recommend taking a taxi to port. It was about the equivalent of $10 and you won't have to worry about dragging luggage uphill to the tram or the tram being really crowded for luggage. Anyway, we loved it! THANK YOU for a beautiful first night in Istanbul!

Room Tip: There isn't an elevator, so if you have accessibility issues, request a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed here for a week in Oct 2013, and cannot praise the place enough.
Great little family run hotel.
Staff are very friendly and helpful, and the place is very clean and nicely decorated.

Hotel owner/manager is a local and was very helpful in giving directions &advice and arranging trips.

Location is also great, and its only a 4 minute walk to the Blue mosque (We timed it!)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

If you're seeking a small cozy hotel with the best and friendliest service ever, this is it! A great location in Sultanamet near the Blue Mosque, clean, modern facilites, comfortable. But the real difference is the service offered by the owners Ismail and Tulay. They went far out of their way welcoming us, arranging tours, ferry tickets, car rentals, translating. Ismail organized on request a private boat excursion for us and our friends rather than simply booking tickets on the usual tourist boats, and came along as a guide. Nothing less than 5/5

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I have stayed in Oba hotel a few times now and I just love it! Now I recommend it to all my friends who are visiting the city. The hotel is extremely nice, it has new, spacious and beautiful rooms , delicious breakfast and very friendly staff. The location is great, just a few minutes to walk and you are in the middle of the historic area of Istanbul. I can strongly recommend this hotel to anyone going to Istanbul, as it is a great place to stay and very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oba Hotel

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mh. Ozbekler Sk. No.26 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 943 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Oba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oba Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.