We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly fine, but no more.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sura Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sura Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Sura Hotel & Suites
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Divanyolu Cad. Alemdar Mah. Ticarethane Sok. No:45 Sultanahmetane Sk. No 45, Istanbul 34122, Turkey   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #162 of 980 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Perfectly fine, but no more.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The principal attraction of the Sura is its location - a short walk from the Blue Mosque, the Grand Bazaar etc. The hotel itself is fine - perfectly adequate, but nothing to write home about.

The check-in experience left something to be desired, with the clerk initially trying to get me to pay again for breakfast for my two night stay - a quick "That's not what my confirmation email says. Shall I check?" was sufficient to elicit a hasty retreat, but it felt like a try-on. (Incidentally breakfast itself was pretty average; not bad, just uninspiring).

My room (1st floor) was a reasonable size with a comfortable bed and with everything working. The design was a bit 'Vegas gaudy' - but if you like gold effect and you like mirrors all over the bathroom (and who doesn't like to sit on the toilet and check themselves out in a full size mirror a few feet away?) then you will love it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    158
    51
    15
    11
See reviews for
96
238
24
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

About 100mt away from the Main Street and noise, this was a fabulous stay. Beautiful design, has an absolutely amazing garden behind the building. Rooms are cozy and staff is very friendly. Kebabs at the restaurant (especially Pistachio kebab) are just delicious. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London,England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The room and 'balcony' was a major disappointment. Having paid extra for the deluxe double room with balcony, the first floor room (garden level) had no view due to a large thick hedge and made room dark. The balcony was just a 1 metre strip running along the back of the hotel ,each room separated by a small fence. The garden was completely obscured by the hedge. Within the room there was no cupboard space , just a hanging rail and shelf. The bathroom walls were glass with venetian blinds. I was told there was no other available room
if you have a usable balcony there is a problem with an ever present smell at the rear of the hotel. We were advised it was from the turkish bath.
The above was a great shame as the location of the hotel is excellent for all the sites and the staff in the breakfast room were friendly and efficient. Also omelettes and fried eggs were made to order.

Room Tip: AVOID deluxe garden view on first floor (it is garden level) as there is a tall thick hedge blocking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Having travelled to Istanbul several times previously, I highly recommend Sura Hotel and Suites. It is the perfect location for tourists and is literally less than a minutes walk from the Sultanahmet tram station and less than a 3 minute walk to the famed Blue Mosque and Aya Sofiya - it's location is almost perfect ("almost", as the hotel doesn't afford great views of the Blue Mosque and Mamaris/Bosphorus as other hotels in Sultanahmet do - but this is a very minor blemish).

The themed floors and rooms are a nice touch add enhance your stay in Istanbul as it adds to the Ottoman feel of Istanbul. The rooms are a very nice size and very clean, but the internet speed is a bit flaky.

Service during the day is great and that was mainly due to Kostatine in reception, however the bloke on the night shift had a lot to learn about being polite and courteous (maybe Kosta can give him some lessons).

Staff were also very accommodating in arranging a transfer from Ata Turk airport when I called them 5 hours before checkin and 3.5 hours before I was landing. I would recommend arranging your transfers with the hotel (they are expensive at €30 one-way, but this way you avoid the horror stories associated with transfers from Ata Turk airport).

The breakfast at Sura Hotel & Suites is also very decent but at €15 per person, you're better off eating at one of the many restaurants surrounding the hotel (you will be spoilt for choice at places to eat which are less than a 2 minute walk from the hotel).

In a nutshell, great hotel with a brilliant location that offers excellent value for money. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Splurging on a Deluxe Room with a balcony is not as good as it sounds as the balcony view is not all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed at Sura Design Hotel & Suites this June and we could not find any better! also booked it with Express2Travel, excellent recommendation! close to everything, even during the latest
Istanbul event we were still able to move around and no problems at all; good recommended hotel;Jamie

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

First and foremost, follow the advice stipulated by previous reviewers and take a MAP for the hotel location as the taxi driver was oblivious despite having a sat-nav running on his mobile..maybe multi-tasking wasn't his forte?!! Having booked Sura, primarily for its location i can say we weren't disappointed. Having got off to a shaky start as we were provided with a room contrary to what we had requested/confirmed prior to our stay, the issue was rectified the following afternoon (although reluctantly and subsequent to persistent pestering!). In terms of the hotel itself, i have stayed in 5* hotels with a far superior standard in terms of service and this extends to the breakfast also which i didn't bother getting up for following the first morning of our stay. The room was of a standard size and opt for the 'back' room and you will be overlooking the beautiful blue mosque amalgamated with a construction site and opt for the 'front' room and you gain a balcony (although small) and extremely agitated delivery drivers shouting and reversing at odd times during the course of the morning on occasions. I have rated Sura as 'Excellent' primarily for its location as mentioned earlier. Located on a charming and cosy little side street in the heart of Sultanahmet, you can avoid the tourist bustle yet have everything within walking distance if and when you want. It is so convenient, that at times me and my partner would drop by just to 'freshen up' in our room before we trotted off again on our travels! The tram station is on your doorstep so don't even bother haggling with taxi rates as we found this to be the ideal way to travel like most city breaks and don't be reluctant in requesting a 'tram map' from any station for those of you who like to be organised before you plan any excursions. For those of you (like myself) are in a sheer panic about the ongoing protests in Taksim Square, as residents in Sultanahmet we were not affected although it did impact on the tram system on a few occasions. Istanbul is one of the most beautiful cities in the world to visit and the location of Sura enhanced our stay on this occasion for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights in Sultanahmet, and Sura Hotel is in a great location 5 minute walk from Hagia Sophia and Blue Mosque. The hotel is located on a small street with lots of restaurants. You can also walk to the tram in two minutes or so. The hotel is very convenient.

Sura has fancy, swanky rooms and a nice lobby with horse statues. The room's bathroom does not have a lock; there are mini blinds in the bathroom, and you can pull it up to see into bedroom. Therefore, there's not much privacy and it's not sound proof. It maybe awkward if you are not very close to your rommate. The rain shower has a slight delay in temperature change so you may have hotter/colder water than intended. The free internet can be unstable at times.

Overall, I highly recommend Sura Hotel as it is perfectly located, and it has nice room decor. Whenever I'm in Sultanahmet again, I will definitely book Sura Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sura Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sura Hotel & Suites

Address: Divanyolu Cad. Alemdar Mah. Ticarethane Sok. No:45 Sultanahmetane Sk. No 45, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #162 of 980 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sura Hotel & Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sura Hotel is located in the Sultanahmet district,which still protects their authentic historical beauty all through the challenging years.The 60 innovative designed rooms and suites,welcomes you with the latest features in comfort and style for our guest's. Each place reflects fresh and contemporary style.This pure luxury hotel allows its guests a chance to discover the glorious historical places such as Topkapi Palace,Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and Grand Bazaar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Sura Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sura Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.