We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, though a bit hard to find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Durmaz Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Durmaz Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Durmaz Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ataturk Bulvari Kemalpasa Mah. No:4 | Aksaray/Fatih, Istanbul 34080, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #329 of 944 Hotels in Istanbul
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good location, though a bit hard to find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed for two nights and had good stay. Staff are helpful and pleasant, and the hotel is conveniently located - a tram stop is just around the corner and Aksaray metro station less than ten minutes' walk, at a busy part of the old town, so not easy to locate, not just for out-of- town folks. Our Taxi driver had a hard time finding the place, two different times! Other than that, it was a good chois and reasonable too.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    41
    14
    7
    3
See reviews for
31
33
7
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kazan, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed in the hotel 3-6 November. When we came very early (8am) we were suggested to take a tea and wait some time before our room would be cleaned. After it we could use it without additional payment. The room was clean. We always had clean towels, new shampoo, conditioner and gel. Room is not small, you get comfortable bed, table, little wardrobe, mini bar, teapot. Breakfast is more turkish, than european, but I think it is an advantage - we could try local food. Local olives, cheese, honey started to be my favourite. Also you get some meat, eggs, soup, salad, few fruits and so on. Enough to be not hungry until the dinner time.
It is situated in very comfartable to get place: 300 meters from metro station (end stop from the airport), tram station is also very close. We prefer walking tours, and location is good for it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Ok..I made a HUGE mistake of booking a non-refundable room!!! I still regret it, our Istanbul trip was have been much better! Seriously!!! We arrived in IST on a very early flt and reached the hotel @ 8am. I totally understand that they didn't have any rooms as they were fully booked.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabes, Tunisia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed in the hotel from 14th to 16th October 2012.
Hotel Location: Perfect, near tramway station (about 100 meters), near shopping center.
Rooms: clean, confortable, no noise, and secure
Hotel staff: very kind staff of the hotel day and night, always available with smiles , speaking in english well, and with remarakable dress!
Breakfast: the breakfast is included in the room rate, the breakfast is on the 6th floor, wide restaurant and with variety of foods.
The rate is higher than other hotels but can be negotiated if booked earlier.

We strongly recommend this hotel.

Mohamed & Mustapha

Room Tip: avoid rooms on the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DilekC521, Manager at Grand Durmaz Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Mohamed & Mustapha ,

Thank you for your wonderful review following your recent stay.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your experience at our hotel and have shared your lovely comments with the team.

Thank you again for your feedback and I do hope we will have another opportunity of welcoming you back at some stage in the future.

Sincerely,
Dilek Canozu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

New decorated hotel . Less than one min to Aksaray tram station , three stations to Grand Bazaar . Few min walking to Sulaymaniyah mosque . Clean and acceptable space room, good breakfast and good rest. They changed our triple room to Royal suit for two full days for free !

Room Tip: Have a room viewing Murat Pasha mosque !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DilekC521, Manager at Grand Durmaz Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Grand Durmaz Hotel Guest,

Thank you for posting your kind feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are very happy to read your nice review, and are so pleased that we could contribute to making your trip to Turkey great experience.

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The hotel looks very nice in the photos and it is true, it's new and nicely and tastefully decorated but it leaves a lot to be desired in crucial areas:

Sleeping quality: the twin beds are very small with very firm mattresses even for someone like me who likes firm mattresses, the pillows are foam and insubstantial and worst of all the air conditioning in my room could not be controlled, it would simply start and stop after some time, making the room either freezing or too hot. As a result I didn't have a single night's good sleep. I complained about the air conditioning and twice I was told that a technician would fix it but nothing happened.

breakfast: very miserable selection of strangely coloured and tasting cold meats, very basic cereals, some mediocre yoghurt, stale tasting pieces of cake, (it did have scrambled eggs which I didn't try because they didn't appeal to me). I only went once and never bothered again.

location: very convienient for the tram but otherwise not a very pleasant location unless you want to get an urban feel of Istanbul.

wifi: free and good quality. Didn't have any trouble connecting with my pc but connection with iphones and ipads was troublesome in my room, I could only estabish the connection at reception and only then would it continue working in the room.

I found the staff friendly and polite but unable to help me with what made me unhappy about the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DilekC521, Manager at Grand Durmaz Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Grand Durmaz Hotel Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback.

I regret your initial experience with us was disappointing.I am sorry to hear you were unable to enjoy a restful visit and further that we were unable to offer a more comfortable solution.We sincerely apologize for the challenges you have experienced at our hotel since this was certainly not an indication of the level of service and quality that is usually delivered by us.

We appreciate your feedback in helping to improve our service and offerings.We hope for the opportunity to provide you better service and accommodations on future visits.


Sincerely,
Dilek Canözü
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Hotel at a high level of luxury and cleanliness and the location was very excellent and close to the tram station and Staff has been very helpful and provides assistance guests and the price Comparson location and Server is very Good

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DilekC521, Manager at Grand Durmaz Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Mr.Khalid,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind feedback.

It is very special that you took the time to write about your experience at the our Hotel. I am delighted to hear that we took good care of you.Your comments have been shared with the whole team here with thanks.It was really a pleasure to have you with us.

Whenever you plan to come back please let me know.My direct email address :dilek.canozu@granddurmazhotel.com.

Kind Regards,
Dilek Canozu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Durmaz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Durmaz Hotel

Address: Ataturk Bulvari Kemalpasa Mah. No:4 | Aksaray/Fatih, Istanbul 34080, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #329 of 944 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Durmaz Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GRAND DURMAZ HOTEL Grand Durmaz is a brand new hotel in the heart of old town and within an easy walking distance to Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque,Grand Bazaar, Topkapi Palace and Basilica Cistern. Remnants of the historical style from the Seljuk and Ottoman periods are blended with modern architecture for Grand Durmaz's fabulous design that suits the Historical Peninsula.Grand Durmaz Hotel serve the best and provides top quality 4 stars hospitality. 51 Elegant Guestrooms, including 1 Royal Suite, 1 Suite ,10 Deluxe rooms ,2 family and 37 Standart rooms. 24 hours Business Center Airport Service Fully Equipped Meeting facilitiesValide Roof Restaurant with examples traditional and international cuisines. Free wireless internet connection in all rooms and public areas. In room safe 250 sqm Spa and Fitness Center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Durmaz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Durmaz Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.