We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great welcome and helpful staff in a well situated hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Neorion Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Neorion Hotel to your Saves list
Neorion Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Orhaniye Street No 14 | Sirkeci, Istanbul 34120, Turkey   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 944 Hotels in Istanbul
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great welcome and helpful staff in a well situated hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We arrived late having missed our flight and were offered a large glass of red wine each which was very welcome. It was local Turkish wine which was really nice and on seeing our enthusiasm for it, the receptionist offered us two extra complimentary glasses which were brought up to our room. There was also Turkish Delight at reception and when I said it was my father's favourite sweet back home, we were presented with the gift of a box of Turkish Delight to take home to him (this in addition to those "gifted" at departure). These small but uncalled for touches reflected the whole attitude of the staff who were welcoming, friendly and most helpful throughout our stay.

Breakfast was absolutely fine with a mixture of hot and cold foods and there was a meze selection available in the afternoon which was a bit more basic, but not charged for so very welcome when we were peckish on returning to the hotel.

The hotel is just off the main tram route and easily walkable distance to the tram stops and some of the big historical sites in the old town. A well positioned hotel for getting around.

Our room was clean and comfortable with no noise problems.

All in all, very worthy of the top rating on trip advisor.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boyaci, Owner at Neorion Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
My dearest guest,
I would like to thank you for your review about Neorion Hotel on tripadvisor.I appreciate your kind comments.
Do not forget us and please contact us if you need any kind of assistance about Istanbul or Turkey.
Hope to see you soon.
Best Wishes from Istanbul Neorion Hotel Family

Faruk Boyacı
Owner of the hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,891
    200
    18
    1
    2
See reviews for
450
1,042
123
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
The World
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We arrived at the airport at 5am in the morning after a long flight. The driver arranged by the hotel was waiting for us as we came into the arrivals hall without any complication. As soon as we arrived at the hotel we were told our room was ready for us and were offered a complimentary breakfast. Truely amazing!!!! The hotels interleading family room was exceptionally comfortable and spacious. All the staff go out of their way to make sure you are well taken care of. The hotel is very centrally located, with easy access to all the major sights.On the hotels recommendation we used a private tour guide - Bethul - to show us the sights. Spent a very interesting day with her. Well worth the money! I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to visit Istanbul!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boyaci, Owner at Neorion Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
My dearest guest,
I am Faruk Boyacı,the owner of the hotel, I would like to thank you for your review about Neorion Hotel on tripadvisor.I appreciate your kind comments.
Accepting you also as a member of Neorion Hotel Family, we will be very happy to host you with the same passion in Neorion Hotel when you come back to Istanbul.
Warm regards from Istanbul,

Faruk Boyacı
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

When the rating is as high as Neorion's, expectations may exceed the reality, right?! Well it wasn't the case during our 6-night stay. The hotel is new and beautifully appointed, service is excellent, location is perfect, breakfasts are tasty and varied, Turkish bath is excellent, ... do you want me to continue?!! The way how Mr. Faruk Boyaci, who owns this hotel and some excellent restaurants (Sirkeci Group Hotels and Restaurants: Hotel Orient Express (4 stars), Hotel Erboy (3 stars), Hotel Ilkay (3 stars), Sirkeci Konak and Neorion Hotel, my reviews about restaurants to come), runs his businesses is nothing but golden standard for hoteliers and restaurateurs.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boyaci, Owner at Neorion Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
My dearest guest,
I am Faruk Boyacı,the owner of the hotel, I would like to thank you for your review about Neorion Hotel on tripadvisor.I appreciate your kind comments.
Accepting you also as a member of Neorion Hotel Family, we will be very happy to host you with the same passion in Neorion Hotel when you come back to Istanbul.
Warm regards from Istanbul,

Faruk Boyacı
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This was one of those times that Trip Advisor was right on! This amazing little hotel does everything right! We spent New Year's there. The rooftop terrace was perfect for viewing the fireworks and they added the sparkling wine to boot. The food was always plentiful. The breakfast as well as the afternoon food was more than enough to fill you up all day, leaving only dinner to buy! The rooms are extremely comfortable and they even have a choice of the type of pillows you want. They have a nice pool and spa set-up as well. You cannot go wrong here. We walked everywhere, and it is right near the tram line for going anywhere further in the city. I will definitely stay here again. It is the best experience at a city hotel I have had in ages!

Room Tip: The rooms do not have views really and it does not matter! We never stayed in the room! The rooftop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boyaci, Owner at Neorion Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear my guest;
It was our great pleasure to host you in Istanbul, in our hotel.

Thank you for sharing your experinces with other people on this very important platform.

Hope to be together again.

Kind regards,

Faruk Boyaci - The Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We travel fairly frequently, and have never seen a hotel where customer service is such a high priority. We just returned from Istanbul after staying at Neorion Hotel for six nights during Christmas based on the exceptional TA reviews and I'm here to say they fully deserve their number one rating and more! This hotel is beyond perfection. Perfect location in the heart of the “old district” moreover the hotel location just a five minute walk from Hagia Sofia, the Blue Mosque and Topkapi Palace – all the “ must sees’ for first a time visitor.
They had a special with a free airport pick up for a 3 night or more stay. It was great to get in from such a long flight and have someone waiting for us with a car. The hotel was very welcoming. Before we went to our room we were met in the lobby by Ceyda, one of the hotel's well-informed customer service agents, who greeted us with a glass of wine and reviewed our plans that we had created for visiting the highlights of this beautiful city. Ceyda, Sirin and Merig offered priceless advice on how to maximize our time. Ceyda also arranged to reserve museum tickets. She helped us with restaurant recommendations and reservations as well as providing us with countless directions. On a scale of one to ten, Ceyda Sirin and Merig are a twenty! Most hotels have breakfast but not too many have complementary meze which is available from 1-7pm - a bowl of soup, a sandwich, bread and humus was just what was needed after countless hours of walking! Additionally, if you can arrange to pay in cash instead of by credit card, you can receive an 11% reduction on the room rate. Our room was very comfortable with down comforter and pillows and a full bath with tub and shower just what we had requested. There is a lovely little Turkish bath in the basement, with a steam room, sauna, Jacuzzi (not heated) and a pool.
We had taken advantage of the “ Turkish Experiences” that the sister Hotel, Sirkeci Konak was providing which included (all complimentary) 2 wonderful walking tours with Agah Okay and without him we would not have been able to go to the “ local places” that are not touristy. He was a really gem and most helpful! With Merve’s help we participated “Cooking and Learning Turkish cuisine”, “ Cheese and Wine Sampling and “ Drinking Raki like the local’s.” Again, the mantra was “make sure customer is happy at all times”.
We felt we could ask them anything - they were not only extremely friendly, but went the extra mile on each occasion. For example when we asked where to purchase over the counter medicine they offered to go and get them AND not charge us.
We would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Istanbul.

Room Tip: Room 502 had a lovely bath tub with a small balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boyaci, Owner at Neorion Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
My dearest guest,
I would like to thank you for your review about Neorion Hotel on tripadvisor.I appreciate your kind comments.
Do not forget us and please contact us if you need any kind of assistance about Istanbul or Turkey.
Hope to see you soon.
Best Wishes from Istanbul Neorion Hotel Family

Faruk Boyacı
Owner of the Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The Neorion lived up to all of the excellent reviews I had read about it. The hotel is incredibly clean and modern. It is not on the nicest looking street but it is in a great location - close to all the major sights and we always felt safe.

The breakfast was outstanding - cheeses, meats, eggs, fruit, yogurt, breads and even a frame of honeycomb. Ask for the Turkish tea to drink with your amazing breakfast. Also, breakfast goes late - until 11:00 which is good when you want to sleep in.

Also, every day from 1:00 pm until 7:00 pm there is a buffet of mezes for guests. It consists of several dips, bread, lentil soup, cucumbers, lettuce and tomatoes. There are some cookies and another dessert - the chocolate cake - was a favorite in my family. So as you can see, the hotel keeps their guests well fed.

My husband was quite happy with the in-room safe because it fit all of our laptops and other valuables. The small pool is perfect if you have small children and the spa is terrific for parents who need a massage!

We really enjoyed our stay at the Neorion. The entire staff was friendly and so accommodating. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boyaci, Owner at Neorion Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
My dearest guest,
I am Faruk Boyacı,the owner of the hotel, I would like to thank you for your review about Neorion Hotel on tripadvisor.I appreciate your kind comments.
Accepting you also as a member of Neorion Hotel Family, we will be very happy to host you with the same passion in Neorion Hotel when you come back to Istanbul.
Warm regards from Istanbul,

Faruk Boyacı
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We booked the Neorion on the basis of the tripadvisor reviews and what seemed a reasonable price, we weren't disappointed. Service was beyond criticism and although Istanbul is an amazing place it is fair to say the hotel made it better for us. They organised airport transfers, helped with advice on where and when to visit, recommended and booked for us restaurants... it was the complete package from a very high end operation. They are part of a group and one restaurant, Imbat, which was around the corner was fantastic. We left determined to come back. Only criticism was our room at the top back of the hotel could hear all the air conditioning units from a block opposite. Once we shut our window this wasn't a problem. In future we'd try a different side to the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boyaci, Owner at Neorion Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear my guest;
It was our great pleasure to host you in Istanbul, in our hotel.

Thank you for sharing your experinces with other people on this very important platform.

Hope to be together again.

Kind regards,

Faruk Boyaci - The Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Neorion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neorion Hotel

Address: Orhaniye Street No 14 | Sirkeci, Istanbul 34120, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 944 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Neorion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Neorion Hotel is at the very center of Istanbul's history and culture, ancient and modern. Named for Byzantium's grand port (see the map) on the Golden Horn, it welcomes visitors from around the world just as the port did in the great days of Constantinople. Neorion is more than a comfortable travelers' refuge in the heart of the city. It was conceived and designed to honor and reflect all of the cultures who have enriched the city and its empires. To stay here is to learn and enjoy the cultures, cuisines, arts and traditions of all the travelers who have come before you.The hotel's 53 guest rooms and suites bring the past to life, with all modern comforts. The swimming pool, Turkish bath, massage spa, cultural library, and museum-quality decorative arts are supplemented with complimentary fine arts musical performances, cuisine demonstrations and cultural events exclusively for hotel guests. Stay with us! Experience all of Istanbul, ancient and modern, right where you live, and just outside our door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Neorion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Neorion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.