We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“does the job but not impressive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Altunizade

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Altunizade to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Altunizade
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Oymaci Sok. No:18 Altunizade, Uskudar, Istanbul 34662, Turkey   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #214 of 769 Istanbul B&B and Inns
UK
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“does the job but not impressive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This hotel was chosen for its location - not for the tourist sights but for the ease of getting to the conference I was attending.

The hotel is new, quiet and tucked away. Reception was pleasant, as were staff but with little spoken English (not that it mattered). Free wifi using passport number - I now remember mine off by heart. The room was clean and good enough - I asked for quiet but had not reckonned on the 5am call to prayer - next night I wore earplugs and friends in other rooms said they slept through it second time. Pleased to tea making set in room, together with 2 small batches of water. Breakfast was OK.

Short walk to the main local area - take the quiet route by turning right when leaving, then sharp left and a walk, the left again. Then a bus down to the ferry at Üsküdar - I walked first time, all down hill, to get a flavour of the place. Helpful Information Kiosk at Üsküdar meant that I bought the Istanbulkart - which is very convenient as well as cheaper for the ferries, metro and busses.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Altunizade, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear Strollerman,

We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment. Once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    21
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
8
12
1
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This is a long way from prime tourist areas (especially in Istanbul traffic). But it's convenient for the universities around it, and it has sufficient services around it. Your taxi driver will have a hard time finding it. Rail and bus from the Airport is doable but with a hike at the end. Rooms are very large but sparsely furnished. What furniture there is is modern and comfortable. Breakfast is good. Big modern shopping mall is walking distance. Staff is very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

we arrived late at night after driving from airport, staff were great an got us settled inn right away. we got drinks to take up to the room after a little language barrier. We were starving an asked about food which they arranged from nearby Dominos. Breakfast was good and they looked after our bags after check out so that we could go site seeing. all in all a great little hotel

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed at this hotel on business.Breakfast had the basics, cereals, yoghurt, cold meats and cheeses, tea coffee, fruit juice. Limited hot food.Room was very good, clean, although TV channel choice poor.Walls are thin, slight noise from adjacent rooms.Free wifi.
Hotel could have benefited from having some choice of food in evening, although the Capitol shopping mall is only 5 minutes walk away with good restaurant, The Kitchinette. No alcohol in hotel, and even when brought a couple of bottles back,could only drink in smoking area.Not allowed to eat food in lobby at the tables.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

i stayed there for a night and room was not cleaned properly. there was a bed smell in the room and i had a chance to hear what is going on in the next room. Once the guest goes to the toilet in next room you can hear it. bathroom was not very clean. I had to order towels for two times because there was non in the room. I ordered twice because the fırts whıch they gave me was dirty and old looking.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

Perfectly clean. İdeal for b&b accomodation with basic services. The building was not designed as hotel, the rooms are separated with a door or with a thin wall that you can hear and feel every simple activity of your neighboor. Breakfast is simple and ok.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We visited Istanbul on November 2011... We stayed at holiday inn express, the staff here are very decent and polite and extremely helpful. The hotel is small but very neat and clean, breakfast is also nice and clean. Room smells really nice. Great value hotel. Walking distant one can take a taxi and go to uskudar ferry station for just 9 or max 10 liras take a ferry and go to all tourist destination. It is very close to some university and so it is easy to find ( they pronounce it BASHKENT university) I highly recommend this hotel you will surely not regret. May be they can improve the quality of toiletries. I love Istanbul I'll surely come back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Altunizade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Altunizade

Address: Oymaci Sok. No:18 Altunizade, Uskudar, Istanbul 34662, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #214 of 769 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Altunizade 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Altunizade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Altunizade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.