We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hamam Turkish bath” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ayasofya Hurrem Sultan Hamam

Ayasofya Hurrem Sultan Hamam
Cankurtaran Mahallesi Ayasofya Meydani No:2, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
+90 212 517 3535
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 543 Activities in Istanbul
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Historical and Luxurious Art of BathingHistorical and Architectural Features“I hope that until the end of days, good hearted friends who take a look at what I have made, when they will perceive the seriousness and the spirit of my effort, can have a fair view and can invoke my name to pray for me.” Mimar Sinan, ArchitectThe Ayasofya Hurrem Sultan Hamam in Istanbul was designed and built by Mimar Sinan, the chief Ottoman architect. It was built at the request of Hurrem Sultan (Roxelana), the wife of Sultan Suleiman the Magnificent in the 16th century. It was built where the ancient public baths of Zeuxippus used to stand, between the Blue Mosque and the Hagia Sophia. The area is also particularly significant as the site where the Temple of Zeus once stood.
Nicosia, Nicosia, Cyprus
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Hamam Turkish bath”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Good service polite staff and very clean but expensive however worth to try it. Probably one of the best hamam in Sultanahmet

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    352
    95
    39
    14
    12
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A perfect way to get rid of jet lag...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The first thing my friends and I did when we arrived in Istanbul was to go to the Ayasofya Hurrem Sultan Bath. It's a little more pricey than other establishments, but definitely worth every penny. Every aspect of the treatment was pleasurable. It begins with moisturizing as you are doused with warm water in a gold plated bath bowl. This is followed by traditional body scrubbing, and a bubble wash and massage. You are towel dried by your attendant, which I haven't experienced since I was a child. After you finish you relax in beautiful surroundings while being served refreshing drinks. It was the perfect remedy after a difficult 10 1/2 hour flight!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“A Delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I'd never been to Istanbul and never had a Turkish bath. I chose this one because it was close to our hotel, gorgeous outside, had a very clear sheet that explained the full list of services, and, after checking with the concierge at our hotel, found it is one of the few they recommend to guests.

I chose a treatment with mud mask and massage, so I was there 2 hours... perhaps one of the most relaxing 2 hours I've ever had. Loved it.

The beauty of the building added to the experience. All that white marble, copper faucets and washing bowls, diffused light from intriguing ceilings and the call to prayer coming from the nearby Blue Mosque. Wow. An incredible experience that I wish I could have twice a month!

For those concerned with sanitation, it was very clean. They provide each customer with a new mitt used by the attendant only once, and everything was very tasteful and clean. Highly, highly recommended.

P.S. I left with the little baggie of my stuff, including an incredible lotion I wish I could purchase at home. The sweet fragrance makes me sigh even now.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Probably the best Hamam in Sultanahmet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I had previously travelled to Istanbul and used a number of Hamams but the Ayasofya Hurrem Sultan Hamam is, to my mind, the best hamam in Sultanahmet.

Typically, I look for cleanliness, convenience of location, variety in treatments offered and price. This hamam delivers (and delivers well) on all except for maybe on price - it is the most expensive hamam I've been to...

Men and women are completely separate, so if you're looking to do a couples treatment this is not the place for you. Also, men who may feel awkward/uncomfortable about being bathed, scrubbed and massaged by another man should also avoid this hamam (and most others in Sultahmet !!!)

I recommend the Zevk-i Sefa (Extravagant Pleasure) package as the best value for money. The best time to book for a treatment would be the early morning sessions (between 9:00AM and 10:30AM) as the hamam is not very busy during this time and you could end up being the only customer there which makes the experience much more enjoyable and means you get extra attention.

If you're concerned on what to wear and whether or not to take your mobile phone, wallet, watch etc with you then this may come in handy:
If you're comfortable with being fully nude than you don't need to take any additional clothing with you as you'll be asked to strip down and store your clothes in a secure coded locker (your phone, wallet, watch, bag etc can be stored in the locker as well and you set your own personal code on the locker - similar to a hotel safe). You'll be given cotton towels to cover yourself when walking to different parts of the hamam.
If you're not comfortable with being fully nude then simply take along a bathing suit and an empty plastic bag to stick the bathing suit in when you're done. Remember, the suit is going to get soaking wet and depending on which package you go for, it could also end up being caked in mud and bubbles so I would recommend against taking your most expensive one.

The Zevk-i Sefa (Extravagant Pleasure) experience is as follows:
- You check in at reception where you pay for your experience (cash or card) and will then be escorted by your "tellak" (bather) to the locker area. You will be allocated a secure locker to store your clothes and valuables in as mentioned above.
- You are then taken in to what is a stunning and opulent hamam where you spend roughly 15 minutes sweating in the heat of the hamam. Here you must bath and splash yourself with very hot and then very cold water.
- After this, your tellak leads you to a different part of the hamam where you are washed off and scrubbed head to toe in rough salt.
- The salt is then washed off your body and this is followed by you being coated in mud. Your tellak will go off to bring you a glass of icy cold "sherbet" (sweet turkish drink) and water to sip on while the mud settles.
- The mud is then washed off and you are bathed and splashed with first hot then cold water.
- You are then made to lay down on a warm slate of marble in the hamam where you are once again bathed from head to toe in bubbles.
- Following this, the bubbles and soap are washed off you and for the last time you are bathed and splashed with first hot then cold water. (At this point you're feeling very refreshed !!!).
- You are then dried off and led out of the hamam back to the inner (covered) courtyard adjacent to the reception area where you are asked to lay down on a deck chair and relax with another glass of sherbet. (the only bit I don't like about is all you have covering you is a towel and it can be a bit distracting with people moving around in the reception area).
- After this period of relaxation, you are led to the massage area on either the first, second or third floors of the inner courtyard and you receive a full body massage.
- Once done, you head back to the locker room and change back into your clothing feeling utterly relaxed. (PS. Don't forget to tip your tellak - TL20 is sufficient).

It is a very nice experience in an excellent location and I highly recommend the experience. The Zevk-i Sefa (Extravagant Pleasure) package outlined above cost €115.00 (excluding the tip) which is very costly by Istanbul standards and there are loads cheaper hamams that offer a very good service but non that come close to this one. It is well and truly worth the cost.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
71 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“a unique queen-like experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I wrote a long review and the system just rejects it. No foul language in what I wrote and yet it was not possible to submit the review. It is frustrating.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ayasofya Hurrem Sultan Hamam also viewed

 

Been to Ayasofya Hurrem Sultan Hamam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ayasofya Hurrem Sultan Hamam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.