We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poshy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Georges Hotel Galata

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Georges Hotel Galata to your Saves list
Georges Hotel Galata
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Serdar-i Ekrem Sok. No: 24 Galata, Beyoglu, Istanbul, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 875 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Istanbul
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Poshy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Great atmosphere. The room i stayed in was small but ok. A little distracting with connecting doors still existing. The rooftop is breathtaking and the feomt office service was excellent. Comes recommended for couples or singles

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgesHotelGalata, Director Comercial at Georges Hotel Galata, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Ocak,
We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and would recommend Georges Hotel Galata.
Best regards from all team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    57
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
20
124
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moss, Ostfold, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stayed here for three nights. This was my first visit to Istanbul. Room is comfortable. Services is very good. The place gives you an atmosphere of old world charm. Wi-fi works great. Locate is perfect, short walk to taksim and in a nice neighborhood. Nothing to complain about. will come back next visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgesHotelGalata, Director of Sales at Georges Hotel Galata, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear benrora,
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Comments such as yours are our best reward to our daily work. Thank you very much for your feedback!

Looking forward to welcome you again.

Best regards from Georges Hotel Galata Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Could not fault anything at this amazing hotel! Intimate and charming ambiance. Comfortable bed, High ceilings, wonderful views, quiet calming environment, amazing breakfast overlooking the bospherus, friendly staff, perfect location In the back streets, spacious and calming rooms, could go on... So glad we stayed here rather than a brand hotel, it paid off!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony overlooking the bospherus, preferable at the top
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgesHotelGalata, Director of Sales at Georges Hotel Galata, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Mani B,

Thank you for positive feedback about your experience at Georges. We are really happy to hear you enjoyed it so much.
Looking forward to welcome you again.

Best regards,

Georges Hotel Galata Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slenaken, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Perfect hotel on a perfect spot.
A wonderful hotel, great view from the terrace an breakfast area.
Breakfast was special, served in a different way but we loved-it
Perfect staff, helpful, nothing was too much.
We highly recommend this hotel for a stay in Istanbul.

Room Tip: higher floors have a better view a special when you choose for river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgesHotelGalata, Director of Sales at Georges Hotel Galata, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear André S,

Thank you very much for your lovely comments.
We are happy to hear that we have met and hopefully even exceed your expectations.
We hope to see you soon again at Georges Hotel Galata.

Best regards,

Georges Hotel Galata Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Georges Hotel in Galata, Beyoğlu is a true boutique establishment with top notch customer service & amenities. The location is perfect for sightseeing if you wish to stay in a charming hilly neighborhood filled with restaurants, cafes & shops but not too close to Sultanahment. Galata Tower is "the landmark" for this hotel, which is a bit tough to find by taxi (definitely carry the Hotel name & exact address with you if you travel by taxi). The guest room was modern, clean, well-appointed & comfortable (open closet, Nespresso coffee machine & daily stocked complimentary glass bottles of water) & the bathroom was well-stocked including soft towels. You can enjoy your delicious breakfast (definitely get the traditional Turkish breakfast) in the lobby or on the enclosed terrace (highly recommended) while taking in breathtaking views of the Golden Horn. From the moment I booked the room to the time of departure, the staff was helpful, friendly & courteous. Erdal assisted with a dinner reservation & arranging a lovely surprise for my Sister's Bday ahead of the trip & was delightful. Sammi (hopefully spelled correctly) kindly provided us with suggestions/guidance & is a lovely person. The experience at Georges made the trip to Istanbul even better and I would absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgesHotelGalata, Director of Sales at Georges Hotel Galata, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Candi-O,

We are absolutely delighted to read your nice and positive feedback about your experience at Georges Hotel Galata and are looking forward to welcome you again.

Best regards from all team

Georges Hotel Galata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman,Jordan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

My stay at this fine hotel was amazing . The rooms are very elegant and clean . The staff was very helpful and nice . The view from the room and breakfast area are breathtaking .This hotel is also located close to the central Istiklal str. . You can also reach the two metro stations nearby in less than five minutes on foot . Sultanahmet is a mere fifteen to twenty minutes walk or about the same by tramway . I would most surely like to stay at the Georges Hotel Galata again on my next visit to Istanbul .

Room Tip: Book the sea view rooms , the view is worth the higher rate .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgesHotelGalata, Director of Sales at Georges Hotel Galata, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Nartlambaz,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Georges Hotel Galata.

Looking forward to welcome you soon!

Best regards,

Georges Hotel Galata Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york, england
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We were originally planning to stay in a studio flat in the Galata area through airbnb, until a friend told me about his friend who had a hotel nearby. We loved the Georges website and after a phone call got a good deal for three nights. We arrived in Istanbul in the pouring rain, and to be adventurous, took the metro, the tram and the funicular to get closer to the hotel. however we walked straight past it. There are no signs, so make sure you have the street number with you if arriving by foot. We were greeted by charming staff who made us a drink and carried our luggage upstairs. The room was lovely, the amenities generous, and the bed and bedding extremely soft and crisp. However the room lacked decent lighting for reading, which we later discovered the staff were well aware of it, due to other complaints.
The roof terrace is the best part, with wonderful views of the Bosphorus and the old city and breakfast has no set time, which means proper morning relaxation ahead of a busy day of walking and sightseeing. Breakfast a la carte was nice, and discovered on the last morning there is a great selection of teas. We sat in the open area one morning and we were offered blankets as we drank copious amounts of coffee. Loved the hotel, perfect location, with plenty of trendy cafes and interesting shops around.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgesHotelGalata, Director of Sales at Georges Hotel Galata, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear baracudafamily,

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are very happy you enjoyed your room, our generous a la carte breakfast served in the rooftop terrace and our staff’s friendliness.
We are looking forward to welcome you once again.

Best regards,

Georges Hotel Galata Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Georges Hotel Galata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georges Hotel Galata

Address: Serdar-i Ekrem Sok. No: 24 Galata, Beyoglu, Istanbul, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 875 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Georges Hotel Galata 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georges Hotel Galata is located in a majestic historical building surrounded by a wide range of stores, restaurants, bars and cafes in a chic, trendy neighborhood, just a few steps to the Galata Tower and a five minute walk to Istiklal Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Splendia, Escapio, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Georges Hotel Galata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Georges Hotel Galata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.