We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Comfort, and Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Muyan Suites

Save Saved
You added Muyan Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Muyan Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Binbirdirek Mah. Dizdariye Medresesi Sok. | No:13 Sultanahmet / Old City, Istanbul 34122, Turkey (Sultanahmet - Old City)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Airport Pick up
Ranked #14 of 912 hotels in Istanbul
midwest
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Location, Comfort, and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed at the Muyan Suites for 4 nights in July 2013, and it was an excellent choice for us. Here is why:

Location: Besides the close proximity to the best historic sites (short walking distance), the hotel is on a very quiet side street, hardly any cars pass on it, so it's great for getting a good night of sleep. Some reviewers didn't like the street because it isn't "pretty", but it is authentic, not dressed up for tourists, which we liked. On the street right behind the hotel is a good little super market; great for buying some non-touristy food souvenirs (bring your translation book). Walking distance to some good restaurants (see my other reviews), the tram, etc. Note: the little side streets are cobble stone, sometimes steep, and not good if you aren't in good shape. Fortunately this wasn't any problem for us.

Comfort: We're a family of 4 people, and they accommodated us well with a large suite. The bedroom had a large bed for the parents, and the living room (separated by a door) had a large sofa bed, more than adequate for two older kids to share. Each room had its' own a/c which worked great. The bathroom shower had great water pressure. There were a couple of broken things when we arrived- the toilet paper holder, and one of the bedside reading lamps. They did not fix the reading lamp (a minor annoyance), but otherwise the room was in excellent condition, clean and comfortable, with a refrigerator and (free) bottled water. The bed was firm (standard in Turkey) which we were quite happy with.The breakfast was outstanding- a large selection included eggs, meats, yogurt, roasted vegetables, olives, cheese, many fruits (including cherries, peaches, plums, etc.), various breads, jams, honey, and even homemade cake. The part I liked most was that at breakfast, they offered to make me the coffee drink of my choice (cappuccino, espresso, Turkish, etc.) and it was divine.

Service: The care and helpfulness of the staff is excellent. They provided us everything we needed in terms of directions, a map, advice about where to go for dinner, and help with transportation (to/from the airport), calling taxi service and advice about taxi's, etc. In addition, they helped us with some special requests...thank you Aslan!

I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    350
    54
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
101
171
30
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Very good location - walking distance from all the points of interests. The manager (Aslan) and the rest of the crew are superb as well. The rooms are big / spacious, especially considering the location. The breakfast in the AM in included and is a big buck-saver. There are umpteen restaurants in the vicinity and lot of public transport pickup point at a walking distance.

Parking space is a challenge, so dont go with a rental car.

Loved the stay, safe and happy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The Muyan Suites hotel is wonderfully located in Sultanahmet, Istanbul, a very historic part of the city. It is close to the Grand Bazaar, the Spice Market, the Four Seasons Hotel (formerly a Turkish prison), the Blue Mosque, with plenty of wonderful shops close by. A great place to walk and discover this part of the city. Right next door is a wholesale shop for Turkish lamps which will be packed and delivered to your room. Located on a sloping hill, you also get good exercise. Rooms are well kept with good amenities. Staff is very helpful and courteous.

Room Tip: Suites are very spacious, choose a view of the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chisinau, Moldova
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

it is located in the centre of Istanbul near the Sultan Ahmet Mosque. it was so good to stay in there. if i have one more chance to go to Istanbul, i will absolutely stay there again. special thanks to Mr. Emre.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Great location close to the major sights. Good resuarants within walking distance. Bathroom could do with an update. Hotel staff were excellent and helpful. Breakfast could have had more pastry variety. Overall a very good place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 5 days. It was close to the major attractions of the city. Aside from having all the great amenities that you get from top notch hotels, this place gives you a personal at home feel. One in itself is a good enough reason for my family and friends to stay here again but combine all is a major plus. The other edge that they have is their staff, they made sure all your needs are met and more. Asian the manager met us very warmly, he gave a great synopsis, entertained our questions and provided suggestions and solutions. Ms. Tugba who took care of us in the morning made sure all of us were well fed (my family being 10 members). It is the staff who gives the Turkish people a wonderful impression. I could go on and on with our wonderful experience with this hotel. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to other people and given the chance again when I go to Turkey, I will stay with them again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights in Istanbul with being our first visit to Turkey. After a number of days in rather small and cramped hotel rooms in Western Europe we arrived in Sultanahmet to experience the absolutely delightful Muyan Suites. Aside from a wonderful location close to the major attractions around the Blue Mosque, and our fantastically sized room, we were simply overwhelmed with the best customer service we have experienced in many years. And I travel a great deal. The hospitality was outstanding from welcome to goodbyes - what an example for others to follow. Superb Muyan Suites. Bravo. Mike & Toni from New Zealand

Room Tip: Our first floor room was wonderfully quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Muyan Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muyan Suites

Address: Binbirdirek Mah. Dizdariye Medresesi Sok. | No:13 Sultanahmet / Old City, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet - Old City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 912 hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Muyan Suites 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 200 metres from Istanbul’s iconic Blue Mosque, this boutique hotel offers spacious rooms with free Wi-Fi and 40-inch satellite LCD TVs. It also organises daily sightseeing tours around Istanbul.All spacious rooms at Muyan Suites feature classical furnishings. They include a seating area and a wall-mounted TV set. Bathrobes, slippers and bathroom amenities are available in the bathroom.Hotel Muyan serves a daily breakfast buffet.Staff at the hotel’s 24-hour reception desk can arrange shuttles to either Atatürk International Airport or Sabiha Gokcen Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Muyan Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Muyan Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.