We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ferman Sultan Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ferman Sultan Hotel to your Saves list
Ferman Sultan Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Binbirdirek Mahallesi Suterazisi Sokak No. 8 | Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #330 of 981 Hotels in Istanbul
Neuilly-sur-seine, France
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed (2 adults and 2 babies twins) 4 nights in this hotel. It is an excellent location, 2 minutes from the Blue Mosquee and the hippodrome. The bedroom is not big but clean. The staff was very nice with the babies.The rooftop breakfast was a great experience like the terrace on the level above the roof. The only problem was the matress and we had backache on the morning. As it was our first time in Turkey we don't know if it is like this in every hotel ( like in Portugal) or not.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    52
    20
    4
    2
See reviews for
39
44
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Fantastic location. Close to all the top attractions. Lots of restaurants nearby. Easy to walk to all attractions. Staff are friendly and helpful. Hotel is small, only about 16 rooms. Breakfast was good. Lots of choice.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for six nights in October 2013. The location is fantastic - walk two blocks and you are right on the hippodrome. There are two excellent restaurants across from the hotel and small mini-market store around the corner. The hotel is clean and quiet and the staff is extremely helpful and friendly. The buffet breakfast is served on the rooftop with a fantastic view of the Blue Mosque. In this price range, the Ferman Sultan is a great value and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We (2 adults 2 kids) recently stayed there while on our short trip to Istanbul. As others have noted, it is at an excellent location. What we loved about the hotel was the rooftop breakfast, and a terrace on the level above the roof. It overlooks the Bospherous on one side, and gives you a beautiful view of the Blue Mosque on the other side. We were sitting on the roof one evening, admiring the view, and one of the staff members brought free cups of milk for the kids. Really appreciated that hospitality. On the other hand, we didn't like our room much. It had one kind sized bed for all 4 to share. That is one reason why we switched hotels after our second night. It was also on -1 floor, which meant that our window opened to the road, and any passer-by could get a good look inside the room. Since the room was very dark, we had to open the curtains to get enough light...which translated to No privacy! So ASK for a room on higher floors for more privacy!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This 3* hotel is in the heart of Sultanhamet, Istanbul, and is only 4 minutes walk from the Blue Mosque. Also very close to other facilities and attractions e.g. Money exchange services, Burger King, Mcdonalds and tram (10minutes), Grand Bazaar (15 Minutes). So in general its in a brilliant location to see the main tourist sights by foot.

Due to the location and the demand for land pretty much all hotels in this area are similar in regards to the type of property and facilities they offer.

The hotel itself was a little dimly lit, but this was probably due the ottoman style decor they were going for. The hotel was nice and quite at all times and we rarely saw other guests there even though they were at full occupancy. The rooms were regularly cleaned and well maintained. The staff were extremely friendly and became good friends over our week stay there. Serdar, Omar, Mahmood, Aqif were brilliant throughout our stay and were always on hand to offer advice on excursions and day to day matters. There is a mini market and and Turkish Restaurant and Pizzeria directly in front of the hotel which was very handy indeed. Breakfast was served on the rooftop terrace and was the same every day, but a wide variety of foods was available.

All in all it was a brilliant Holiday and i would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Rooms are clean, breakfast is great, view is good, staff is friendly .. but the hotel is quite old and good for a budget stay not high end.
The location couldn't have been better in terms of walking distance to the Blue Mosque (5 mins), Hagia Sofia ( 7 - 8 mins) , Grand Bazaar (10 - 15mins) and some good restaurants.
Overall great stay and if need be will pick this place again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

My stay here was brilliant, the staff could not be more helpful and the location is fantastic, walking distance to everything.
If I had a query the staff were only to glad to help, even to delivering ice to my room when I requested it.
Breakfast on the roof overlooking the Bospherous was excellent and the fresh honey comb was absolutely lovely.
Accommodation is basic, clean and comfortable with a fridge, TV, Toiletries and hairdryer. Shower was always hot with lovely clean towels.
If your looking for somewhere to stay in the middle of Istanbul Old Town at a reasonable price I would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ferman Sultan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferman Sultan Hotel

Address: Binbirdirek Mahallesi Suterazisi Sokak No. 8 | Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #330 of 981 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ferman Sultan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and Budget Places so you can book your Ferman Sultan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ferman Sultan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.