We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced dull hotel in great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Innova Sultanahmet Istanbul

Save Saved
You added Innova Sultanahmet Istanbul to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Innova Sultanahmet Istanbul
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piyer Loti Cad. 6-8 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #144 of 901 hotels in Istanbul
Guernsey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Overpriced dull hotel in great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Great modern hotel but without any soul. Probably best for business trips but lacking interest for holidays to Istanbul.

Frustrated that Wi-Fi service only works in public spaces and not in rooms - especially given the cost per night.

Breakfast was ok but nothing special - could be anywhere in the world. Lacking a Turkish flavour.

Rooms spacious (stayed on 4th floor) however very noisy. Soundproofing not great at all as toad noise very loud even at 4th floor level.

Can't fault location and cleanliness of hotel at all. Probably better more interesting hotels available in the area at the same cost.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    132
    74
    15
    7
    2
See reviews for
49
87
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Modern well located though bland hotel. Feel a bit mean saying I didn't like it, there's little wrong, but so much minor stuff that isn't quite right either. Why do hotel designers stick their public spaces in places without any light? Why is the roof top terrace an afterthought as opposed to the breakfast room? Why are the rooms so deadly bland? When I look out of the window I see istanbul, when I look in the room I appear to be in the financial business district of an indeterminate city, though one which isn't quite smart enough to have shower controls in a place which aren't directly under the shower... There, see that the most which I can muster against the place.... Though I still dislike it more than if it were an older worse run hotel. Decent breakfasts can't mask the empty void where it's soul should be! Great for those seeking a safe bet, not so great for romantics!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We've spent three nights in Innova Sultanahmet hotel. Generally the hotel is very good - the location (near to Hagia Sofia, Blue Mosque, 10 mins walk to Sultanahmet tram station), clean rooms, polite staff and very good breakfast.
There is only one thing you should have in mind if you offer airport transffer. We had an issue with the transffer even we'd booked the room through the hotel site and tick airport transffer with our flight details, there is nobody waiting for us on the arrivals. We need to wait ab. an hour for transsfer arrangment on place. Be proactive to recieve a confirmation for the transfer from the hotel.

Room Tip: there is not enough natural light in rooms overlooking to the back yard
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I was there during my short trip to Istanbul
It’s a excellent hotel very clean rooms and update date amenity
I would suggest for people who is going to Istanbul to see ancient part of the city
just be careful if you need to have meeting in business part be careful with the traffic

Room Tip: if possible get room with terrace on top floor great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I stayed at Innova Sultanahmet Hotel for five amazing days. Rooms were perfectly clear and spacious and even though hotel was on a very crowded street, they were very quiet. Staff were trying to be helpful all the time. Reception was polite and well-capable for the job they're doing. Also breakfast was extremely good for they serve numerous types of food, both local and international. Another good thing about the hotel is, it is very close to the all of the attractions in the historical part of Istanbul (Blue Mosque, St. Sophia etc.) In short, I definitely recommend Innova Sultanahmet Hotel to everybody who wants to enjoy Istanbul and its beauty.

Room Tip: Ask the reception about the good restaurants in Istanbul. They recommended us a great fish restauran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pordenone, Friuli-Venezia Giulia, Italy
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Istanbul is a fantastic place with a special atmosphere that is hard to find somewhere else. Along with this however there are several issues that have to be considered when choosing a hotel. First of all the location is very important as traffic is unpredictable and things may turn nasty when you are in a rush for a business meeting. In my case I must say that while I found this hotel very good in many ways, it was rather far from where I should have been to meet my business contacts and for this reason only I cannot give it full marks. With this exception, that in any case does not detract in any way from the overall quality of the hotel itself, this lodging in Istanbul can be wholeheartedly recommended. Location is perfect for the Sultanahmet area and the Main Bazar is also rather close, but on the other hand it is somewhat faraway from the main business areas in Mecidiyekoy and Levent, that may become hard to reach in case of traffic jams or bad weather that makes circulation even harder. Again, if you have a more relaxed routine, this hotel is quite a good choice as it is clean and quiet, personnel is extremely helpful and breakfast is also quite hearty. I did not find particularly inviting the internal restaurant, nor the bar, but this may be due to my own personal foibles. Highly recommended

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We spent five nights there with our daughters; three rooms. The girls immediately got an upgrade (twin rooms) so that we could see the big difference between the normal and the superior rooms. The next day we got a free upgrade too. Very kind.
The breakfast offers an enormous variety. You have to pay extra for fried eggs and fresh juice, something English and US clients might dislike, but with everything else that is on offer this should not be a problem.
The location is great, the hotel is new, the invoice was right the first time, the pickup service was at the airport as expected, the explanations of public transport at the front desk were extensive and friendly: all in all very well done. I am a very frequent traveller and usually stay in the more upmarket business hotels. This hotel has made me wonder why.

One tiny point of critique: the bar people do not know how to mix a cocktail.
That a G&T improves with some ice and some lemon or lime seemed to be new to them.
But if that is all I can think of I say: "Well done, thank you, we will be back."

Room Tip: Superior rooms are REALLY quite a bit larger than normal ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Innova Sultanahmet Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innova Sultanahmet Istanbul

Address: Piyer Loti Cad. 6-8 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 901 hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Innova Sultanahmet Istanbul 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historical Sultanahmet district of Istanbul's old city, this hotel is only 500 metres from the Blue Mosque. Innova Sultanahmet Istanbul offers luxurious accommodation, spa centre, panoramic rooftop terrace and free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. The comfortable rooms of Innova are well proportioned, elegantly decorated and have tasteful modern furniture. They all feature extra large beds, air conditioning, LED TV, minibar, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, en-suite shower room finished in full marble and with most rooms enjoying a private balcony. Guests can enjoy a rich breakfast buffet in the morning with both traditional Turkish and continental cuisine on offer. Meals are served during lunch and dinner at our à la carte Revan Restaurant and our Mey Bar and Lobby Bar offer both alcoholic and soft drinks. The spa centre of Innova Sultanahmet Istanbul offers a fitness room, a traditional Turkish bath, a sauna room and spa treatments including massage. There is a conference/meeting room with capacity for 100 people and there is also a cinema room on site. The hotel is just 800 metres from the Topkapi Palace and 600 metres from Hagia Sophia. Cemberlitas Tram Stop is only 100 metres from the hotel, offering easy access to many other sites of interest in Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Innova Sultanahmet Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Innova Sultanahmet Istanbul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.