We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Faros kebap

Faros kebap
Kocatepe Mahallesi Sehit Muhtar Caddesi 28/A | Talimhane, Beyoglu, Istanbul, Turkey
+90 2122503356
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #196 of 11,077 Restaurants in Istanbul
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Middle Eastern, Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Traditional tastes of the Turkish cuisine are finding life with original presentation!Our experienced and friendly employees are ready to serve you 7 days a week between 08:00 and 01:00 with the enthuasiasm to make you live the turkish hospitality.The most delicious samples of East and Southeast Anatolia, from shashlik to beyti, from gavurdagı to kunefe, are been prepared with a service of high quality and experience of Faros.Taste of our foods and interior design will tempt you. In Faros Kebap, which is an oasis for people who love meat,you can organize your business lunch or dinner, make reservations for your special days.
1 review
“Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We went here for dinner the first night we arrived in Istanbul. The food was excellent & the staff were all very friendly & helpful. The menu was also in English & all the staff spoke English really well which helped :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    85
    13
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I ate here three times during my time in Istanbul as it was very close to my hotel. Unlike many restaurants, no pushy people touting on the street, yet it was always the busiest place on the street. The starter plate (8 dips and fresh bread) was great and there was a nice selection of meat dishes for mains. Prices were reasonable for what is a up-market area near Taksim Square.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very good local food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Found this restaurant walking by the Taksim square. Wasn't expecting something special, just a "normal" lunch for tired turists. in fact this restaurant was a great surprise. I had a mix meat plate which was delicious with a Baklava desert also really nice. The staff was really friendly. Do not expect to be a fancy place but if you are looking for some local food with quality you can go to Faros!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very good turkish food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Faros kebap has a great location and very good turkish food. The mixed plate for 2 people is really tasty, fresh and well done by the kind staff. I also recommend the baklava as a desert. Best I had in town. In general very good for lunch.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic Authentic Turkish Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This restaurant was so clean and vibrant with a real mix of travellers and locals. The food was excellent and very reasonable compared to other restaurants in the vicinity.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Faros kebap also viewed

 

Been to Faros kebap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Faros kebap, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.