We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel location for tourism” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hagia Sophia Hotel Istanbul Old City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hagia Sophia Hotel Istanbul Old City to your Saves list
Hagia Sophia Hotel Istanbul Old City
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Alemdar Mah. Yerebatan Cad. No:13 Eminonu/Cagaloglu, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hagia Sophia)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #147 of 979 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best hotel location for tourism”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

Just next to the entrance of the Topkapi palace
the rest you should see yourself
It' maybe the first Pension/hotel to start up in the Old City.Refurbished.. Its just gets me into the sightseeing mode and so for my friends.
Good breakfast
Confortable and authentic

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    69
    11
    5
    4
See reviews for
33
83
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Great hotel, superb location (walking distance to Blue Mosque and Hagia sophia), service was on-par with a fantastic continental breakfast in the mornings (so much variety!). All in all a perfect place to stay

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

I have been to Istanbul on many business visits but this time I really stayed in the best hotel. I found this stunning hotel by accident after a complete disaster booking in another hotel. Not only was the staff extremely helpful with great English communication skills, I also got a really good rate for such a fine establishment just a couple of meters away from the awesome Hagia Sophia. What magic to open my window every morning and so close I could almost touch it.
The rooms were an absolute delight for me. VERY spacious, newly and modernly furnished with an impressive rear view mirror projected TV (1st ever). My room had a Nespresso coffee machine and the pods were replenished every day. I LOVE my coffee. The bed was just the way I like it - huge and soft with crisp white linen.
The hotel is extremely conveniently located. Within very easy walking distance of just about every possible attraction. A block away from the tram stop, around the conrner from 2 Starbucks and my ultimate treat, the oldest and best hamam in Istanbul - Cagaloglu (expensive but worth every cent). The hotel is situated in an area with lots of nice restaurants - my favourite on every trip is the Sultanahmet Fish House.
There is no doubt in my mind that I will happily return to this hotel for all future trips and can highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I went there on a weekend. I wanted a place close to the main attractions in Istanbul. The hotel is not too far from the stop of tram (mainly 3 minutes by walking).

The rooms are big and clean. The beds are very comfy.
The people at the reception are not always nice.
the breakfast was quite rich, they offer several kind of fruits and various food.

it was not high season, so it was calm.

I loved the room design. it is modern yet very warm. The bathroom are properly equipped and spacious.

It is in the heart of all attractions, it is surrounded by good choice of restaurants.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view on Hagia sophia
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

This property has a great location nearby or Istanbul important attractions. Rooms are spacious modernly furnished. Double beds are not available throughout the property. Housekeeping is not up to expected. Room service is average. I still think this property is great for solo travellers who are interested in seeing all important historical attractions in Istanbul.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I arrived 6 hours early, and still they managed to get me a room within a couple of hours. They also offered me a complementary breakfast while I waited for the room, so top marks for the helpful staff on in the daytime. The hotel itself is brand new, the rooms absolutely stunning. The bathrooms again have one of the best showers I've ever used, with 3 different shower types (yes you read that right 3!!) and there is also a built in bidet as standard in Istanbul. The corridors, the reception, the terrace, breakfast room, again marble and new fittings are everywhere, it feels like a palace. There is also an English pub attached to the hotel, which also serves non-alcoholic cocktails and food. This was a nice relaxing place where you could chill after the frenetic busyness of Sultanahmet. One of my friends also arrived very late, but the kitchen especially opened up and cooked her a delicious meal, so again top marks for service. Now after you are vowed by the stunning hotel, comes the real USP for this place. The location. You are literally on the street of the Hagia Sophia, probably a 2 min walk, also the Basilica Cistern is on this street, with the Blue Mosque about 10 min walk, past the Hippodrome. This hotel is the best to explore Sultanahmet, and the tram is nearby if you need to go anywhere else. Really can’t recommend this enough for the location, and the hotel. Between us we had 3 rooms, and there were 2 women in our party, the staff were very courteous and polite always. There was no weirdness as has been suggested in a previous review. And when (God Willing) I return to Istanbul I will stay here again! Oh and breakfast has tons of choice too.

Room Tip: There is some construction going on, but honestly it didn't disturb me or my friends. A room hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Hi everybody , i just advice you please don't go to this stupid hotel . many rude people working there , Specially The guy , who is receptionist name is Cihan, he trick woman to show of the room then tried to kiss them , housekeeper never clean the room and change the sheets of the beds, the room always smelled as pooh! at breakfast time the breakfast manager & worker just stand in one place and look at every bite you take, so you can't take any more or eat more, all the men workers there were womenizers and rude and kept looking at women in a bad way. They follow you in the hallway and stare at you, very uncomfortable. I advise you all not to book with the hotel, specially if you travelling with women.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hagia Sophia Hotel Istanbul Old City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hagia Sophia Hotel Istanbul Old City

Address: Alemdar Mah. Yerebatan Cad. No:13 Eminonu/Cagaloglu, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hagia Sophia)
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 979 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hagia Sophia Hotel Istanbul Old City 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hagia Sophia Hotel Istanbul Old City , is a deluxe category hotel and situated at Sultanahmet square. Hagia Sophia Hotel Istanbul Old City has opened at 2011. Hotel has 63 rooms categories of deluxe and superior rooms and offers its guest a magnificent service. All rooms has their own espresso machine, wireless internet connection, LCD televisions and general air condition.. Hagia Sophia Hotel Istanbul Old City offers a rich choice of food and beverage services; 2 restaurants, one Garden Restaurant and (an A’la Carte restaurant,) a bar and a café… Hotel is surrounded with all major and cultural landmarks. Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Basilica Cistern, Topkapi Palace are in a short walking distance to Hotel which is one of the best choices for leisure guests expecting upscale service. You will be fascinated with direct view of Hagia Sophia Museum when you have a look from your window or enjoy the historical atmosphere while drinking a coffee at unique terrace of the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Hagia Sophia Hotel Istanbul Old City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hagia Sophia Hotel Istanbul Old City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.