We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small hotel at great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Galata La Bella Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Galata La Bella Hotel to your Saves list
Galata La Bella Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Arapcamii Mah.Erguvan Sok. No:1 | Beyoglu, Istanbul 34421, Turkey (Beyoğlu)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #316 of 944 Hotels in Istanbul
UTRECHT
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Small hotel at great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in October. First impression of the hotel when we were dropped off in front of the street was 'omg .. what did we book', but don't let the outside area fool you!
Although you are in the midst of electronic and plumbing stores, this small but great hotel is located at an amazing central place. Walking distance from: the Galata bridge and its wonderful restaurants, the Galata tower, metro station and tram stop. The hotel itself has an amazing roof terrace with a view of the Bosperus and the old city and the view at night is breath taking. The room are not very spacious, but are very clean and have great beds and everything you need. And last but definitely not least: the hotel staff is extremely helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    64
    20
    8
    3
See reviews for
22
62
18
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens,Greece
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed in this hotel in July. From the first moment we were disappointed, because we had read about its location being in a business and financial district, but that was not the reality. We reached the hotel, were greeted by smiling staff, the lobby was inside the dining room, very small and very depressing. We had asked for a room on a higher floor and were given one on the first floor. Rooms were supposed to be 25m, and they were 10-12m. There were two single beds put together (we had asked for two beds hoping that the room would be bigger), a small desk and a mini bar. Between the beds and the walls, on the right and on the left, there were barely 40cm of distance, which made us choose: either put our bags and slippers there, or be able to walk. The same distance was between the beds and the mini bar – desk; in both cases it was impossible for two people to walk there side by side. The bathroom had a shower cabin and many amenities. The bath robe, the slippers and the iron and iron board – mentioned in the web site -were missing, and there weren't any hangers in the wardrobe. Our bedroom overlooked a narrow street (window facing a wall at half a metre) where there was something like a coffee shop, anyway there were people sitting in the street and chatting until 22:00, making it impossible for anyone to grap a nap. While we were trying to settle down we heard a knocking on the door. It was the cleaning lady, who was probably trying to see if the room was in order, although the room had been cleaned a while ago. The same story went on for the following hour or so. At least three times we were bothered without anyone telling us what they were looking for. Apart from that everytime we closed the door we heard an alarm, we didn’t know what it was, we had to open and close the door 3-4 times until it stopped. We left, we wanted to take the metro, we had to walk about 500 metres up on a hill to get to the nearest station. To get back to the hotel we had to put signs, because it wasn’t easily traceable. The tram station was closer, 300-400 metres away. We even took a stroll up the terrace to admire the view to a grey and filthy part of sea, and a very depressing atmosphere under heavy smog. Late at night while we were trying to get some sleep there was a power failure- no electricity in the whole building. We heard members of staff running up and down the stairs, -going where, I don’t know-, which is most peculiar during complete darkness. The lights came, went off, alright again, off again, and the same story went on for two hours until, we realised that the whole problem had been caused to make guests turn off the air condition.
Breakfast buffet: a little ham, a little of an unidentified cheese, tomatoes, stale bread, strawberies, olives, tea, coffee, milk.
I have travelled a lot and been in many hotels, but that hotel was by far the worst place I have ever been. . It was a nightmare and I wouldn’t recommend it to anyone under no circumstance.

Room Tip: Don't ever go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We booked this hotel for 2 nights. The room and bathroom were clean, very comfortable bed. Beautiful view from the roof terrace. The staff was friendly and helpful. The location was great: the Tunel tram is very close to go up to Taksim and walk down from this central place. Walking distance to the water front, its fish market and restaurants. We also walked over the Galata bridge towards the New Mosque, Yeni Came, and Rustem Paça Mosque. If you prefer, you can take the tram towards all the main sights: Topkapi älace, Hagia Sophia and Blue Mosque.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANDREAS, ISLE OF MAN
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed in this hotel in July. Good location, walking distance from Galata Bridge which has many restaurants. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. Nice rooftop bar with good food. Waiter/barman very friendly and helpful and makes great cocktails. would definitely go back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Bit difficult to find (and only few taxi drivers know the hotel, as it opened only beginning of this year), but stone drop from Galata Bridge, on Galata side. Ground floor bit squeezed (entrance, welcome desk, elevator, breakfast area and luggage storage, all in one), but the rooms are very well equiped. Good beds, spacious bathroom, easy system to open door. Disadvantages: air conditions stops when card is removed, quite long waiting for elevator at peak times.
Nice rooftop terrace with view to old city, Golden Horn.

Room Tip: The higher, the more quiet, but if you're in a hurry, better stay on first or second floor, so y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon City, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

My room with a view of a wall was cursed with a malfunctioning air conditioner. The staff did nothing to correct the problem (I was there on a weekend) and told me they had no other rooms to offer. I constantly had to ask if there was any resolution and given no information that I did not request. The carpeting was badly stained. The final insult was to have found that the person restocking my mini bar had consumed a soda and left the empty can in my room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sundsvall
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

A nice and clean hotel near the Galata Bridge. I would recommend it especially for singles and couples. The window in my single room was towards a wall, but it did not matter. Personnel very nice. Breakfast OK.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Galata La Bella Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galata La Bella Hotel

Address: Arapcamii Mah.Erguvan Sok. No:1 | Beyoglu, Istanbul 34421, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoğlu , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #316 of 944 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Galata La Bella Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of Istanbul, Galata La Bella Hotel offers deluxe accommodation , the best hospitality and ideal starting for your fascinating explore to Istanbul. Galata La Bella Hotel with the best location offers absolutely stunning view of The Old city and Golden Horn, within walking distance to many attractions including Karaköy Tunnel which is the 2nd oldest metro tunnel of the world, Galata tower, Taksim Square and historical city center Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia Museum, Topkapı Palace, Basilica Cistern or Grand Bazaar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Galata La Bella Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galata La Bella Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.