We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oba Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Oba Hotel to your Saves list
Oba Hotel
Kucuk Ayasofya Mh. Ozbekler Sk. No.26 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Please visit our website.
Ranked #21 of 943 Hotels in Istanbul
Zagreb, Croatia
1 review
“Great hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Just as the title says, a great hotel with a great location and with excellent staff (regards to David and Ismael). The rooms are very clean, and the bed is really comfortable. No bad things to say. Would come again and I will definitely recommend Oba to all my friends and relatives.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dcuthell, Public Relations Manager at Oba Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and would love to host you again. Send us an email if you would like to return, we'd be happy to arrange free transportation from the airport!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    75
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
85
206
17
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We just returned from a 5 day stay at the Oba. We had a wonderful time and received lots of great tips from David and Ismail who speak perfect English. David is American and Ismail lived in America for several years. Very friendly staff who will attend to any need you have at all hours. We never knew his name but we met the after hours host one night when he popped up from the kitchen downstairs .He said hello and we asked "how are you?" and he said... "Fat!" Hahaha. From that point forward we called him the "Fat man" ... although he wasn't really, he just enjoyed his food.

LOCATION: The hotel is located in a very convenient spot just a "block" or two from the Hippodrome, Blue Mosque and Hagia Sofia. Beware there is steep hill to climb to get to the attractions. We used the exercise as an excuse to eat more delicious food! At the top of the hill is a wonderful restaurant with a magnificent view from the terrace called Vaha. (I wrote a review of it as well) There is a neighborhood mosque midway up the hill that you can visit and it seems to be acceptable to cut through the courtyard of the mosque (watch out for kids playing with a soccer ball!). to avoid at least part of the hill The neighborhood is not ritzy but it is safe and clean and you get a birdseye view of the surrounding neighborhood if your room looks onto the street.

The BED was king sized and comfy with a nice down comforter and plenty of pillows. The room has an air conditioner which was only needed on two days during our visit in April. We opened windows otherwise. There is a large custom made wardrobe/armoire for your clothes, but no drawers. Some hooks on the backs of doors or bedroom walls would be a good addition. =)

The BATHROOM contained all the modern conveniences and the shower (no tub) was lovely. Large and tiled with marble. There was a "rain" shower head with detachable shower wand accessory. Plenty of room around and under the sink for toiletries. They provided lots of shampoo, conditioner and soap as well as a full sized blow dryer.

NOISE: We were in room #202 and weren't bothered by noise from other guests. You can hear footsteps from the guests above but nothing through the walls. We kept the windows open and could hear neighborhood noise from about 7 am to 8pm. Be aware that Oba is very close to a mosque (what hotel in Istanbul ISN'T?!) and the call to prayer over loudspeaker can be heard at sunrise. There is a website to find out when you can expect the calls on turkey travel planner .com. I wore earplugs (the wax sticky kind) and didn't hear a thing.

BREAKFAST: A buffet of pretty much everything you can imagine was available from 8 to 10ish in the mornings. Cereals, fruits, dolmas, meats, cheeses and other delightful things you don't eat at home! You can also order eggs done in any style you choose. There is regular coffee and you can ask for Turkish coffee as well. (Remember it takes 10 minutes or so because it brews several times) They leave some breads, cereals and coffee out for a while to accommodate us late sleepers. Nice =)

Overall a wonderful (reasonably priced) experience. We recommend it highly and will stay there again when we return to Istanbul. Thanks so much Oba Hotel!

Room Tip: We weren't bothered by noise from other guests in room #202
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizCathy, Owner at Oba Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Hello,

Thank you so much. I liked your review a lot.

Hope to see you again...

Tulay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

We loved this place, some 5 mins walking to the blue mosque. The area is surprisingly quiet and authentic. The owner is a true host. We first had a room on the ground floor. This was too noisy from the reception area and preparation for breakfast. When we asked for another room the next day he had to reshuffle some but managed to get us to third floor. Much better, but you can hear other guests above and below walking in their room or talking. Too bad as apart from this the hotel and staff are approaching perfection.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dcuthell, Public Relations Manager at Oba Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of our hotel! We are working on a permanent solution for the sound insulation issue, however if you have any suggestions for fixes in the mean time, please let us know. Better yet, come back and tell us in person, and we will make you a delicious cake!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 5 nights. The location is quite good and the staff is more than friendly. There are two reasons I didn't give 5 points to this hotel. Firstly, it's almost impossible to enjoy privacy here because the walls are extremely thin, you can hear people sneezing next door, upstairs and downstairs. Secondly, because of the room we were given. Despite having booked for 5 nights and 2 months before the arrival, they gave us a room right under the roof, which was not for tall people, we would keep hitting our heads either on the lower parts of the ceiling or the hanging lamps. Anyway, these were the only pitfalls we experienced during our stay.

Room Tip: avoid the rooms on the last floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dcuthell, Public Relations Manager at Oba Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel! As you know, these old wooden buildings have poor noise insulation, and we are looking for a permanent solution that will maintain the historic integrity of the hotel. As for your room, we apologize for not finding a solution for you. Our rooms on the top floor do have low ceilings, and if you choose to return, we would be happy to place you in a room more suitable for your height. Hopefully you will have a chance to come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Amazing Breakfast - yummmmm best we had in Turkey and it kept on coming. Rooms were lovely, housekeeping was absolutely phenomenal (you know, like when they fold up all your clothes for you? love that.) Service was good and the owner who spoke with us on the first day shared some great insights about Istanbul.

Had a couple not-so-stellar incidents with a few staff members "hm, not sure where I would find an extra blanket" (really?!), but for the most part staff was great.

Unfortunately the walls were quite thin and the closest mosque is steps away so sleep quality was not the best. Also it is just a bit out of the way from the main attractions in Sultanahmet - however we actually appreciated that :-)

Room Tip: Higher floor so you do not hear the footsteps of those on top of you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dcuthell, Public Relations Manager at Oba Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
The best breakfast you had in Turkey? Wow, we are thrilled to receive such high praises! As for the housekeeping, Aysel and Leyla really do an incredible job keeping the hotel spotless, and it is good to know that their efforts are appreciated by our guests. The noise issue is something we are working on, and if you have any suggestions of ways we can improve sleep quality before we install a permanent solution, we would love to hear them. Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us, we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed in Oba Hotel as a couple in summer 2012 and it was just great - completing our first Istanbul experience instead of only being a place to sleep. The place is just like it looks on the pictures, everything was very new and clean. The first night we stayed in a smaller but very cosy room just under the roof and then were given the opportunity to change to a room with the "balcony" (meaning the part of the house which sticks out over the street on first floor) if we wanted to. This room really felt luxurious!

The neighborhood is close to the famous sights you will want so see when in Istanbul for the first time. It is a poor neighborhood with many of the old typical wooden houses decaying but there seems to be more and more renovation going on - as for Oba Hotel. We happend to stay in Istanbul during Ramadan and at night it was an atmospheric experience to pass by the Blue Mosque where lots a families gather for having dinner.

Isamail and his family are indeed very friendly and helpful and especially helped us a lot when planning and booking our connecting bus trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dcuthell, Public Relations Manager at Oba Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us such a kind review for our property. We are glad to hear we are able to make your trip both easy and enjoyable. Hopefully we will see you again soon, we would love to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hengelo (ov)
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in December 2012, during X-mas. We arrived late in the evening and were offered a transfer by the hotel. This was very convenient. The night-watchman in the hotel was very friendly and showed us a gorgeous room. Spacious, wooden floors, big bed, nice bedlinen, minifridge, water and Turkish delight, coffee and tea making facilities and a very nice bathroom. Somewhere during the night we woke up. First by a dog that was barking like he was mad (and he was very close!) and after the dog had shut up a generator starting making a lot of noise. In the morning we looked out of our window and found we had a room at the back of the hotel, just above a parking space (with a guarddog and generator). Anyway, we stayed here for 4 nights and this didn't happen again. On the last day however a couple moved in the room above us and we found out that the wooden floorboards were very noisy. But than again, the most complaints you read about is the noise in hotels. This is the only minor thing we have to say about the hotel. It is beautiful and has been restored with a lot of care for details. It is in a shabby looking street, but safe and close to all the sights and nice restaurants. Do not miss Kumkapi, where all the fishrestaurants are! The owner of the hotel is extremely friendly and he gives you all the information and advice you could possibly need. The staff is very nice also. Breakfast is good too, with bread, jams, all sorts of cheeses and meats, eggs, Turkish things also, fruits, juices, coffee, biscuits, what more do you need to start of your day? All in all we were really happy we stayed here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dcuthell, Public Relations Manager at Oba Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of our property, and for uploading those wonderful pictures! We're sorry to hear that our neighbors disturbed your sleep; fortunately the dog is no longer in the parking lot behind us. As for the floorboards, we are working on importing a special type of soundproofing foam which will not damage the boards. We are glad to hear positive things about our service and our breakfast, both of which are an important part of Turkish hospitality which we aim to excel in. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oba Hotel

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mh. Ozbekler Sk. No.26 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 943 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Oba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oba Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.