We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint little place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sultan Tughra Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sultan Tughra Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sultan Tughra Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sultanahmet Mah. Keresteci Hakki Sok. No: 21, Istanbul 34122, Turkey   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 916 hotels in Istanbul
Toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Quaint little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for 6 nights here during our first ever Istanbul trip. The place is well decorated with Ottoman colours and furniture. Tughra means the Seal of the Ottoman Sultans which is depicted in the monogram of the hotel. The rooms are a bit compact but good enough to spend the night in. We were first placed in the basement but requested a room on the second floor which the Manager agreed to. The bed was very comfortable and within a 19 bed hotel it was very quiet at night. The hotel is in a little alleyway devoid of any vehicle traffic and noisy neighbourhood. The trek to the core of all the attractions takes about 10 minutes up the hilly terrain so better to be in your runners. The rooms were smartly cleaned daily and the shower, AC and WIFI connection were excellent. The three storey hotel does not have an elevator. The breakfast in the spacious dinning hall was adequate and one could order any type of freshly made eggs. Mert, the young manager was very helpful, spoke good English and always had a smile on his face. Right behind the hotel through the alleyway is the Bosphorus seafront. Make sure you walk along it for some fresh breeze. This hotel is not a bad place if you can get a good deal depending on the season.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    149
    32
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
13
104
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
sussex england
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Quaint hotel with interior decor in traditional Turkish style. Our room on the 1st floor was't the most spacious , but it was always well cleaned and bed comfortable with lavish furnishings. Staff warm and friendly and in particular Mert or Matt who is always helpful. Hotel located within walking distance of all major attractions in the Sultanamet area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

The hôtel is located next to most important monuments of the city. The staff is very pleasant and do his best to make your stay perfect. Rooms are confortable and typic. It's very clean and everyday you seem to get the room as if It is the first Time.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Julian's, Malta
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Upon arrival, we were welcomed by Mert who was all smiles and extremely helpful. He offered us turkish coffee and turkish delight and even asked if we would like some breakfast. We were upgraded to the king suite, which was a pleasant surprise too! The room was extremely clean and extravagant. The bathroom was very large and the bedroom was a good size too. We were very comfortable and slept very well. Breakfast was very good and they make delicious eggs upon request at no extra cost. Mert and Mehmet went out of their way to make us comfortable throughout our stay. The location is very good, just a short walk from the main sites.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

They have a friendly staff. For me, the decoration is heavy because of the red velvet, but I think it is what a Sultan would have in a Harem! Comfortable bed, clean toilets, nice breakfast and breakfast room. They have small parking zone that was really helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel has so many good features and the staff are very friendly and helpful and also they speak good English. There are only two things that I'd say you have to consider before booking this place: 1- unless you can afford a taxi, you have to walk a fair distance to any public transport or tourism attractions. We love walking so we didn't mind. 2- There is no lift in the hotel and if your room is in the top floor, then you have to drag your heavy suitcase in the narrow stairway. The staff helped me a lot with my suitcase but still my husband had to do it himself.

Room Tip: Avoid economy rooms, they are located in the basement with close to no natural light
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bethesda, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Sultan in Aug 2013. The Hotel is located about 5-10mins away from the Blue Mosque depending on how quickly you climb hills. The location while only 5-10mins away is tucked away in a location that at night can seem a bit sketchy at first glance. However, during our stay we never felt unsafe. The staff is very friendly. Always available and willing to help. Some speak better english than others but it was never hard to get what we wanted.
Because of another Trip Advisor review we emailed the hotel prior to our stay asking to reserve a top floor room. We ended up getting the suite on 3rd floor and it was great.

One note - The hotel offers a shuttle from the airport for $30 Euro. You can easily find a taxi for 30 Lira at the airport.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sultan Tughra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultan Tughra Hotel

Address: Sultanahmet Mah. Keresteci Hakki Sok. No: 21, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 916 hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sultan Tughra Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Sultan Tughra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sultan Tughra Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.