We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid at all costs” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Helios Hotel Istanbul

Save Saved
You added Helios Hotel Istanbul to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Helios Hotel Istanbul
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   K. Ayasofya Mah. Aksakal Caddesi No:24 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #570 of 899 hotels in Istanbul
Delft, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Avoid at all costs”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

While initially this hotel may seem okay, it's all the important details that are terrible.

- The internet is unusably slow 9 (5 minutes to open an email) on the third floor.
- A train comes past a few metres away every 30 minutes or so at night
- Most mornings the breakfast simply runs out about 1-2 hours before its supposed to end, and the breakfast itself is not very good. When we asked to please have milk for our coffee in the morning, we were told that the milk for breakfast is finished (although we can pay for non-breakfast coffee)

It really wasn't a good experience.

Room Tip: Avoid anything on the 3rd floor, and don't rely on the internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    3
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
2
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We were stayed 3 nights.

beautiful view from the roof and staff were kindly.
Internet were not working in my room.
you can use in entrance......

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

The bed: Extremely comfortable.
The blanket: downy and soft
The pillows: nice to cuddle
The Room: Although on the smaller side, extremely well packed with all the necessary amenities
The Location: Situated just a few minutes from the Hippodrome, Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia
The Internet: Wi Fi is available all day, what more does a tourist want
The View: Overlooking the Maramara Sea, one should not miss it
The Breakfast: Satisfying and filling. Love the wide array of teas and the strong coffee
The Service: Undeniably the best. The hotel staff arranged our tours, the music shows, the transfers and even dinner at 11pm.. This is their trump card.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

we have been stayed for 4 nights.
the plus : the location very closed to Blue Moskey and Sultanahmet, the welcoming of the staff trying to do their best especially the manager
the minus:hotel located on a very noisy street (the major one to reach the old center with many taxis and touristic buses going through all day long till late on the night) just closed to a railway, no sounproofing inside the hotel: a door between our room and the one of our neightboroughs as if our rooms were previously twins!), the rooms which are on the part of the more recent bulding and located on the street are very noisy and very small! the shower didn't work anymore at the end of our trip.
the breakfast is in a really not acceptable relationship between price and qualtiy (no handmade coffee! only nescafe coffee, just one type of bread and no choice of fruits and cakes for example)very poor breakfast for a such price. even the terrace has a view on the railway so noisy too!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Helios Hotel Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helios Hotel Istanbul

Address: K. Ayasofya Mah. Aksakal Caddesi No:24 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #570 of 899 hotels in Istanbul
Hotel Class:3 star — Helios Hotel Istanbul 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Particularly spoils by its geographic situation in regard to famous sites, Helios is situated within the Old historical quarter of the town Istanbul thus providing a direct access to touristic sites such as the Blue Mosque.St. Sophia, Topkapi Palace, Hippodrome square, such places are located within a few meters walk from Helios, while being fairly accessible from the Istanbul International Airport (15km farther), the main Railway station (about a kilometre away) or the Urban Tram (only two street blocks away). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Tingo and Agoda so you can book your Helios Hotel Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Helios Hotel Istanbul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.