We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little b&b in Beyoglu” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peradays

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Peradays to your Saves list
Peradays
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Kamer Hantun Mah. Hamalbasi Cad.32, Istanbul 34435, Turkey   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
40% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 828 Istanbul B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great little b&b in Beyoglu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Peradays is a small b&b with an excellent location in Beyoglu. The owners of the hotel are very friendly, professional, and helpful. They were incredibly gracious and made us feel right at home. On the first night that we arrived, Murat personally walked us to one of his favorite restaurants and helped us order our meal. We truly appreciated that extra touch as we were tired from traveling and just wanted to eat something good and go to bed without having to navigate the neighborhood. In addition, they made a number of recommendations for restaurants and also a jazz club which we enjoyed very much.

We stayed in room #1, which is right above the reception area. I would not recommend this room if you are a light sleeper (like me) since you can hear every single noise from below. The room itself was fine, although there were two twin beds that we pushed together rather than one queen or full. Perhaps this was listed on the website and I missed it, but we would have preferred one larger bed.

The hotel also has a terrace which isn't particularly scenic, but it was nice to sit up there with a cup of tea in the morning or evening. Breakfast was lovely, but got a bit repetitive as the same thing is served each day (tomatoes, cucumbers, meat, cheese, bread, jam, omelette, olives). On some days they served a delicious cheese and honey crepe.

The location is fantastic- 10 minute walk to Tunel which is an underground train that will connect you to the tram that you will take to all of the touristy sites in Sultanahmet. The hotel is around the corner from the main strip that is filled with restaurants, bars, cafes, and shops. The block that the hotel is on appears a bit shabby at first glance, but it is quite safe and we were totally comfortable once we got our bearings. Unless you are only going to Istanbul for the touristy sites, I would highly suggest staying in Beyoglu as there is far more to do here even though you have to travel 15-20 minutes to do some sightseeing. The trams are very easy to use once you learn the system, however, there really weren't any good maps available so you kind of have to figure it out on your own.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    19
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
37
142
30
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I've been meaning to write this review for months. My husband, sister-in-law, and I traveled to Istanbul back in April, and I haven't forgotten what a wonderful experience it was. It says a lot that now, some five months later, I am still just as excited about this place as I was when we first arrived.

It's evident that Murat, Murat, and Bora take great pride in their property and their city. Located just off the bustling Istikal Street, Peradays is a little, quiet oasis with fabulous attention to detail in the decor, the food, the cleanliness, and overall service. I don't know what the previous reviewer is talking about when she says the area is unsafe. My sister-in-law and I (both of us in our twenties) went in and out of Peradays by ourselves several times (my husband likes his sleep), and I never once felt unsafe (and I am from a suburb in Wisconsin!). You'll be very comfortable and safe inside and outside of Peradays. I'm also really glad we stayed near Istikal/Taksim and not Sultanahmet (where a lot more of the touristy and historical things are) because once you've done the touristy things in Sultanahmet, there's really no reason to stay down there. There are much better restaurants, shops, and nightlife up near Istikal/Taksim that are not just tourist traps. Plus, it's really easy to walk down the hill to hop on the street car/trolley to get to the places in Sultanahmet. We had the public transportation figured out the first day, and it really is just a short ride to get there. Definitely stay near Istikal.

The beds in our room were comfortable, and I appreciated the beautiful window treatments that kept the room nice and dark. The decor in the room was modern, but still very comfortable. It had everything we needed: two twin beds, night stands, a flat screen TV, a hotpot for making tea, a desk, extra chairs and reading lamps, and a sofa sleeper for my sister-in-law. It even came with a cat! (We welcomed their cat into our room because we love animals. I'm sure if you told them you didn't want her in your room they'd see to it that she did not go in.) The bathroom was clean, though compact, with a stand-up shower stall.

I can't say enough about the ambiance and comfort of the hotel, but the true highlight of Peradays is the staff. The Murats and Bora are so welcoming and accommodating. We arrived well ahead of check-in on our first day, and they had no problem storing our large suitcases while we toured the city that afternoon. Throughout the week, they made several great recommendations for food, and even wrote out some phonetic pronunciations of common phrases in Turkish and gave us impromptu language lessons over breakfast just for fun.

Speaking of breakfast -- WOW! I still have dreams about the fluffy egg and pepper dish they made us every day. Delicious! My mouth is also watering just thinking about the soft breads and preserves they served, along with cheeses and olives and a housemade carrot and orange juice. We started every morning out with such a filling breakfast that we didn't need to eat until much later in the day. A few days we woke up well after breakfast time (more like 11 am or noon) and they still made us the full breakfast. Another night we came in late and they offered us a late night snack of a homemade cake. So sweet and thoughtful!

Our room was right at the top of the metal stairs, and that would be my only complaint: it did get a little noisy (again, my husband likes his sleep!), but more often than not, hearing guests in the lobby/breakfast area just made me want to get moving a little faster to go visit and hear what others were doing that day or had done the day before.

We have stayed in a lot of American boutique hotels and B&Bs, and Peradays definitely ranks among our favorites. It's great for couples or families who are looking for a lively, modern, and communal atmosphere. Murat, Murat, and Bora, thanks for making us feel like a part of your family for that week back in April. We'll always look back on our time at Peradays with fond memories, and we wish you the best!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Peradays is a small hotel, very well managed by very polite organized and professional people.
The rooms are good, not amazing, the breakfast is fine, made almost on demand by a very polite lady who is making the housekeeping too, overall a price above 80euros is not justified (I paid 120!)
The hype around this hotel is exaggerated and seeing it in the top 5 hotel of istanbul can only make you disappointed not disappointed because you will find bad things in there, but because nothing is amazing or even "waoow great". THIS IS THE LIMIT OF THE TRIPADVISOR RANKING.

So it is an hotel you may choose and you will probably enjoy it, but do not expect something more!

You should note that the street right behind the hotel is like the worst street of istanbul center, if you come from Taksim to the hotel not from Istikial, you will go through a street beeing renovated populated with quite a lot of drugged people, some dirty junky prostitute, homeless and beggars. You can easily avoid the street but on one occasion some people asked me some money righT in front of the hotel, I did not like that, it is very unusual in Istanbul.
So because of that, I would not recommend the hotel for single or group of girl.

I feel sorry for the hotel manager to say all above as once again he is a lovely person and will make everything for you to have a good stay, but it is a review website, I tried to put a fair review.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Biscayne, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

It has taken me a little time to digest my experience at the Peradays while in Istanbul (maybe Gulten's fabulous breakfasts are responsible). I spent 10 days at this charm of a boutique hotel and feel totally qualified to add my overwhelming vote of 10/10 to other reviews. Don't let the initial impression of stepping down into the dim lobby/breakfast room/elevator/sitting area deter you from discovering the light and highlights of the rest of this interesting boutique hotel...a fabulous trio of hosts/owners, delightfully appointed rooms (stayed in #6 with a balcony), the opportunity to meet interesting fellow world travellers and a great location to walk to restaurants, shops, even a club called the Ghetto. I particularly loved hearing the call to prayer from my room as I sat out on the balcony. As a native New Yorker, I could appreciate the ambience of this small hotel with cool architecture (designed by the brother of one of the owners) ressembling a fire escape with metal stairways ending in a skylight. Again, I cannot say enough about the kindness, humor, hospitality, intelligence and generosity of the three owners. They were definitely the high points of my Istanbul experience. Thank you Murat 1.0, 2.0, Borat and Gulten. My best regards for the continued success of Peradays.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

When we arrived at Peradays the first time, we were pleasantly surprised. The hotel is designed with great care and Murat, Bora and Murat clearly enjoy running it. Our room was lovely and because of the entresol big enough for our family of four. The bathrooms were a big hit with our children (go see for yourself, I don't want to give away the surprise). When we came back to Istanbul, we did not have to think twice where to stay. When our five year old son finally got into bed after a long day on the bus he sighed " ahhh, home" and that was exactly how we all felt. Peradays is our home in Istanbul.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

This hotel is not situated at the most glamorous spot in Istanbul, but once inside your are welcomed by a very pleasant staf. One of the owners, Murat Argon speaks English really well. You are treated moe like a friend than a foreigner. You have to like the style of the hotel. The hotel's style is basic with a lot of lovely fancy details and all the rooms are different and spacious.
The breakfast is a treat!
There is a small cosy roofterrace.

Room Tip: Choose for a quiet room on the back (with no view) or for a room at the streetsite with a view but a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

My fiance and I stayed here in May and I can't recommend it enough.
The owners, both named Murat, are absolutely lovely. They are welcoming and very helpful.
The place has a great vibe, very cool rooms, delicious breakfast and is in a perfect location.
We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peradays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peradays

Address: Kamer Hantun Mah. Hamalbasi Cad.32, Istanbul 34435, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 828 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Peradays 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The building of the hotel is an authentic 100 year old Istanbul house. The exterior kept as it is, while the inside is renovated with modern architectural concepts. All 9 rooms are different from each other though the concept is the same. Location of the hotel is in the center of Beyoglu, which is in the center of Istanbul. The hotel is operated and managed by the owners themselves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Peradays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peradays, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.