We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly hotel located in a quiet part of Istanbul” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Istanbul Etiler

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Le Meridien Istanbul Etiler to your Saves list
Le Meridien Istanbul Etiler
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cengiz Topel Cad. No:39 Etiler, Besiktas, Istanbul 34337, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #118 of 979 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Seoul, Seoul, South Korea
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly hotel located in a quiet part of Istanbul”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Recently spent two nights at the Le Meridien Istanbul to attend a business conference and was pleasently surprised by the hotel.

The rooms were well cleaned, spacious and the beds were extremely comfortable. Gimmicks like the iPhone dock speaker were also nice to enjoy when winding down after a full day of conference.

The staff was courteous, especially the concierge as the person was well informed and ready to provide advice on various aspects regarding Istanbul.

Location wise, it is quite a trip to the tourist attractions (30-40 mins depending on traffic), but it is located in a quiet neighborhood so for those wanting to avoid the crowded streets, this might be the hotel you're looking for.

Room Tip: Always have your SPG card ready. They upgraded me to a room w/ a terrace, even though I'm not ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LM-Istanbul-Etiler, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien Istanbul Etiler, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Sukil Y,

Thank you very much for sharing your positive experience with us.

We very much enjoy catering our Starwood Preferred Guest members at Le Méridien Istanbul Etiler so we were delighted to read that you have fully utilized the benefits of your membership.

Your lovely feedback has been shared with our concierge and was trully appreciated. We look forward to future opportunities to welcome you back for many other memorable experiences.

With kindest regards,

Elif Aydınlıgil
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    105
    27
    6
    5
See reviews for
41
85
19
158
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
lebanon
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Very nice and trendy rooms. Front desk team was really nice. Clean rooms.spacious. Friendly staff.its located in a remote calm area very business oriented hotel. Far from attractions I would definitely stay there again and reccomend it. Breakfast buffet is generous
Very nice and trendy rooms. Front desk team was really nice. Clean rooms.spacious. Friendly staff.its located in a remote calm area very business oriented hotel. Far from attractions I would definitely stay there again and reccomend it. Breakfast buffet is generous

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LM-Istanbul-Etiler, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien Istanbul Etiler, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear LebanonLittle,

We very much appreciated your lovely comments regarding our front desk staff in particular and our Le Méridien team.

Our hotel stands out as an attractive destination both for business travellers and also for the curious visitor who would like to discover the essence of this beautiful city that derives from the many diverse attributes it holds within.

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us and we hope to welcome you back again.


Kindest regards,


Elif Aydınlıgil
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I stayed at the Le Meridien Istanbul Etilier for 2 nights and would recommend it to anyone who is looking to unwind in style in Istanbul. The hotel is quite new and it shows. Not only does the decor look new, it smells new (in a fresh way) and the attention to detail in the design is evident. For example, the playlist in the hotel's public areas changes 4 times a day according to the time of day. The unmistakable architecture is stunning from the outside and the interior matches this high standard.

The hotel's public areas are spacious and well planned, with colours and interior design that impresses but does not overwhelm. The amenities are fantastic, with both an indoor lap pool and jacuzzi and an outdoor pool surrounded by mediterranean furniture and decor. The pool area sits conveniently outside the al fresco restaurant but you can also order and eat poolside. The gym is well maintained and includes gym staples, and a studio area equipped for boxing and a pliates reformer machine. The hotel provides free Wi-Fi in the public areas, including the pool, gym and meeting/business areas.

I stayed in a Delxue room, which was spacious for 1 or 2 people. The room was spotless and the lighting well thought out, with a Turkish touch. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom has a separate shower stall and toilet. There is also a generous bathtub and sink area. There is a pin encoded safe in wadrobe of a good size and an iPod dock sound system. The only minor disappointment was that some of the universal channels that are supposed to be available in multiple languages (such as National Geographic) was only in Turkish, but this did not effect my impression of the hotel.

The menu at the hotel is reasonably extensive and the food quality is good, but a little on the pricey side. The availability of different menus throughout the day makes a difference if you do not spend part (or all) of the day in the tourist or more populated areas. The buffet breakfast is worth its price and there is a wide range of spreads on offer. Etiler, where the hotel is located, is an exclusive residential part of the city so there are not many eateries in the area. Taxis are plentiful and the hotel is not far from a number of local attractions and places, or even just to the closest Metro train line, which is Levent. However, if you want to stay in the thick of action such as the Taksim or Sultanamet area, this hotel may not be for you.

The service at the hotel was great, from check in to the restaurant and the staff exemplifies the friendly Turkish service. I would definitely return to this hotel and highly recommend it for people who enjoy an urban chic getaway in a quieter part of a city that is brimming with action.

Room Tip: The brekfast buffet is great value for money, especially if the weather is sunny and you can sit poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LM-Istanbul-Etiler, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien Istanbul Etiler, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear jaffa_fella,

Thank you very much for your most detailed and affirmative review. We trully enjoyed walking trough our hotel and services from your perspective and shared your lovely comments with our team.
As you have also kindly poined out, our brand new property is in itself a destination that gives our guests an opportunity to explore the unique scenes and hidden characteristics that Istanbul offers.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon and wish you all the best until we meet again.

Warmest regards,

Elif Aydınlıgil
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

I arrived at the hotel at 2:30am with my boss, the night before a conference we were attending at the same hotel. 30-31 May 2013.

We booked the rooms well in advance on 11 March 2013 through booking.com.

When we arrived, the night staff explained there was a problem: the hotel was completely sold out due to some local minister/governor who had extended his stay. They only had one room and not the two we had booked. Naturally, and with the thought of having yo get up 4 hours later for our conference start, we were not impressed at all! The whole point of booking this hotel was to be on the spot for the conference which started at 7am each of the two days.

My boss was told they had made alternative arrangements for him to stay at the InterContinental supposedly 5-10mn away, which he had not much choice but to accept, and they would give him a suite upgrade the next day when the hotel wouldn't be sold out anymore. He set off in a cab which took another 30mns.

I, in the meantime headed up to my room, which seemed clean enough, except a half roll of toilet paper was left randomly on the bathroom sink vanity counter.

The room was way too hot! 26 degrees C, when the outside temperature was 20! I was tired, had to get up in 3 hours time for the conference downstairs and didn't have time to figure out the complex Air Conditioning control. I set te thermostat to 17,5 C and still it reverted back to 26C. Annoyed there were no instructions on how to operate anything in the room, I called the front desk to ask for a technician to come up and fix it. 10mn later still nobody. I called the front desk again to ask where they were and eventually, 5 more minutes later, he turned up. He looked at it, did exactly what i had and said he didn't speak any english. He left assuring me it was working and clearly it didn't. I went to bed resigned to the fact i would be spending a hot and sticky night...not a good impression after all the previous problems on arrival and considering the hotel was only 1,5 years old.

The room eventually cooled aroud 6am but not much use to me as i had to get up.

The next problem i noticed was the shower leaked very badly into the toilet cubible adjacent to it. Half a centimeter of water flooded all around the toilet after each shower...someone clearly hasn't sealed the glass paneling around it.

Anyhow, I never got a proper apology from management for the problems and only offered a small bottle of wine and fruit platter on the day I had to check out which wasn't much use to me. A room with working a/c and non-leaking shower would have been a lot more useful.

Certainly won't ever stay there again, and Starwood Hotels really need to up their game. Not acceptable for a 5 star business hotel...oh and free wifi in the room or at least the lobby area without needing some stupid password would be appreciated...this is a business hotel after all...

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LM-Istanbul-Etiler, General Manager at Le Meridien Istanbul Etiler, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear JRM1980,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments regarding to your stay at Le Méridien Istanbul Etiler. We sincerely apologise that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. Please rest assure that we have looked into every area you referred to rectify our service delivery.

Therefore we had already decided to exchange all A/C temperature regulation devices over the next few months for an enhanced guest usage and a more efficient temperature outcome.

We certainly understand that your last experience was shadowed by those technical imperfections but we wish that the experience will not deter you from choosing Le Méridien Istanbul Etiler once more to welcome you back for a an inspiring and positive stay with us. We are determined to reveal an impeccable service experience upon your next visit to Istanbul as this is what are dedicated and passionate about.

Kind regards,

Sabine Dorn Aglagul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

hotel is beautiful and your room key gets you free access to Istanbul's modern art museum. unfortunately when we were there the entire phone system was down. there was no compensation, apology, or explanation of the situation - i found out when i tried to use the phone in my room, then in the hallway, and finally went down to the front desk who confirmed all phones were down and had been for 2 days and they might be fixed later that night. hotel also tried to charge us a 'no show' charge for an error on our reservation, but this error happened when their phones were down so the error was on their end. we only stayed one night and left. there is not much in the area - no cafe on the street or anything like that. the helper staff (bell boy, food delivery) was nice, helpful, friendly. overall i thought it was beautiful - you could definitely tell that a designer had created the layout and decorations, but the service was poor and they didn't seem to care how our stay was going or what was fair, so that left a sour taste in my mouth. i would not go back or recommend it to others. hallway and elevator had music playing (sounded like English top 40 kind of songs)

Room Tip: beautiful hotel but poor location and hotel staff was more interested in taking money than making su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LM-Istanbul-Etiler, Front Office Manager at Le Meridien Istanbul Etiler, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at Le Meridien Etiler. Your comments are really helpful for the entire Le Meridien team and encourage us to improve our services.

We regret to learn about the numerous unpleasant experiences throughout your stay.Since the reservation that you made was Non-refundable we were not able to cancel your first night. We also understand your concern in regards to the unfortunate occasion on phone system at that time.That was unexpected situation and was sorted out immediately.

Once again thank you for choosing to stay at Le Meridien Etiler and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can assist to ensure your next visit to be more comfortable and enjoying.

Best regards,

Mehmet Kasdan
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

LOCATION: As other reviewers have mentioned, the hotel is not ideally positioned if you want to be able to walk out of your doorstep and be within minutes walk of the more touristy areas around Sultanahmet, Taksim , Ortakoy, etc. However, if you are on a longer trip and don't mind hoping into a taxi for 10-15 minute rides, then it makes a pretty good base for seeing more of Istanbul. Nisantasi is no more than 10 minutes away, the Bebek stretch of Bosphorus cafes is even less than that. You can quickly cross over to the Asian side (provided you go the time of day when the bridge traffic hasn't ground to a halt), and you can go further afield to residential areas and the swanky Istiniye mall. Getting to the airport is also not too bad - takes about 45 minutes if you don't run into major traffic on the ring road. That being said, if this is your first time in Istanbul and you only have a couple of days, you may end up feeling that you've wasting time shuttling back and forth. For me the location works very well at the price point that they offer compared to the other 5 stars in Istanbul - I like getting off the tourist track, and Istanbul is such a mammoth city that you're bound to need a taxi to move around.

ROOMS: We were upgraded to one of their residential suites on the 28th floor and found it to be absolutely lovely. It was really well designed with a spacious walk in closet and lovely bathroom, and had enough personality in the interiors to make it stand out. The bed is comfortable, and the bathroom had the widest range of amenities I'd seen in a long time including mouthwash and a loofah. One of the best parts of the suite was the huge balcony with panoramic views across much of Istanbul - from our side we had a view towards Levent with it's high rises, but also got glimpses of the Bosphorus and some of the lovely houses on the slopes of the Asian side.

SERVICE: As almost everywhere across Turkey, we found the staff to be friendly; people greet you with a smile, and come across as genuinely helpful. As we were on the last leg of a trip celebrating an anniversary, we not only got upgraded to a suite, but were also greeted by strawberries and champagne in the room. The loveliest personal touch was a card signed by more than 10 staff members wishing us a happy anniversary. We did have an unfortunate service lapse in their lobby bar where we ended up waiting 45 minutes for club sandwiches that finally arrived not as we had ordered them (we had asked for brown bread and no mayo); the staff here seemed a bit under-trained and unable to react quickly.

In a nutshell, I am very likely to stop over again, especially for a longer stay as then the price advantage will really kick in.

Room Tip: My guess is that there are a section of rooms that primarily look out onto the ring road - I'd a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LM-Istanbul-Etiler, Adminisrative Office at Le Meridien Istanbul Etiler, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Cookie,

We are happy to read your pleasant comments about our rooms and staff.

Regarding location as you have mentioned, a taxi is always convenient in Istanbul as it is also very decent in price.

We would like to thank you for your comments about our service and we see this as the biggest opportunities to improve our services to the highest level.

Hope to welcome you soon,

Best Regards,

Administrative Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

a very good hotel for business trip. The location is not at all convenient to visit the city of Istanbul because it is far from anything, but very pratical if you need to move from european side to asian side.
Very good standard of cumfort and design, very nice view on city and bosphore from the bedrooms and amazing bar on the roof.

BUT ! staff is not professional and not welcoming. They may be even rude, never smiling and not trying to help you in a pleasant way.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view on Bosphorus
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LM-Istanbul-Etiler, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien Istanbul Etiler, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Nicrag,

We were saddened to read that you had a dissappointing impression of our staff. Please rest assured that Le Méridien Istanbul Etiler team members are selected for their passion in delivering a genuine and high level of service. We all enthusiastically believe this to be the most vital attribute of a hotelier and an indispensable ingredient for the success of any hotel. In this light, please accept our sincere apologies for letting you down on this matter.

We do hope to host you again very soon and create a new and most positive memory for you.

With warmest regards,

Elif Aydınlıgil
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Meridien Istanbul Etiler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Istanbul Etiler

Address: Cengiz Topel Cad. No:39 Etiler, Besiktas, Istanbul 34337, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 979 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Istanbul Etiler 5*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising 34 stories in Istanbul’s prestigious Etiler district, Le Méridien Istanbul Etiler will be one of the city’s most impressive contemporary landmarks. Featuring a modern design with panoramic views of the Bosphorous and the city, the hotel is conveniently located along the TEM Motorway and Fatih Sultan Mehmet Bridge. 259 rooms including 18 Residential Suites of sophistication and elegance with floor-to-ceiling windows that frame breathtaking views of the cityscape and Bosphorus. A club lounge on the 14th floor provides comfort and luxury. Hotel's restaurant promises the ultimate dining and the Roof Bar puts you on top of Istanbul. Seven stylish meeting rooms, two VIP boardrooms and a Ballroom with private foyer feature among Le Meridien Istanbul Etiler's more than 2000 square metres of conference space. For contemplation and vitalization the Explore SPA & Fitness with Steam Rooms, Sauna, Jacuzzi, Hammam and 8 treatment rooms as well as an Indoor & Heated Outdoor pool are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Meridien Istanbul Etiler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Istanbul Etiler, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.