We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BUDGET FRIENDLY EXCELLENT LOCATION” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yeni Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Yeni Hostel to your Saves list
Yeni Hostel
Nobethane cad. Dervisler sok. No:12 Sirkeci, Istanbul 34112, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #98 of 850 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
london
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“BUDGET FRIENDLY EXCELLENT LOCATION”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Yeni hostel and their staff are excellent for a city break in this part of town.
Location to the palace, Gulhane park, the metro stop and restaurants is perfect.

Walking distance to everything in this part of town.

Basic, but clean and well maintained throughout the day.

Wifi works in your room.

Staff knowledgable and friendly.

If you are not looking for 'glossy' this is a fantastic place to stay.
:)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    30
    13
    3
    0
See reviews for
3
20
27
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
funabashi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

I stayed at yeni hostel for 4 nights. I have been to Istanbul more than 20 times. This is one of the best hotels in Istanbul. Rooms are clean and tidy. Staffs are really warm ,decent and proffecional.
We shared a shower. Shower rooms are big enough to relax. If I go to Istanbul gain, I think I want to stay in this hote again.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are clean so fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

you can walk to almost any historical sites in istanbul,very good location! But i have to say the staff of Yeni Hostel is the best part of my trip in Istanbul.They're so nice and helpful.for some time i just wanted to stay in the hostel and talked with them~~~5 star recommendation!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

The location of Yeni Hostel is great, just a few minutes walking from most of the attractions in Sultanahmet district so no public transport is needed. The staff is very friendly and willing to help with any question or request you might have. But be aware of the construction activities in progress next to the hostel. They are working 24 hours so sleeping wasn't pleasant at all. All other things were fine.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Excellent choice when traveling on a budget. Hagia Sofia, Grand Bazaar, Galata bridge and Topkapi are all within 10minutes of walking, which saves money and time too. Rooms are clean and a little above what you should expect from that price range. Shared bathroom/shower was very clean at time of my visit, but hostel was not fully occupied then so i cant comment on how clean it is when all rooms are taken. Staff was helpful and they value their customers. As others already said its not a party place, its great though if you are partying outside and then you need to sleep/rest in quiet. Beds were on the better side in term of quality of sleep/mattress. There was a construction of building on adjacent parcel, and it looks like its normal to use jackhammers at 1am in Turkey so plastic windows came handy.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I stayed in a 4* beach resort in Dalaman before coming to Yeni Hostel and was not disappointed at all. The room size was small and the interior was basic. An arm chair, small table, single bed with clean linen and a cupboard. If you are in for a luxury trip this isnt the place but if you want to roam about whole day and need a clean place to sleep then dont go anwhere else. The location is excellent: Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Archaeological Museums and Blue Mosque all are within 5-10 mins walking distance. You do not even need to ask someone for directions. The hostel itself is in the traditional environment with tramvay station, railway station and ferry bays in 2-5 mins walking distance.
Plus the owner and his daughter were lovely people, yes even if you are not a white girl ! They made me feel like at home and are ready to help always.

UPDATES:

The metro station construction is due to finish in October plus they have already soundproofed the windows so no noise when the windows are closed.
My single room had an AC and I have seen a lot more units outside the hotel so, I guess the it is no more a fan-only accomodation.

Room Tip: Try to find a single room not a dorm. If your nasal receptivity is sensitive, try not to get the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful service, good prices, perfect location. We changed from Buyuk Grand hotell to this and dont regret one second! Rooms are clean and cozy, there is a shared toilet and shower room on each floor in very good and clean condition. A kitchen where you can keep some breakfast. Warmest recommendations!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yeni Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yeni Hostel

Address: Nobethane cad. Dervisler sok. No:12 Sirkeci, Istanbul 34112, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 850 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Yeni Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yeni Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.