We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent accomodation, excellent services and good location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Faros Hotel Taksim

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Faros Hotel Taksim to your Saves list
Faros Hotel Taksim
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Kocatepe Mahallesi Taksim Caddesi No: 55 | Taksim, Istanbul 34437, Turkey (New City / Taksim)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #221 of 943 Hotels in Istanbul
Suceava, Romania
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“excellent accomodation, excellent services and good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I highly recommend this hotel for exceptional facilities, for high quality customer care services, nice rooms, very good breakfast and excellent location.
Rooms are big, beds are comfortable and clean. In each room also you have minibar, wi-fi (rooter on each floor) tea, coffee. The pictures from the hotel site are accurate. In the lobby is an internet corner, a computer that can be used by guests.
The front office employees are a special asset for this hotel. Special thanks for Mr. Yavuz Hasan and Mr.Çağlar Cetinceviz who helped me a lot with information that I need. Well prepared and always with perfect answers to all of my questions.
Regarding location- 1 minute away from Taksim Square where you can get an Istanbul card- easy and cheapest way to travel in Istanbul-can be used by more then 1 person (normal price for one ticket is 3TL-1 jeton, with Istanbul card the price goes under 2TL). From Taksim square you can just have a walk on the pedestrian street Istikal avenue- good for shopping and get in touch with hectic nice life of Turkish people, also try the old tram on this street and visit Galata Tower at the end of it. After Galata Tower easy to reach Galata bridge where definetelly is worth trying a "balik ekmek" (fish in the bread) and a turkish coffee under Galata bridge (both around 10TL=turkish lira).
Also in Taksim square good exchanges rate 1 euro-between 2.31 to 3.3250 , 1 GBP-2,84.
Going up from the hotel and imediate left you have a street with 2 markets. Also very close going straight up from the hotel till Taksim square at the left corner you must taste special spinach, cheese and potatoes pie with ayran (traditional yoghurt).
Ask at reception (Hassan) for a voucher for 15% discount at Diner and Wine restaurant 5 minutes away restaurant from the hotel-tasty food. Also just across the street from Faros Diner and Wine you can find traditional turkish food very tasty and fresh.
The location is very close to Dolmabache Palace- by step or by funicular to Kabatas station from where you can just take a ferry to cross over to Asia. Also make some time and enjoy Bosphorus in the evening, try fresh juices -amazing.
Also The hotel is very close to Lufti Kirdar Congress Center- 15 minutes to walk.
Places that you should visit while you are in Istanbul: Dolmabache Palace (30-40 TL), Hagia Sofia (25TL), Blue Mosque (free), Basilica Cistern (10TL), Grand Bazaar, Bosphorus, Galata Tower (12 TL), Galata Bridge, Topkapi (25 TL), Harem (15TL).

Room Tip: all rooms are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    98
    24
    10
    4
See reviews for
40
96
26
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed three days in this hotel and was really very good location. Also, the staff are very welcoming and every time you wait in the lobby, they offer you a tea or coffee. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gulay k, Manager at Faros Hotel Taksim, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Turki123 ,
Thank you to take the time for writing comment on Faros Hotel Taksim.
We are trying to do our best for the comfort of our guests.
Hope to see you again in our Hotel
Regards

Gulay KONAL
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Very cosy homely kinda hotel. The staff were very helpful and full of useful information. The rooms clean and spacious great beds and always felt rested the next day, waking up and looking forward to their beautiful breakfast. The hotel is located in a very convenient area, five minutes away from the public transport. A special thanks go out to the exceptionally polite receptionists Mr.Çağlar Cetinceviz and Mr. Yavuz Hasan whom both being very articulate with the English language, were very polite and friendly and extremely helpful. Our trip was a memorable one, and Faros Hotel played an important part in our stay, I am well traveled and must say the Faros Hotel is well worth is money and more! We would go back!

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the back of the hotel, quieter..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

It was our first time in Istanbul and we stayed at one of the best hotels in Taksim!
Faros hotel is beautifully and very conveniently situated near taksim square!! There are many restaurants around the hotel.
The rooms are spacious and clean-with very modern decoration!Also it has a nice central lobby!
Great breakfast and fresh fresh!!
The internet is free of charge- the wi-fi was pretty good in the rooms too!
The hotel staff is the most friendly group of people I have ever come across!!They helped us plan most of our activities in the beautiful city of Istanbul! Many thanks to Hasan and Çağlar for makıng our stay unforgetable!
I would easily stay here again.
Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gulay k, Manager at Faros Hotel Taksim, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Ellouko_1 ,
It made us very happy that you shared your thoughts about Faros Hotel Taksim.
We would love to see you again in our hotel.
Regards to our neighbor country Greece.

Regards

Gulay KONAL
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goychay, Azerbaijan
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I will be honest and start by saying that I ended up here because everywhere else was full. However this place was an excellent surprise for a number of reasons.

First of all the best part is the complimentary airport transfer. Upon arrival I met the staff who go out of their way to be helpful. Need directions? They will pull out a map on an IPAD and show you? Need to find a restaurant? an office? or anything anywhere? need a taxi need musuem opening times? They will immediately pick upthe cell phone and solve your problems in one phone call. Faros also have a restaurant and a kebab house nearby for which guests are entitled to a discount card.

The rooms are compact but the showers are spacious and modern. Also all modern conveniences are available in the rooms. Location is excellent for Taksim square and Istiqlal street. There are excellent restaurants in the area. The only criticisms I have are that there isno room service menu and that the walls are a bit thin so hope for quiet neighbours.

Overall this was a pleasant experience and the professional, helpful staff are a true credit to this hotel. I will stay here again!

Room Tip: Higher rooms have more chance of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

There's virtually nothing negative to say about this hotel. From the sweet and charming helpful staff that took care of us before we even checked in to the lovely clean well appointed rooms and style (completely reminded me of the Nolitan in NY but with a nicer shower) to the comfy beds, delicious breakfast and absolutely perfect location close to great neighborhoods and just a few easy blocks to the metro to see more of Istanbul. Also the windows aren't totally soundproof but offered the best noise blocking of any hotel we stayed at. For travelers not used to 5 and 8 AM calls to prayer that makes a HUGE difference and really helped us sleep.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Faros Taksim's rooms are very nice and up to date. Shower is very spacious and modern...
It's only a short 5 mins walk to taksim square where you can shop till you drop till quiet late or go into a local bar for some drinks to unwind..
A very lively city with much to see..

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gulay k, Manager at Faros Hotel Taksim, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Tilkioglu ,
First of all thanks so much because of your rewiews.
Looking forward able to host you again in our hotel

Regards

Gulay KONAL
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Faros Hotel Taksim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faros Hotel Taksim

Address: Kocatepe Mahallesi Taksim Caddesi No: 55 | Taksim, Istanbul 34437, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #221 of 943 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Faros Hotel Taksim 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Faros Hotel Taksim, a boutique design hotel which is located in the 'Conference Valley' of Istanbul-Taksim city center and on the routes connecting Europe and Asia. Faros Hotel Taksim offers a unique hotel experince with its 28 specialy decoreted guest rooms and 2 roof top suites. Faros Hotel Taksim also offers 6 connecting rooms facing to the main street for Family stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Faros Hotel Taksim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Faros Hotel Taksim, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.