We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel and helpful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sultans Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sultans Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Sultans Royal Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Mustafa Pasa Sok.No: 29 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey (Sultanahmet - Old City)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Airport Transfer !
Ranked #23 of 943 Hotels in Istanbul
Reykjavik, Iceland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel and helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Were already booked and paid for another hotel in Taksim Square. Upon arrival we had to change location since our pre-booked hotel was closed because of the protests. The staff at The Sultans Royal is really great and helpful, we couldn't have been luckier when our driver ended up taking us to them in the middle of the night searching for a place to stay. Ended up staying there for 6 nights.

Have to say it is the loveliest find during our stay in Istanbul. The location is perfect, very close to the major sights in the Old town. We had to change rooms during our stay since they only had the suite our first night. Is was beautiful, big room with balcony. Our second room was a lot smaller but also had robes and everything else we needed during our stay. So good we didn't want to change when they offered us to look at different rooms.

While checking out and without us asking for it they offered us a free ride to the airport which was a great end of a great stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    135
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
153
269
65
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calabasas, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

This hotel was a great fine. It was conveniently located no more than a 5 minute walk to Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, and Topkapı Palace. The hotel was on a very quiet street, away from the noise and crowds. The room was small, but very clean, nice windows that let in a breeze and a good size bathroom. The aire conditioner worked well and was quiet. Breakfast in the morning included eggs, breads, and assorted meats and cheeses, served sunny lower level. What made the stay special was the staff. I arrived at 7am after an overnight flight, and my room was ready and they welcomed me to breakfast. Ersine, running the front desk, not only gave me an orientation, he offered me turkish coffee and we talked about his love of fishing, the south of Turkey, and Turkish coffee. The next day I received lessons on how to make Turkish coffee. After a day of touring,I had a plate fruit waiting for me, and te next day fresh flowers. The room was stocked with a large bottle of water and Turkish Delights. I am looking forward to going back so I can continue my conversations with Ersine.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Nice little hotel near the Blue Mosque. Clean room, king size bed, air conditioning in room that wasn't noisy. Breakfast was buffet only, adequate only. No milk for tea/coffee in room though. Very friendly staff, eager to help. A nice bottle of wine waiting in the room when they found out it was my birthday, nice touch. For a short stay it was just what we needed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Located in sultanahmet within walking distance to all the major attractions. Set on a quiet cobblestone street, the location and staff were excellent. Front desk were accomodating in all areas, helped with airport pick up, and were a delight to deal with. The breakfast room and breakfast was very good. will return again next time we visit instanbul

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We agree with all the positive comments in other reviews. Our stay was made especially good by wonderful surprise birthday cake to our room! Thank you to a very friendly and thoughtful staff, who helped to make our holiday even more special.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The hotel staff have been very accommodating! Our room was spotless with wonderful little touches that made our stay even more enjoyable. The hotel is in a perfect location, just a short distance from some of Istanbul's most beautiful sights.
We will most definitely stay here in the future on our next trip to Istanbul.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

The Sultans Royal Hotel made our experience in Istanbul great. On arrival we were upgraded to a room on the top floor with a terrace. That room was really nice and added greatly to our enjoyment during the stay. The location couldn't be better...walking distance to all major sightseeing. There is a small convenience store at the end of the block for drinks and snacks. The staff was as friendly and helpful as can be. I would definitely stay at this hotel again and also recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sultans Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultans Royal Hotel

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Mustafa Pasa Sok.No: 29 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet - Old City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 943 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sultans Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sultans Royal Hotel Istanbul is not just another new hotel on Istanbul’s historic peninsular. Situated 5 minutes walking distance to Blue Mosque, Aya Sophia, Topkapi Palace Musem, Underground Cistern and other historical, cultural monuments in Sultanahmet. Sultans Royal small but classic, elegant, recently restored 3 story hotel is ideally located for exploring and discovering this enchanting city and the perfect place to relax while planning your next day’s expedition into Istanbul’s colourful and exciting history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sultans Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sultans Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.