We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spontaneity, great cuisine, wonderful company, and breathtaking skyline” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nostra Casa

Nostra Casa
K. Ayasofya Cad. Mustafa Pasa Sok. No. 42 Sultanahmet Fatih, Istanbul 34122 , Turkey
05392030092
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Nostra Casa is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #74 of 11,047 Restaurants in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Auburn, Alabama
1 review
“spontaneity, great cuisine, wonderful company, and breathtaking skyline”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This past spring my friends and I had the great pleasure of getting to know a man named Turgay while living in the Beyoglu district of Istanbul. I found Istanbul to be a city characterized by its spontaneity, great cuisine, wonderful company, and breathtaking skyline. All of which can be found at Nostra Casa. If you have the chance to visit this incredible city you MUST make a visit to this gem of a restaurant. Aside from the great company and worldly insight that the owner offers, the food provides for an amazing dining experience in itself. A mouth watering mix of traditional Turkish and Italian dishes always had my friends and I coming back for more. No need to rush or worry yourself with the menu, just sit back relax and enjoy all the pleasures this wonderful place has to offer.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    25
    8
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Missouri
Top Contributor
271 reviews 271 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“a real mixed bag ... but ultimately disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Had dinner at Nostra Casa and had a very mixed experience. On the plus side, the terrace has an awesome view of the Sea of Marmara, the Blue Mosque, the Little Hagia Sofia; the food is a nice blend of (mainly) Italian with some Turkish influences; a decent wine list (including a nice Corpus, which is an Italian-Turkish joint venture); a quirky and (at first) very engaging owner ... and several friendly cats that kept us entertained. But ... and these are significant buts ... the food was over-salted (especially the home-made ravioli) and, once an Italian family came up to the terrace, the owner ignored us for an hour or more. And I mean totally, completely ignored us. And ours were the only two parties in the restaurant. For over an hour, after we'd finished our wine, we were left completely unattended ... we weren't asked about dessert, or coffee, or after dinner drinks. Just ignored. From my perspective, this is simply inexcusable in terms of service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Place with character”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

As opposed to the surrounding rooftop places, this one is more characteristic and less swanky. The owner is a well-traveled and polyglot guy and decorated the stairs, rooms and rooftop in quite an individual, sophisticated, yet warm way. We sat on the roof just for an afternoon beer and a snack, so I can't really rate the overall quality of the cuisine, but the snack (salad) was good and the view over the Marmara Sea great, although you don't get to see the Bosphorus or Hagia Sophia from up there. If I was in Sultanahmet more often I'd go back there for sure.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Promised so much but delivered so little....and at a price”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Having read the many excellent TripAdvisor reviews and staying only 5 minutes walk away, we thought this was a must to try.

First impressions were very encouraging - nice homely feel, very warm welcome and great views from the roof top terrace. Then on to the food. Chef's selection of starters was no more than average, but about twice the price of anywhere else we ate at during our 4 nights break (we didn't find that out until the bill arrived though!). Pasta carbonara consisted of a small bowl of dried penne pasta with far too much oil and salt and a scattering of pancetta. It was like no other carbonara I've eaten before, and was the sort of dish that could be knocked up in minutes at next to no cost. Also a penne arabiatta - better, but no more than average. Drinks were one large beer, one small one, a bottle of water and two coffees.

The bill arrived and was twice the price of the next dearest meal we had (all of which were very good, by the way). As HappyBritishTraveler alluded to, it wasn't easy to complain as the owner was by now ensconced on the next table with a large group of mates, leaving us feeling that we were intruding somewhat into a private party. So we settled up and left, feeling rather as though we'd been had. Agree with other 2 'star' reviews of this place, and rather bemused by the many glowing ones. We won't be hurrying back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing night out!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Turgay; the owner actually was not going to cook that night! When we called for directions, he said, " he was open til 11:00"

Well, we were there til 1:00 a. M. We sat rooftop which has amazing views of the Blue Mosque and in the other direction the complete coastline.
It was a little chilly that night, but they had plenty of wraps to keep us warm.

A very good host with amazing food. The only bad thing is the bathroom was stinky, the Turks love their cats.

Well worth the trip to have this dining experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nostra Casa also viewed

 
Istanbul, Turkey
Istanbul, Turkey
 

Been to Nostra Casa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nostra Casa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.