We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and nice look” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Faros Hotel Taksim

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Faros Hotel Taksim to your Saves list
Faros Hotel Taksim
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Kocatepe Mahallesi Taksim Caddesi No: 55 | Taksim, Istanbul 34437, Turkey (New City / Taksim)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #223 of 979 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Istanbul
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location and nice look”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Hotel is just off Taksim square, nicely designed hotel and service good room, good and ideal for a short city break. Missed the breakfast so can't comment on the food but the bar area looked good and helped with bags and taxis

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
farostaksim, Front Office Manager at Faros Hotel Taksim, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is a great pleasure for us to read it and thank you for sharing your opinions about our hotel on TripAdvisor with the people all over the world. The entire team of Faros Hotel Taksim will be looking forward to welcoming you again.

Greetings from Istanbul.

Warm Regards,

Rabiye SARI
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    108
    28
    10
    4
See reviews for
44
102
29
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Our group of 9 recently stayed in Faros Hotel. We were there for 5 nights. Staff was really very nice and receptive. Receptionist Hasan helped us a lot in finding our way in Istanbul. Food was quite ok, hotel clean, rooms equipped, value for money.
There were two problems however. Room access was difficult (electronic keys not working at times), and there was some kind of greasy spot in the elevator, watch out for the jackets.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
farostaksim, Front Office Manager at Faros Hotel Taksim, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking time to write a review on your experience in our hotel on tripadvisor. Please be sure that your comments have been notice and we will make Tecnical Service department aware of these marks.

The entire team of Faros Hotel Taksim will be looking forward to welcoming you again.

Kind Regards,

Rabiye SARI
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Located less than 10 minutes walk from Taksim square, this hotel is in a great spot. The hotel staff is very friendly and will go out of their way to help you. The breakfast in the morning has a variety of cold food options however the selection for the hot plates was very limited. I loved that the hotel bar always had free good juice available. Staying at this hotel gives you a 15% discount on the Faros restaurant close by which had good food. Overall great place, a little bit expensive but that is to be expected for the location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
farostaksim, Front Office Manager at Faros Hotel Taksim, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Faros Hotel Taksim and for taking time to write us.

Please be sure that your comments about our breakfast have been noted and we will make Food & Beverage Department aware of this.

The entire team of Faros Hotel Taksim will be looking forward to welcoming you again.

Warm Regards,

Rabiye SARI
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I recently stayed at the hotel for 2 nights, and had a terrible experience there. A good friend of mine came to visit me while I was there. I was going to bring him to my room to visit with me, and to show him some items that I purchased at the Bazaar. We were chased down by the staff, and told that he was not allowed to come to my room. It was handled in a very shameful, disrespectful and humiliating way. I have never been treated like this at any hotel before. They were rude and unbending about it. I said that I did not sign a contract, nor did I agree to the terms that they were subjecting me to. They chased us through the lobby to the elevator as if we were committing a crime. It was disgusting. As I tried to assert my rights, the situation just deteriorated. I wanted to leave the hotel, but they refused to refund my money. (I would have been happy to find another hotel for the duration of my stay.)I rented the room in good faith, and was denied any sense of fairness or hospitality. From my point of view, this was extremely unacceptable, and unprofessional. I was told that we could visit in the lobby for an hour if we wanted to. I was offended by that offer, and I believe that we were entitled to our privacy, and I did not need to have the staff monitoring us, or our conversation. The implied attitude was offensive and unwarranted. I was told that this was the case in all hotels in Turkey. I have visited Istanbul 5 times, and have never encountered this type of treatment, and yes, the same friend has come to visit me in a couple of other hotels. Perhaps there are cultural differences, but I would warn anyone traveling to this hotel that they might not be treated with the respect that everyone should be entitled to. I promised them that I was going to share this experience on Tripadvisor.
Also, the hotel was extremely difficult to find due to the construction at Taksim Square. Many people were not familiar with the hotel, nor the street that it was located on. If you take the bus from the airport, be prepared to deal with the confusion.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side of the hotel due to the noise on the street, however there was still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Very conveniently located next to Taksim square. There were road works happening but we could still walk to Taksim in about 5 mins. The room was very good and well maintained. Some people have mentioned that there are issues with noise from the street but we did not observe this. We had a room facing the road on the 5th floor. We walked down towards Galata Bridge and it was a leisurely 1 hour walk.

The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Hasan took the time to sit down with us and go over a map pointing out the locations we should see, how to get there and what costs to expect for transport / food etc. He aranged for a night cruise on the Bosphorus which was quite good.

The breakfast was a good spread of cereals, fruit, bread, cakes and some hot dishes. Tea and coffee are available with fruit juices.

We enjoyed our stay here and would definitely recommend this as a place to stay in Istanbul

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
farostaksim, Front Office Manager at Faros Hotel Taksim, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you on behalf of the entire Faros Hotel Taksim associates for your wonderful review. Our constant aim is to provide a friendly and efficient service to make reach guest experience a special one and it is always rewarding to hear when we reach this aim. We will be looking forward to welcoming you again.

With My Best Regards,

Rabiye SARI
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

The hotel is very clean and breakfast is very reasonable. The best thing was the staff, murad and Hasan( the front desk) were extremely friendly and welcoming. They offered us juice when we arrived and were very helpful in recommendations. The rooms were very clean and the room service was efficient. The hotel's location is magnificent as its only a 5 minute walk to taksim square. We stayed in the seventh floor, there was no noise at all. Thank you for a great stay. I will surely visit again if i have the chance to.

Visited mid November 2012.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
farostaksim, Front Office Manager at Faros Hotel Taksim, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

It is a great pleasure for us to read it and thank you for sharing your opinions about our hotel on TripAdvisor with the people all over the world.

We would like to thank you for your nice comments about our hotel and staff. We hope to host you in our hotel again with an unforgettable memories.

If you need any assistance please do not hesitate to contact with us.

and We wish the best for you with the new year !

Rabiye S.AYDOGAN
F/O MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pýrgos, Ilia, Greece
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

The hotel is clean and staff is excellent,especially Hasan guest service and receptionist guys who helped us with our travel plans around the whole city,Hasan's recommendations are perfect and with reasonable prices.You only need taxi from airport to the hotel,this shows how the hotel location is central,everywhere is in walking distance,if you want to visit the oldcity,taking tram is enough just at the end of the street.Hotel service is excellent,staff went out their way to make us happy.We had a really perfect experience.....!

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
farostaksim, Front Office Manager at Faros Hotel Taksim, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you on behalf of the entire Faros Hotel Taksim associates for your wonderful review. Our constant aim is to provide a friendly and efficient service to make each guest experience a special one an it is always rewarding to hear when we reach this aim.

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Faros Hotel Taksim and we hope to see you again.

Greetings from Istanbul...

Rabiye SARI
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Faros Hotel Taksim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faros Hotel Taksim

Address: Kocatepe Mahallesi Taksim Caddesi No: 55 | Taksim, Istanbul 34437, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #223 of 979 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Faros Hotel Taksim 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Faros Hotel Taksim, a boutique design hotel which is located in the 'Conference Valley' of Istanbul-Taksim city center and on the routes connecting Europe and Asia. Faros Hotel Taksim offers a unique hotel experince with its 28 specialy decoreted guest rooms and 2 roof top suites. Faros Hotel Taksim also offers 6 connecting rooms facing to the main street for Family stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Faros Hotel Taksim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Faros Hotel Taksim, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.