We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bada Bing Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Bada Bing Hostel to your Saves list
Bada Bing Hostel
Kemer Alti Cad. Serce Sok. No:6 Karakoy, Beyoglu, Istanbul 34425, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #108 of 873 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We had a great experience at Bada Bing! Although the location is not close to Hagia Sophia and the Blue Mosque and other museums, we really liked that it was just on the other side of the Galata Bridge and away from the busiest and most touristy areas. It would take about 20 mins to walk to the main touristy area but worth the walk and lots to see along the way. Or you can easily take the train/subway, which is a 5 min walk from Bada Bing. Bada Bing is also very close to the street Taksim, which has lots of shopping and is good for eating and drinking at night.

Staff were GREAT and always answered any questions we had. The owner had a drink with us one night and took us out on the main strip at night! Great value! Comfortable beds with lockers under each bed! Bathrooms were very clean and aesthetic! Nice indoor and outdoor rooftop area with comfortable seating. This area turns into a bar at night. Overall, we were very happy with our stay at Bada Bing and would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    44
    23
    6
    4
See reviews for
2
33
40
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

You need to stay in this charming hostel located in Istanbul.

The people are friendly, the rooms are comfortable and the public areas are very pleasant to sympathize between employees and guests.

It is very close to the major tourist attractions, in addition to, you are having access to public transportation. You can also request to organize some tours and they are cheap!

I spent a memorable stay, you certainly will not be disappointed to discover this little corner of paradise!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The best hostel I've stayed in; one of the best out there. Not just in Istanbul, but in all of Europe. The staff are more than just helpful, they become your friends and will do anything for you. With a great rooftop bar/chill-out area playing sweet music and selling local beer/drinks at affordable prices, you'll find yourself tempted to spend a late afternoon kicking back and preparing for the nightlife to come. The rooms are clean and the location is excellent. I usually have at least some complaints, but not here. I felt compelled to write a review, which my laziness would not usually allow.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

First of all: I may got off on the wrong foot with this hostel, so I'll try to base this review on hard facts, nevertheless the soft facts where rather disappointing...

PRO
- location (perfectly fine if you don't want to stay in the touristy area, great access to tram, boat and metro is not that far either). Restaurants and the bars of beyoglu are within walking distance
- kitchen area
- hair dryer ( haven't seen these in shared bathrooms)
- services offered (e.g. they do pubtours, foodtours etc)
- value (for being in a city the charged rate was resonable)

CON
- paper-thin walls
- shared bathroom (looks all fancy with these mirrors and hairdryer etc but was never really clean, had not one papertowel for my hands, had about 80% of the time no toiletpaper, showerhead was broken)
- room (sheets had holes in it, alltough its fairly big there is no place to hang towels, no bin)
- breakfast (rather poor for turkish standard and usually half of the items where missing)
- cleanness (the floors smelled ugly, so did the bathroom and breakfast area - stayed 6 nights and never saw someone cleaning...)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeju, South Korea
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Bada Bing has got to be one of the best hostels I have ever stayed in, initially I had planned to stay for 2 nights and then go on to couchsurf at a place I had lined up. After staying there for 2 days, I felt so much a part of the community that I decided to stay for the whole time I was in Istanbul. The staff are a big friendly bunch of people who are always around ready to help you and also wanting to know about your day and what you did. They aren't there just to run the place but they are also there to make you feel a part of the place and get to know you. The roof top terrace is one of the best things about this place, there were lots of bean bags and every night we would all just chill up there in a big circle, chatting with music in the background. I stayed in Istanbul for 7 days and the Bada Bing staff and backpackers became my home away from home, a stable, fun, nice, friendly community of friends. It really made my time in Istanbul really amazing, I will miss the place and the people there!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The owners of Bada Bing welcomed us in a energetic and generous way, despite rebuildings and low season (we visited Istanbul in the end of February). We felt taken car of and could enjoy the brand new rooms in the new building with hotel feeling. The hostel is well positioned in the centre of Istnabul with walking distance, and our stay was in all ways a great one! Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed in a private room with shared a shared bathroom for 6 nights.
The staff at the hostel were extremely helpful and upon arrival gave us a map and brief intro into the sights of Istanbul, tips about really good places and local amenities.
Location is great - supermarket just round the corner as well as lots of places to eat & tramline. Its also smack bang in between the historical district and the new district so it is not too far to walk to either and you can see lots on the way!
Our room was great, comfy bed, not too small, enough storage - though we would recommend bring a sleep mask if light bothers you as the curtains were white and ear plugs - as it is a city and the walls seemed very thin!
Breakfast was great - buffet style with cucumber, tomatoes, various cheese, olives, meats, cereal (with yogurt not milk), hot drinks, cold drinks - it seemed very Turkish style!
The only reason it was very good rather than excellent was a few small maintenance issues - bathroom needed more stocking, cracked bathroom counter and some holes in our bed sheets (as well as the light curtains & thin walls) - but these did not deter from our stay too much, especially considering the price, and we would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bada Bing Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bada Bing Hostel

Address: Kemer Alti Cad. Serce Sok. No:6 Karakoy, Beyoglu, Istanbul 34425, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 873 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bada Bing's neighborhood is an up-and-coming area that gives travelers the best of both worlds: a central location that inspires effortless travel to Istanbul’s most worthy destinations. Its strategic locale is within walking distance of the real, modern, buzzing district of Taksim, and the awe-inspiring historical district of Sultanahmet. But if you want to sleep away from the overwhelm of Taksim’s nightlife and Sultanahmet’s hiked-up tourist prices, Bada Bing’s neighborhood is right for you. Wherever you choose to go on a given day, your journey will start in the heart of Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Bada Bing Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bada Bing Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bada Bing Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.