We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant restaurant with a great menu” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nar Lokanta

Nar Lokanta
Nuruosmaniye Caddesi No. 41 | 5th Floor, Cagaloglu, Fatih, Istanbul 34120, Turkey
+90 212 522 2800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #109 of 11,471 Restaurants in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Turkish
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Zagreb, Croatia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Elegant restaurant with a great menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Nar Lokantasi is a relaxed, a bit business style restaurant, with great service, very interesting menu with dishes which we enjoyed a lot. During our stay in Istanbul we had lunch in this restaurant 2 times, and enjoyed various food, without remarks how it tasted or was presented.
Clear recommendation!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    63
    11
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“best place for lunch in old city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

i have lived 7 years in istanbul and have 13 years of experience in the city. Nar restaurant is the best thing to happen to sultanahmet since i've been there. other than the fountain/cesme restaurant inside the bazaar, or a doner on the street, the biggest problem has always been where to eat while out and about in sultanahmet. the food at nar is delicious. it is a bit too big and bustling and the fact that it is geared towards tour groups is a bit annoying and made me really nervous about what i would find.... and there was water dripping on us from the ceiling. however, the staff were quite nice. we had no reservations but they were able to seat us right away. we ordered meze, cold and hot, from the menu, about 6 or 8 different kinds, for 4 people, the lamb was the only disappointment. wine was also good (For the one of us who drank wine). didn't try the desserts but there were at least 10 kinds, and all looked great and fresh. the restaurant also has a living wall -- greenery that replaces oxygen. the store is frankly more a museum than a store -- nice to look at, but we never think of buying anything there. but in terms of lunch experience, it was fabulous. highly recommend.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Best Istanbul Dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

A real find: Over and above the traditional tourist kebob palaces Nar Lokanta is located on the 5th (rooftop) floor of a luxury goods store on a walking street near the Nuruosmaniye entrance to the Grand bazaar.
There is no sign other than a small listing on a brass plaque at the building entrance.
All food is fresh,traditional and extraordinary in taste and presentation. Service is impeccable and the choice & quality of wines all of Turkish origin are outstanding.
We chose a bottle of a Corvus burgundy blend of grapes that would compete favorably with California or France at approximately 45 US dlrs per bottle.
Fresh breads baked on premises are brought to the table as a welcome.
Salads and meat dishes had large portions and we excellent quality and taste with delicate flavors.
This is an elegant restaurant not suitable for shorts or jeans -- best as a special evening well away from the tourist traffic and street noise.
Suggestion -- if weather permits sit on the balcony/terrace for an al fresco experience.

web site: http://narlokantasi.com

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The Best in Europe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

i have eaten in many different places all over the europe and that one is the best one which use almost always natural products. i often try to visit here for great eating and relaxing. anyone visiting istanbul and not visiting here misses a lot..

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unbelievably mediocre food at insane prices”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This restaurant was snobby, we had truly awful, rushed service, and it was WAY overpriced compared to other, better meals we had (Imbats food was outstanding with a better view, service, and for less money). Both my friend and I got strong stomach aches from what we think were poorly prep'd vegetables. There are loads of better places to eat.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nar Lokanta also viewed

 

Been to Nar Lokanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nar Lokanta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.