We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rixos is Horrible and it sucks” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Rixos Taksim Istanbul

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Rixos Taksim Istanbul to your Saves list
Rixos Taksim Istanbul
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Inonu Mah. Yedi Kuyular Cad. No:1, Istanbul 34373, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #483 of 979 Hotels in Istanbul
Beirut, Lebanon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Rixos is Horrible and it sucks”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I have never been in a worse hotel ever
The hotel staff are very well trained in making your life miserable, no one there has a sense of hospitality, they are all rude and stubborn.
on our arrival they demanded we pay a huge amount of money as a deposit for any potential consumption from the mini bar knowing that all other expenses as room charges were previously paid. we tried for half an hour to convince the guy to decrease the amount but eventually we ended up paying it in full. To our utter horror and disappointment few hours later and while having the " DO NOT DISTURB'' sign on the room door, a guy knocked on the door and didn't even wait for me to open, he just walked into the room wanting to empty the mini bar. So guys in case you got obliged to be in this hotel dont even think of using the DND sign because i dont think there is anyone who knows what it means.
Steam ironing is apparently not a very popular concept, not only we had to call a gazillion time and beg for them to collect my wife's dress for steam ironing, but when they finally did it was returned after 2 days looking like a cow has been chewing on it, so we had to call a manager to solve this issue.
The breakfast is very poor and very expensive and the servers are slow.
Every time you need to access your room, you need to stand for 10mn trying to rub the key card against the door sensor to open.
The bathroom door (not shower) are transparent resulting in absolutely no privacy.
After our 3rd night, they blocked my friend's key card and accused him of staying at the hotel without paying when he had actually paid the whole amount before checking in and a 1000 euro deposit for the mini bar of course, they kept him stranded outside of his room for more than half an hour trying to convince those bunch of stubborn people to open the door for him so he can at least show them the receipt, to make matters worse they have insulted him and called him a thief.
Hospitality and customer service are not their greatest attributes, nowhere close to five stars treatment.
Not recommended at all, we will never get close to any Rixos in the world.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rixos T, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Taksim Istanbul, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Valuable Guest,

We are very sorry to hear the inconveniences you had during your stay. Please accept our sincere apologies.

Please make sure that your comments have been passed onto the appropriate departments and we took corrective actions as upgraded services and well trained employees. You may be sure that any similar issue won't be happening again.

Please accept our apologies one more time and be informed that we would be more than happy to make it up to you on your next stay.

Best Regards.

Aslı Balcı
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    54
    37
    15
    20
See reviews for
33
78
12
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tehran, Iran
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I stayed in Rixos from 30th September to 3rd October,in a standard room.the first night we stayed in room on the first level,which wasn't much good because the inside could be seen from out side and if you the curtains closed it would be dark and boring,so I requested them to change the room and they kindly did it and we moved to the third floor which was much quieter and better.
The rooms both were quite spacious and over clean,the only problem you may have is with the toilets that had glass door which wasn't closed completely so you can guess what problems it can cause.
I can't think of anything more for the breakfast because you can find anything you can imagine.diffrent kinds of hot and cold things,several kinds of cheese,bread,olives,honey,fruit yogurt,.....
The staff were quite polite and helpful and alittle surprising for a hotel in Istanbul everyone spoke quite fluent English.
The location is not bad,it's about 10 minutes walk to the center of Istanbul(Taksim square) from where you can take metro to access everywhere,or just enjoy the lively street of the city(istiklal caddesi)

Room Tip: Not to be watched from outside get rooms in higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rixos T, Fine-Ex Supervisor & Hotel Management at Rixos Taksim Istanbul, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Rixos Elysium Suites Taksim-Istanbul.

Thank you for taking time to share your positive stay experience with us. Your positive comments indicate that we as Rixos Elysium Suites Taksim met your expectations and requests at a high-quality service level and also we ensure that you it is always our great pleasure to welcome and serve you very well at our Hotel.

We also apologize from you due to any inconvenience during your stay at our Hotel.

Whenever you want to state more details regarding your stay experience at our Hotel, please know that all your comments will be highly appreciated and seriously taken into consideration.

Kindly let us know if you have any requests prior to coming to our Hotel next time. We surely organize well and do our best for your requests.

We look forward to having you return to our Hotel Rixos Elysium Suites Taksim on your next visit.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in a Junior Suite 9th floor with terrace and Bosporus view... Very nice...
How this Hotel can be rated low among TA Istanbul Hotels is beyond me..
True 5 star... Only 'hick-up' is that not all employees understand English but that is all pet Turkey though...
Wifi works perfect.. Suite is unique .. 80-100 sq. Meters.. Plenty of space...
Clean and modern and new..
Luxurious hotel and very nice gym spa - pool area .. Enjoyed a Hamam at the spa .. Truly amazing..
Located near Taksim and 20-25 min drive in taxi from Blue Mosque - grand Bazar area.
Would definately stay here again and can only recommend..!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rixos T, Fine-Ex Supervisor & Hotel Management at Rixos Taksim Istanbul, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Rixos Elysium Suites Taksim-Istanbul.

Thank you for taking time to share your positive stay experience with us. Your positive comments indicate that we as Rixos Elysium Suites Taksim met your expectations and requests at a high-quality service level and also we ensure that you it is always our great pleasure to welcome and serve you very well at our Hotel.

Whenever you want to state more details regarding your stay experience at our Hotel, please know that all your comments will be highly appreciated and seriously taken into consideration.

Kindly let us know if you have any requests prior to coming to our Hotel next time. We surely organize well and do our best for your requests.

We look forward to having you return to our Hotel Rixos Elysium Suites Taksim on your next visit.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baku, Azerbaijan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed in hotel 2 days with our daughter. Hotel is located near to Taksim square. Very friendly personal, comfortable rooms. I advise tourists to choose this hotel for staying during their trip to Istanbul.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rixos T, Fine-Ex Supervisor & Hotel Management at Rixos Taksim Istanbul, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Rixos Elysium Suites Taksim-Istanbul.

Thank you for taking time to share your positive stay experience with us . We are pleased that you enjoyed the proximity of our Hotel to Taksim Square, hotel staff and the rooms.

Kindly let us know if you have any requests prior to coming to our Hotel next time. We surely organize well and do our best for your requests.

We look forward to having you return to our Hotel Rixos Elysium Suites Taksim on your next visit.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ankara
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

I have stayed at rixos elysium suites for the weekend The hotel was really nice with very spacious rooms . The rooms are arranged like a bedroom and bath at upstairs and a living room downstairs. It has also have alittle kitchen ,so you can spent extendebd stays comfortably or with children. The rooms are very new with trendy decorations. You can have two tv's and two bathrooms. Everybody is very helpful. It is very near to Taksim and beyoglu and you can reach almost everwhere from there. May be downside is you can have great scenery and because of large windows you can have problem with having hot upstairs and cool downstairs.
I would recommend this hotel loooking for a large room and cental location in Istanbul

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rixos T, Fine-Ex Supervisor & Hotel Management at Rixos Taksim Istanbul, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Rixos Elysium Suites Taksim-Istanbul.

Thank you for taking time to share your positive stay experience with us. Your positive comments indicate that we as Rixos Elysium Suites Taksim met your expectations and requests at a high-quality service level and also we ensure that you it is always our great pleasure to welcome and serve you very well at our Hotel.

Whenever you want to state more details regarding your stay experience at our Hotel, please know that all your comments will be highly appreciated and seriously taken into consideration.

Kindly let us know if you have any requests prior to coming to our Hotel next time. We surely organize well and do our best for your requests.

We look forward to having you return to our Hotel Rixos Elysium Suites Taksim on your next visit.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Stayed at the hotel from July 12th until July 17th 2012.
The Hotel is nicely decorated, the rooms are spacious compared to other hotels in Istanbul. The breakfast buffet is very good.
However, the A/C in our room was not working at all. We were in the midst of the heat wave and the room temperature was around 30 degrees. The hotel staff and technicians tried to fix it several times to no avail. They offered to give us another room, but due to the hotel's full occupancy, the room they offered was smaller than ours and had two single beds, while we as a couple wanted a full bed. We did not accept to move to the other move and ended up enduring the heat for the duration of our stay.
The hotel management sent us a portable fan. Which helped to ease our suffering a little bit.
Hadn't it been to the A/C issue, I would have given the hotel a 5 stars review.

Room Tip: Request a room in higher floors as ours was in the first floor overseeing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rixos T, Fine-Ex Supervisor & Hotel Management at Rixos Taksim Istanbul, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Rixos Elysium Suites Taksim-Istanbul.

Thank you for taking time to share your stay experience with us. Your positive comments indicate that we all as Rixos Elysium Suites Taksim met some of your expectations and requests at somewhat desirable service level. It is our great pleasure to make you satisfied with our hotel services.

On the other hand, please accept my personal and our Hotel Teams’ sincere apologies as we failed to deliver high-quality air condition services during your stay.

Kindly let us know if you have any requests prior to coming to our Hotel next time. We surely organize well and do our best for your requests. Please know that all your comments will be highly appreciated and seriously taken into consideration in order to improve our hotel services.

We look forward to having you return to our Hotel Rixos Elysium Suites Taksim on your next visit.

Thanks again

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

The location is 5 Minutes from Taqsim, just perfect ! the street is in quiet street, another bonus. Rooms are amazing !! Feels like an apartment. The room I stayed was two story loft and it was beautifully decorated. Stayed 3 days and could easily stayed another month as it was very convenient. Bvlgari Bathroom Amenities . Awesome !

Beautiful spa, steam room and sauna ! Dont miss it. !

Service was really good and most personal were friendly and nice.

Smaller Issues :

- One of the bathroom had a ventilation system problem. When the fan was not on, slight small was coming back to the bathroom.
- Although it was a suite with kitchenette, they didn't leave any wine glasses or any type of the glassware in the kitchen. Odd ! I had to call and ask for wine opener and the guy didn't leave it in the room. Twice. Like they are told not to pass it to guests.
- I had laundry charge in my invoice which i didn't and it turned out to be from the previous guest.
- Towel with a big hole !! lol .. most likely due to bad use of bleach. But funny that the house cleaning didn't check it.

Overall, definitely the right choice if you want spacious space and suite like stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rixos T, Fine-Ex Supervisor & Hotel Management at Rixos Taksim Istanbul, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Rixos Elysium Suites Taksim-Istanbul.

Thank you for taking time to share your stay experience with us. Your positive comments indicate that we all as Rixos Elysium Suites Taksim met some of your expectations and requests at somewhat desirable service level. It is our great pleasure to make you satisfied with our hotel services.

On the other hand, please accept my personal and our Hotel Teams’ sincere apologies as we failed to deliver high-quality services on some service issues during your stay.

Kindly let us know if you have any requests prior to coming to our Hotel next time. We surely organize well and do our best for your requests. Please know that all your comments will be highly appreciated and seriously taken into consideration in order to improve our hotel services.

We look forward to having you return to our Hotel Rixos Elysium Suites Taksim on your next visit.

Thanks again

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rixos Taksim Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixos Taksim Istanbul

Address: Inonu Mah. Yedi Kuyular Cad. No:1, Istanbul 34373, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #483 of 979 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rixos Taksim Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rixos Taksim Istanbul, located in Taksim, at the heart of Istanbul, cradle of civilizations, embodies 130 suite rooms, 63 studio rooms and 2 penthouses, an exclusive restaurant and a bar, along with a SPA and a fitness center, is promising the valued guests a brand new life experience integrated with the vivid energy of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Rixos Taksim Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rixos Taksim Istanbul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.