We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sultans Royal Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sultans Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sultans Royal Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Mustafa Pasa Sok.No: 29 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Airport Transfer !
Ranked #22 of 915 hotels in Istanbul
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

My family and I actually booked with this hotel because of the recommendations on TripAdvisor. I am happy to say that TripAdvisor did not steer us wrong! This hotel was absolutely great! It is perfectly located within walking distance of all the major attractions in the Old City (including the Basilica Cistern, Blue Mosque, and Hagia Sophia), lots of restaurants, and a nice little convenience store. The rooms are large and very comfortable. They also feature painted ceilings (which I really liked). I think the best part of this hotel, though, was the friendly and super helpful staff (especially Ersin and Ismael)! They were all incredibly nice people and made us feel right at home.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    445
    108
    11
    0
    1
See reviews for
132
217
51
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This is nice three star hotel with 16 rooms in the sultanhamet district. Tons of boutique type hotels all over so there are a lot of choices. Love the cobblestoned streets... Our room ( was on the side away from the street-so our view was that of the rear of buildings and alleys) was spacious with good bathroom, shower and tub but average amenities....Housekeeping did a fine job - room was always clean.
TV is small and hardly any English channels, but in Istanbul - TV is not necessary (there is always a lot to do). Breakfast was excellent - with grilled veggies, bread, dried fruit, french toast, eggs etc....and was always being replenished.
Great staff - they were always very attentive.
Great location - 5 min walk to Aya Sofya,Blue Mosque,Hippodrome and market.

Room Tip: Room 205 for a quiet sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This is a very nice boutique hotel in the heart of the Istanbul area. It is conveniently located within walking distance of most of the must see sites. The hotel is close to good cafes. The rooms are comfortable, well appointed and spacious for Europe. The staff are friendly, extremely helpful and make your stay that little bit special. Would gladly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in the family suit which was 2 adjoining rooms. We enjoyed the room very much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

When we travel overseas, we never make reservations, we just wing it and go to the location we know where we want to be and then go hotel to hotel until we find just the right one for just the right price. We stayed here the week of Thanksgiving. This hotel was in a perfect location near the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Palace and Bazar. The staff were very friendly, they helped us arrange a trip to Ephesus. The breakfast every morning was fantastic. As with any hotels in Europe, the rooms are small, the beds were small. We viewed many other hotels in the area and for the price, this was by far the best!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
great falls, virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Our family spent six nights at this hotel and we were extremely pleased by every facet of the hotel. It is very well situated - within a few blocks walk of the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia. It is in a very quaint area, shops and restaurants nearby, but very quiet at night. The front desk is extremely helpful - they book tours and make dinner reservations and provide advice and recommendations as to what to do and where to eat. The rooms are very nice and well decorated. The hotel itself is relatively small (16 rooms; 3 levels) and it has a very warm and friendly and charming atmosphere. Overall, our family would highly recommend this hotel. I cannot think of anything remotely negative to say about it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in February and were pleased with our choice of hotel . The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were comfortable and clean. I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are looking for a good hotel close to the attractions.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dnipropetrovsk, Ukraine
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Excellent hotel!
We visited it in low season and the price was more than reasonable.
The service is really nice. They do care. Of everything you need.
Rooms are also great: beautiful, cozy and clean.
I’ve loved cooked vegetables for breakfast.
I definitely recommend this hotel and will come back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sultans Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultans Royal Hotel

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Mustafa Pasa Sok.No: 29 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 915 hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sultans Royal Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sultans Royal Hotel Istanbul is not just another new hotel on Istanbul’s historic peninsular. Situated 5 minutes walking distance to Blue Mosque, Aya Sophia, Topkapi Palace Musem, Underground Cistern and other historical, cultural monuments in Sultanahmet. Sultans Royal small but classic, elegant, recently restored 3 story hotel is ideally located for exploring and discovering this enchanting city and the perfect place to relax while planning your next day’s expedition into Istanbul’s colourful and exciting history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Sultans Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sultans Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.