We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sultan Tughra Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sultan Tughra Hotel to your Saves list
Sultan Tughra Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sultanahmet Mah. Keresteci Hakki Sok. No: 21, Istanbul 34122, Turkey   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #29 of 945 Hotels in Istanbul
Saint Julian's, Malta
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Upon arrival, we were welcomed by Mert who was all smiles and extremely helpful. He offered us turkish coffee and turkish delight and even asked if we would like some breakfast. We were upgraded to the king suite, which was a pleasant surprise too! The room was extremely clean and extravagant. The bathroom was very large and the bedroom was a good size too. We were very comfortable and slept very well. Breakfast was very good and they make delicious eggs upon request at no extra cost. Mert and Mehmet went out of their way to make us comfortable throughout our stay. The location is very good, just a short walk from the main sites.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    35
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
16
126
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

They have a friendly staff. For me, the decoration is heavy because of the red velvet, but I think it is what a Sultan would have in a Harem! Comfortable bed, clean toilets, nice breakfast and breakfast room. They have small parking zone that was really helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel has so many good features and the staff are very friendly and helpful and also they speak good English. There are only two things that I'd say you have to consider before booking this place: 1- unless you can afford a taxi, you have to walk a fair distance to any public transport or tourism attractions. We love walking so we didn't mind. 2- There is no lift in the hotel and if your room is in the top floor, then you have to drag your heavy suitcase in the narrow stairway. The staff helped me a lot with my suitcase but still my husband had to do it himself.

Room Tip: Avoid economy rooms, they are located in the basement with close to no natural light
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bethesda, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Sultan in Aug 2013. The Hotel is located about 5-10mins away from the Blue Mosque depending on how quickly you climb hills. The location while only 5-10mins away is tucked away in a location that at night can seem a bit sketchy at first glance. However, during our stay we never felt unsafe. The staff is very friendly. Always available and willing to help. Some speak better english than others but it was never hard to get what we wanted.
Because of another Trip Advisor review we emailed the hotel prior to our stay asking to reserve a top floor room. We ended up getting the suite on 3rd floor and it was great.

One note - The hotel offers a shuttle from the airport for $30 Euro. You can easily find a taxi for 30 Lira at the airport.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Mehmet & Matt are wonderful. They knew it was our honeymoon and had a delicious bottle of wine & room upgrade waiting to welcome us to Turkey.

Good: The location is great. The decor is beautiful. The staff are very helpful and speak English fluently. The breakfast had a decent selection. Matt makes the best coffee!

Not great: The rooms are a little small. The views are of the alley & surrounding hotels.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

My contact with the hotel started at the airport, as I had booked their van to pick me up. On time and discreet, the driver took me to a quiet area in Sultanhamet where the hotel is found. I was greeted by the receptionist with plenty of smiles and offers of Turkish coffee, which after the long haul flight were both very welcome. My room was small but very functional and tasteful despite the over the top lavish decor with plenty of gold trims, shiny stones and heavy drapery. The bathroom had a jacuzzi, the room air con, free wifi, safe, minibar, flat TV. The breakfast was a delicious treat of savoury cooked or cold dishes of the Turkish cuisine with different types of cheese, tomatoes, salads and pastries, or sweet cooked and cold with dried fruits, nuts, cakes and yoghurt. The breakfast room remains at the disposal of the guests with the possibility of having more hot drinks during the course of the day whilst resting under the shaded conservatory-type ceiling. The staff is smily, genuinely friendly and very attentive. Because of the quiet atmosphere, I would definitely recommend this hotel to couples, even though I was there alone.

Room Tip: No lift. I stayed in number 17 on the first floor which was a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Can't say enough about how fantastic it felt arriving to the cool and uniquely decorated lobby at Sultan Tughra after what may have been the most unbearable/terrifying airport shuttle in my lifetime.
Nurcan and the staff were extremely kind and willing to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. Given I was 16 wks pregnant at the time, the unexpected extra care and consideration they demonstrated was really appreciated.
We stayed for 4 nights, upgraded to the King's suite for 2; both rooms were very nice despite being a little small overall. Beds are comfortable, clean and warm. Our first room in the basement was preferred only because it would be darker in the mornings, a lot faster to cool with AC, and had a great shower. But, it had zero counter space to store our toiletry items and being next to the utility room, we heard the cleaning staff quite early.
The King's suite had a great big bathtub and nicer bathroom, a little more furniture and was very quiet being on a floor all to itself.
The breakfast buffet was good. We could get a hot omelet with cheese made to order in addition to the number of cold items; fruits, salads, cereal etc. They were in the process of upgrading the facility when we left, hopefully that made the flow of coffee machines, hot water dispensers and the like a bit more organized, as it seemed a bit cramped and unorganized.
The hotel is located well, took us 5-10 minutes to walk to the main square between the Haiga Sophia and the “blue” mosque, it’s also quite close to the water in the other direction. There are plenty of standard restaurants, hooka spots, random cats, and shops along the way to make the stroll pleasant.
Istanbul is such an incredible city to visit and explore, but I loved coming in from outside to the serene peace and quiet of the hotel. Felt like coming home after a hectic day at the office. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sultan Tughra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultan Tughra Hotel

Address: Sultanahmet Mah. Keresteci Hakki Sok. No: 21, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 945 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sultan Tughra Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelBookers, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sultan Tughra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sultan Tughra Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.