We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“decent value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bada Bing Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bada Bing Hostel to your Saves list
Bada Bing Hostel
Kemer Alti Cad. Serce Sok. No:6 Karakoy, Beyoglu, Istanbul 34425, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 849 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“decent value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We booked a private room with three beds, the room being opposite the main building. It was a perfectly fine stay; the room was clean (it was not cleaned during our 5 nights stay however) and the beds were fine too. We asked for an extra blanket on our first night and were immediately helped out. Everything in our room functioned well and it was quiet outside, so really there is no reason to complain. If you are however in search for something more snazzy, don't be fooled by the name! The Bada Bing is good value but it doesn't go beyond that.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    44
    23
    6
    3
See reviews for
2
33
40
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We we're looking for a hostel near centre of Istanbul with reasonable prices and Bada Bing turned out as a great choice. The staff was very helpful with advice, that didn't suggest only the most obvious take-a-photo-and move-on sights. After few nights we left the hostel and came back to catch our flight, but had some spare time and could leave the luggage in the hostel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Bada Bing is truly an excellent hostel. To begin, the staff is friendly, helpful and genuine. From the moment I began the booking process to checkout, the staff was always quick to respond with help while never once being misleading. Cleanliness is top priority for me, and this hostel has been the nicest I've experienced in Istanbul. The ten bedroom mixed dorm was spacious, clean and stocked with fresh linens. Each bed had its own respective built in locker to the bunk beds provided an extra level of personal security. The bathrooms for renters who are not staying in a private suite with a private bathroom are free to use bathrooms located on each floor do the hostel. The bathrooms are totally new and maintained very well. Although they are community bathrooms, guests will find it to be surprisingly private, with at least three stalls that have western toilets. The showers are private and spacious. I'd suggest you buy a pair of cheap bathroom sandals at a nearby market. I general, having bathroom sandals is a good rule of thumb when traveling and staying in Turkey. The breakfast offered is wonderful! The staff has utilized the top floor of their unit into an indoor/outdoor area where guests can enjoy rooftop view while eating a fantastic Turkish breakfast spread. Definitely take advantage of the breakfast. As for location, the hostel is in an area of the city that is seeing a rapid process of gentrification and restoration. As a frequent traveler in Istanbul, I personally enjoy the location. It is a short walk to ferry station to Karakoy (a really cool area on the Asian side of the city) and very near to the light rail tramway on the European side which gives you access to many areas (Golden Horn, Dolmabahce, etc.). I will admit that the hostel may feel a little hidden and the streets surrounding it are a little dark at night, but never once did I feel a loss of individual security. Again, this section of the city is up and coming. Overall, it's a fantastic place to stay. I cannot give anything less than excellent rating.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We had a great experience at Bada Bing! Although the location is not close to Hagia Sophia and the Blue Mosque and other museums, we really liked that it was just on the other side of the Galata Bridge and away from the busiest and most touristy areas. It would take about 20 mins to walk to the main touristy area but worth the walk and lots to see along the way. Or you can easily take the train/subway, which is a 5 min walk from Bada Bing. Bada Bing is also very close to the street Taksim, which has lots of shopping and is good for eating and drinking at night.

Staff were GREAT and always answered any questions we had. The owner had a drink with us one night and took us out on the main strip at night! Great value! Comfortable beds with lockers under each bed! Bathrooms were very clean and aesthetic! Nice indoor and outdoor rooftop area with comfortable seating. This area turns into a bar at night. Overall, we were very happy with our stay at Bada Bing and would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

You need to stay in this charming hostel located in Istanbul.

The people are friendly, the rooms are comfortable and the public areas are very pleasant to sympathize between employees and guests.

It is very close to the major tourist attractions, in addition to, you are having access to public transportation. You can also request to organize some tours and they are cheap!

I spent a memorable stay, you certainly will not be disappointed to discover this little corner of paradise!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The best hostel I've stayed in; one of the best out there. Not just in Istanbul, but in all of Europe. The staff are more than just helpful, they become your friends and will do anything for you. With a great rooftop bar/chill-out area playing sweet music and selling local beer/drinks at affordable prices, you'll find yourself tempted to spend a late afternoon kicking back and preparing for the nightlife to come. The rooms are clean and the location is excellent. I usually have at least some complaints, but not here. I felt compelled to write a review, which my laziness would not usually allow.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

First of all: I may got off on the wrong foot with this hostel, so I'll try to base this review on hard facts, nevertheless the soft facts where rather disappointing...

PRO
- location (perfectly fine if you don't want to stay in the touristy area, great access to tram, boat and metro is not that far either). Restaurants and the bars of beyoglu are within walking distance
- kitchen area
- hair dryer ( haven't seen these in shared bathrooms)
- services offered (e.g. they do pubtours, foodtours etc)
- value (for being in a city the charged rate was resonable)

CON
- paper-thin walls
- shared bathroom (looks all fancy with these mirrors and hairdryer etc but was never really clean, had not one papertowel for my hands, had about 80% of the time no toiletpaper, showerhead was broken)
- room (sheets had holes in it, alltough its fairly big there is no place to hang towels, no bin)
- breakfast (rather poor for turkish standard and usually half of the items where missing)
- cleanness (the floors smelled ugly, so did the bathroom and breakfast area - stayed 6 nights and never saw someone cleaning...)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bada Bing Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bada Bing Hostel

Address: Kemer Alti Cad. Serce Sok. No:6 Karakoy, Beyoglu, Istanbul 34425, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 849 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bada Bing's neighborhood is an up-and-coming area that gives travelers the best of both worlds: a central location that inspires effortless travel to Istanbul’s most worthy destinations. Its strategic locale is within walking distance of the real, modern, buzzing district of Taksim, and the awe-inspiring historical district of Sultanahmet. But if you want to sleep away from the overwhelm of Taksim’s nightlife and Sultanahmet’s hiked-up tourist prices, Bada Bing’s neighborhood is right for you. Wherever you choose to go on a given day, your journey will start in the heart of Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Bada Bing Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bada Bing Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bada Bing Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.