We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Neorion Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Neorion Hotel to your Saves list
Neorion Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Orhaniye Street No 14 | Sirkeci, Istanbul 34120, Turkey   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 944 Hotels in Istanbul
Pittsburgh
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

We had a wonderfull 2 night stay here. Everyone was so nice and helpful before and after our arrival. We were a little disappointed in the size of our room and the high tub side made it hard to get in for a shower. Our friends stayed in 601 and it was fabulous. The rooftop terrace provided a great place for drinks at sundown. The breakfast was extensive and delicious. Over all a wonderful place

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boyaci, Owner at Neorion Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
My dearest guest,
I am Faruk Boyacı,the owner of the hotel, I would like to thank you for your review about Neorion Hotel on tripadvisor.I appreciate your kind comments.
Accepting you also as a member of Neorion Hotel Family, we will be very happy to host you with the same passion in Neorion Hotel when you come back to Istanbul.
Warm regards from Istanbul,

Faruk Boyacı
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,890
    200
    18
    1
    2
See reviews for
450
1,041
123
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

There are so many great reviews for this hotel that you wonder whether the reality will live up to the expectation, but it does and even more!
There's an initial personal emai following your online booking; a welcome drink on arrival together with an explanation of where you are and how to get to where you want to visit and they were happy to book and print tickets each morning on line so we didn't have to queue; modern well appointed rooms with tea/coffee making facilities; comfy beds, great pillows and safe. Close enough to walk to the spice market and Bosphorus for a great evening river trip in the one direction and up to the 'sights' the other way including Topkapi, Blue Mosque and Santa Sophia, and a little further was the main bazaar (huge).
There was a free running mezze from lunchtime to 6pm and a complimentary glass of wine on the roof terrace to watch the sunset. Really nice touches. The pool in the basement was great together with the Turkish Bath marble area. Breakfast buffet was good with chatty daily newsletter. . No restaurant in the hotel but plenty just close by - mix of local and tourist.

There's free wifi and a couple of PCs with WiFi near the breakfast area for general use.
All the staff were lovely; especially Elfan who looked after us so well.
We look forward to returning to the Neorion - probably one of the nicest hotels we've stayed in across the world. Thank you.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms have a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boyaci, Owner at Neorion Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
My dearest guest,
I would like to thank you for your review about Neorion Hotel on tripadvisor.I appreciate your kind comments.
Do not forget us and please contact us if you need any kind of assistance about Istanbul or Turkey.
Hope to see you soon.
Best Wishes from Istanbul Neorion Hotel Family,
Faruk Boyacı
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Friendly, professional and very helpful staff make this a hotel that is a pleasure to stay in. The main reason to visit Istanbul - a wonderfully vibrant city - is to see the historical attractions eg., Topkapi Palace, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar and their all within easy walking distance of the Neorion so makes the visit easy as well as enjoyable. Our room was good size with larger than average en-suite, complete with large shower and extremely clean. In-room tea & coffee making is always nice too. The staff gave us a warm welcome and talked us through a City map showing us exact locations of all the main sights including how best to get there. The sun-set complementary drinks on the extensive roof terrace were gratefully received too!

Room Tip: Top two floors; 5th & 6th are better as higher from street, although it is only a side street bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boyaci, Owner at Neorion Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
My dearest guest,
I would like to thank you for your review about Neorion Hotel on tripadvisor.I appreciate your kind comments.
Do not forget us and please contact us if you need any kind of assistance about Istanbul or Turkey.
Hope to see you soon.
Best Wishes from Istanbul Neorion Hotel Family

Faruk Boyacı
Owner of the Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

A beautifully designed small hotel in a great location in walking distance to all the main tourist sites. We arrived late afternoon and were welcomed with a drink and mezes. Then given a map with an overview of what to do and see. It was also the only hotel in our 3 week trip that confirmed our booking via email with a list of websites attached that related to Istanbul. The rooms were modern and well appointed with an ottoman influence. The beds were comfortable and the pillows were like sleeping on a cloud! The complimentary Turkish delight on the coffee table was a nice touch.
It was also very close to the ferries which can take you to the Asian side, a very cheap way to see the Bosphorous and the sea of Marmara. The breakfast was lovely with a little newsletter each morning providing information on different events and places to eat. The free glass of wine on the roof top terrace is a wonderful way to take photos of the setting sun. If you're staying more than 3 days I recommend the Museum pass which gives you access to quite a few museums and the Hagia Sophia and also lets you jump the queue. This was well worth it for the Hagia Sophia because the queue was about well over 100 metres long at 10am! (It was a Sunday).
Overall the Neorion lived up to the reviewsand the staff were excellent. They even gave us a parting gift. Great experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boyaci, Owner at Neorion Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
I would like to thank you for your review about Neorion Hotel on tripadvisor.I appreciate your kind comments.

I will be very happy to host you again in Istanbul or in Neorion Hotel when you come back.

Kind regards,

Faruk Boyacı
Owner of the hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed a week in this hotel and the staff, the service, and the cleanliness of the hotel were beyond compare. On my birthday three of the front desk staff came to our room with a beautiful cake, a gift, and singing Happy Birthday. It made my day. The staff bent over backwards to make sure we were satisfied with their service and any of their affiliated restaurants. We would recommend The Neorion to anyone who appreciates a five star hotel at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back of the hotel and there was no noise at all. Didn't hear the early mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boyaci, Owner at Neorion Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
My dearest guest,
I am Faruk Boyacı,the owner of the hotel, I would like to thank you for your review about Neorion Hotel on tripadvisor.I appreciate your kind comments.
Accepting you also as a member of Neorion Hotel Family, we will be very happy to host you with the same passion in Neorion Hotel when you come back to Istanbul.
Warm regards from Istanbul,

Faruk Boyacı
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I was skeptical about spending this much money on a hotel in Istanbul, since much cheaper accomdations exist. However, after having the pleasure of staying at Neorion, I am so glad we chose this hotel. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms and hotel are very clean and well maintained. Comfortable beds, in-room safe, tv, wifi, nice bathrooms, and more. The turkish bath and pool area in the basement is awesome. The breakfast and afternoon snack are both wonderful. The roof terrace is awesome! A few things to note: the rooms are very small, but this is typical in Istanbul and Europe in general. The free airport transfer was nice, but the driver was difficult to spot. (so are all drivers in Istanbul. look carefully for your driver when you arrive, there are many waiting) I wish the hotel had a full service restaurant and the wine they serve was not very good, but these are small concerns. This didn't really matter though, in this neighorhood there are tons of restaurants to choose from, and you can easily walk places or hop on the tram. I felt the Sirkeci neighborhood was absolutely ideal to stay in. There is a nice blend of tourist and local restaurants to choose from. You can easily walk to many of the big attractions in Istanbul from this location, and many other places are easily accessible by tram or train. If I return to Istanbul, I will likely stay again at Neorion. My only other advice is that you may want to pay a bit more for a room with a balcony. We stayed in one of their most affordable rooms, and we were a bit jealous when seeing the larger room with balcony across the hall. The price difference might be worth it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boyaci, Owner at Neorion Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
My dearest guest,
I would like to thank you for your review about Neorion Hotel on tripadvisor.I appreciate your kind comments.
Do not forget us and please contact us if you need any kind of assistance about Istanbul or Turkey.
Hope to see you soon.
Best Wishes from Istanbul Neorion Hotel Family

Faruk Boyacı
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I selected this hotel because of the positive Tripadvisor reviews it received, and it managed to surpass all of my expectations. We stayed 5 nights and had airport transfer (much appreciated!). The welcome on arrival (glass of wine, Concierge explaining everything to us, providing maps, etc.) was wonderful. All of the staff are young, enthusiastic and genuinely friendly. The location is brilliant - close to everything including the Tram which is easy to get the hang of. The rest of our stay was fantastic: perfect room, wonderful breakfast buffet, afternoon mezzes, wine on the rooftop each evening watching sunset over the Bosphorus. I had a Turkish bath and massage which I highly recommend. Check out their website for good eating locally ("Eating Around"). We ate at Pasazade and Cafe Mese and both were great.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boyaci, Owner at Neorion Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
My dearest guest,
I would like to thank you for your review about Neorion Hotel on tripadvisor.I appreciate your kind comments.
Do not forget us and please contact us if you need any kind of assistance about Istanbul or Turkey.
Hope to see you soon.
Best Wishes from Istanbul Neorion Hotel Family

Faruk Boyacı
Owner of the Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Neorion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neorion Hotel

Address: Orhaniye Street No 14 | Sirkeci, Istanbul 34120, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 944 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Neorion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Neorion Hotel is at the very center of Istanbul's history and culture, ancient and modern. Named for Byzantium's grand port (see the map) on the Golden Horn, it welcomes visitors from around the world just as the port did in the great days of Constantinople. Neorion is more than a comfortable travelers' refuge in the heart of the city. It was conceived and designed to honor and reflect all of the cultures who have enriched the city and its empires. To stay here is to learn and enjoy the cultures, cuisines, arts and traditions of all the travelers who have come before you.The hotel's 53 guest rooms and suites bring the past to life, with all modern comforts. The swimming pool, Turkish bath, massage spa, cultural library, and museum-quality decorative arts are supplemented with complimentary fine arts musical performances, cuisine demonstrations and cultural events exclusively for hotel guests. Stay with us! Experience all of Istanbul, ancient and modern, right where you live, and just outside our door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Neorion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Neorion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.