We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A haven of Peace” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Neorion Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Neorion Hotel to your Saves list
Neorion Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Orhaniye Street No 14 | Sirkeci, Istanbul 34120, Turkey   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE PICKUP&CASH DISCOUNT
Ranked #1 of 980 Hotels in Istanbul
london
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A haven of Peace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This hotel is wonderful. It is a modern boutique hotel located 2 minutes from a tram route which takes you up to The sites aroung the Hagia Sofia or across to the Galata side in a few minutes. The bedrooms are modern with super bathrooms and large firm beds. The breakfast and complimentary meze (read 'lunch') are excellent. The swimming pool and hammam in the basement are spotless and a great retreat from bustling Istanbul. Most of all, the view from the roof where they serve complimentary drinks each evening are stunning and the staff go out of their way to be charming and helpful. We had a wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: The front side of the hotel has noisy traffic. We quickly got used to it but they provide earplugs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neorion H, Guest Relations Manager at Neorion Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your great reviews here regarding our hotel.
Having your positive feedbacks is quite a happiness and motivation source for us.
We will be happy to host you on your upcoming trips.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,073
    214
    19
    1
    2
See reviews for
504
1,126
135
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (525)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York State
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

My husband and I spent almost 5 days on our own in Istanbul before joining up with a small group tour. I chose the Neorion partially because it was #1 on TA at the time, but more because the location, pictures and comments all appealed. It's a small hotel, located near all the sights of Sultanahmet, as well as the Galata bridge, which we walked across a couple of times. The staff was lovely, rooms were pleasantly furnished, great breakfast, plus nice views from the roof where you can sip a glass of wine. They did offer some sort of complimentary mezes in the afternoon but we were too busy to get back in time.
The first room they put us in was really rather unpleasant (We arrived extremely early and that was what was available), and not what we had been led to expect, but they moved our bags into a much nicer room at our request while we were out. It wasn't quite the room on the top floor with a view of the famous sights which we had been told it would be, but it was more than adequate.
If I have any quibbles, they would be--1. don't promise rooms you're not going to actually give your guests. and 2: they were almost a little too anxious to make sure that I gave them a good review on TA. , including a bit of follow-up after we had left. But they are a fairly new hotel in a city with a super-abundance of hotels, so I can understand this. I would absolutely recommend them to anyone looking for a charming and convenient place to stay.

Room Tip: It's been almost 2 months since we were there, but I think the unpleasant room was on the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This small hotel in old town is walking distance to most attractions and the Bosporus. The hotel personnel were very friendly and helpful with excellent restaurant recommendations. The roof top restaurant at the hotel offered complimentary drinks in the evening and great views of Istanbul and the sunsets. They offered free lunches also. The rooms were very nice and spacious.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neorion H, Guest Relations Manager at Neorion Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your precious reviews that you shared here regarding or hotel.
It is always a honour to host you here.
We hope we get the chance to host you here over again.
We are sending you our warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Stayed for three nights last week/weekend, and it was just superb. The welcome, the rooms, the food (breakfast was great and the mezze which you could eat from 1pm to 7pm every day was a lovely touch) the staff, the location and overall experience. My room was spotless and very comfy; the staff were on hand to help with any request or query you may have. Always smiling and friendly. I stayed on my own and felt very welcome. The terrace bar was an added attraction and it was very relaxing to sit and watch the skyline. I would say if you can stay here do...if I go back I would not stay any where else....

Room Tip: My room was at the front but all rooms are double glazed and there are earplugs left by each bed!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neorion H, Guest Relations Manager at Neorion Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your sharing regarding our hotel.
It is extremely nice to know about good comments regarding our hotel.
We will be pleasure to host you again on your next trips.
Best Regards from Neorion Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The Neorion is a small boutique hotel in the center of the old city. It is in a walking distance from the major sightseeing destinations. It is also near the stations of tram, subway, ferry, etc. Their rooms are very nice, their services are excellent. They provided us everything we asked for. Besides breakfast, they serve afternoon snacks which is substantial, almost like a supper. They have a lovely roof-top terrace which has a stunning 360 degree vista of the city and the sea. I cannot emphasize enough to recommend this gem of a hotel in Istanbul. I wish every city has a Neorion Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neorion H, Guest Relations Manager at Neorion Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your sharing regarding our hotel.
We are so happy to know you have been pleasure with the services of our hotel.
We will be pleased to have the honour of hosting you on your upcoming trips.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The place to stay in Istanbul!

We arrived exhausted at 4.40am 12hrs late due to flight cancellation the hotel was amazing! Upgraded room available on arrival did not charge us first night or transfers to/from hotel airport or cruise dock. Room lovely stay got better and better complimentary mezes at lunch and drink on terrace in the evening are lovely touches given to all guests. It would be hard to find nicer staff who emailed before and after our stay offering every assistance to make it memorable. Thank you Loreta and all the front office staff.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neorion H, Guest Relations Manager at Neorion Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your great experiences regarding our hotel.
It is quite happy to know you have been pleasure with your stay here.
We are looking forward to hosting you on your upcoming trips.
Best Regards From Neorion Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

It was so refreshing to stay at a hotel where you feel like a guest, rather then a client. Its all been said before, the rooms were wonderful, the staff amazing, and the location brilliant.
I would not stay anywhere else but here! Book it!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neorion H, Guest Relations Manager at Neorion Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for the precious reviews of you here.
It is so pleasing to see your definition regarding our hotel which is ''brilliant''
We have been really pleased you have been happy with our service.
Looking forward to hosting you on your upcoming trips.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Neorion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neorion Hotel

Address: Orhaniye Street No 14 | Sirkeci, Istanbul 34120, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 980 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Neorion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Neorion Hotel is at the very center of Istanbul's history and culture, ancient and modern. Named for Byzantium's grand port (see the map) on the Golden Horn, it welcomes visitors from around the world just as the port did in the great days of Constantinople. Neorion is more than a comfortable travelers' refuge in the heart of the city. It was conceived and designed to honor and reflect all of the cultures who have enriched the city and its empires. To stay here is to learn and enjoy the cultures, cuisines, arts and traditions of all the travelers who have come before you.The hotel's 53 guest rooms and suites bring the past to life, with all modern comforts. The swimming pool, Turkish bath, massage spa, cultural library, and museum-quality decorative arts are supplemented with complimentary fine arts musical performances, cuisine demonstrations and cultural events exclusively for hotel guests. Stay with us! Experience all of Istanbul, ancient and modern, right where you live, and just outside our door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Neorion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Neorion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.