We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an amazing experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Minel Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Minel Hotel to your Saves list
Minel Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Alemdar Mah. Guzel Sanatlar Sok. No:11 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34121, Turkey (Sultanahmet - Old City)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #115 of 945 Hotels in Istanbul
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What an amazing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This was one of the best places I ever stayed. The Hotel is very nice, very well situated, the rooms are very clean, with air conditioning and all the conditions you may need.
The staff is amazing - I was always invited to drink a cofee or a tea when arriving. Cakes, fresh water. etc... The breakfast is also very nice and with big variety. I would recommend this hotel to anyone that want to visit istambul. It is much better than other 4 or 5 Stars that I used. Congratulations for the reward. Very well deserved.
Regards!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    107
    25
    3
    2
See reviews for
54
178
49
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Minel Hotel is very well located, in a quiet street near to Blue Mosque, Sainte-Sophie, Topkapi Palace, and tram stop.
Staff is very friendly and always ready to help. Rooms are rather small but well organized.
Very good breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I stayed at Minel Hotel for 10 days from 12-21 June. You can't do better for budget accommodation. The location is perfect, you are walking distance from all the main attractions and the tram is around the corner. The ticketing system is great, it was very easy to get anywhere I wanted to go. The staff at Minel are all very welcoming especially Irfan who always does his best to make sure the guests enjoy their stay. The breakfast was always fantastic. Irfan and Zara the cat really made Minel a home away from home. Would recommend highly for solo travellers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kumasi, Ghana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at the Minel from 9-13 July and were very pleased with our choice. It is close to the topmost attractions in Istanbul, a mere 3-5 minutes walk to the Archaeological Museum, the Aya (Hagia) Sofia, the Topkapi Palace, Sultanahmet Square and the Blue mosque. Gulhane Tram Station and one other (I forget the name) are also within this radius, as are numerous eateries, bureaux de change and the starting point for the Big Bus Co. The sea is not much farther away, still well within walking distance (which makes it easy to do a Bosphorus tour). You also feel very safe, with the police post only some 2-3 minutes away.

Irfan (the young manager) is excellent company and very helpful. He hands you an annotated map on arrival and will patiently answer any questions or make you a free cuppa whenever you want one. We had to leave our heavy bags behind while catching a domestic (minimal baggage) flight for Izmir (for the Ephesus excavations) and Irfan kindly brought our bags over to Ataturk Airport when we returned from Izmir, on our way out of Turkey. Really helpful.

Minel's buffet breakfast has a good spread of fruits, salads, cheeses, yogurt, breads and meats. However, it goes cold very quickly (because of a large fan), so it's best to get there at 8:00, as soon as breakfast is ready.

We would certainly stay at Minel again if we returned to Istanbul and recommend this place highly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

You really couldn't do better for a budget accommodation. The location is perfect, right in the heart of the old part of the city where all the main attractions are. Do stay in the old city, it is certainly worth it to get the real feel of ancient Istanbul. If you get tired at the end of the day or want to venture further afield, the tram is also around the corner and is simple to negotiate. We used the tram exclusively (besides walking) and found them easy to understand, very frequently and a simple ticketing system.

The hotel is budget but the rooms are clean and you have free wi-fi in the rooms and breakfast is included which was quite decent. You can also get tea or coffee in the reception room any time of the day complimentary. One of the hotel reception guys speaks really good English which was helpful. He also gave us a good map, showed the attractions and had another sheet showing the opening times and closed days for them which is handy.

Would recommend highly for a good budget hotel.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My friends and I stayed in the hotel for 6 nights. It became a home away from home where all of us felt so comfortable in that we were never homesick. From day one the receptionist, Irfan greeted us with comfort and we were took away by his generosity when he gave us Turkish liras to get ourselves food late in the night. The hotel was in an ideal location, just a 5 minute walk away from Blue Mosque and a 2 minute walk away from Gulhane Tram Station. Our rooms were small; however we expected that from reading the descriptions of the rooms. The showers were amazing with warm water at whatever time in the day or night and the breakfast was always freshly prepared for us every morning. We had the opportunity to sit outside for our breakfast too in the warm heat which is always a delight compared to the British weather! We stayed 6 nights in total and as a group of friends we had no problem at all, simple due to Irfan. He made sure we had everything and by the end of the 6 nights we become very good friends with him. His English is very good for a foreigner so he will be able to guide you to wherever you ask and even go the extra mile like he did with us. I honestly believe that the hotel runs so well simply due to Irfan’s hard work and commitment to the hotel. I will definitely return back to the hotel no doubt and would like to say a special thank you to Irfan for his hospitality and kindness throughout our holiday. Hope Minel Hotel remains to carry a fantastic reputation and others experience an amazing holiday like we did. Istanbul is DEFINITALY the place to be!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My friend and I stayed in Istanbul for four nights. As two 20 year old women, safety was an important concern, and so the hotel's faultless locations was ideal. It is within 5 minutes of many major sights, e.g. Hagia Sofia, Blue Mosque and Topkapi Palace, and is tucked away on a little side street making it feel safe and enclosed.
The rooms are quite small and basic but more than adequate - everything is modern and comfortable. Irfan, the hotel manager, was a complete delight and really made our visit, with him help and recommendations, as well as general friendly chat. The other staff were also very sweet, although communication was difficult. Breakfast was great - we filled ourselves up with fresh fruit, yoghurt, omlettes, breads and cakes, meaning we didn't need to eat again until dinner.
I think you would struggle to find anywhere better for location, charm, and value for money. I will definitely be recommending Minel to friends and family, and will stay again if (when!) I go back to Istanbul.

Room Tip: Walls are very thin, so it is worth bringing ear plugs and guests in neighbouring rooms may keep you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Minel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minel Hotel

Address: Alemdar Mah. Guzel Sanatlar Sok. No:11 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34121, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet - Old City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 945 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Minel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a fresh, modern and elegant hotel nestled within awe inspiring and unparalleled surroundings of Sultanahmet. We are a small hotel designed with tastefully decorated rooms with your personal needs in mind. You will find yourself immersed in a truly unique and magical atmosphere, providing outstanding Turkish hospitably to make you feel at home.In the heart of the oldest part of the city, you will enjoy simple but elegantly appointed rooms, wake up to a fresh Turkish buffet breakfast and can take a morning walk or run in the Gulhane Park where you will feel like you are in the forest, but in the heart of the city. From our doorstep you can take a stroll on cobblestone streets and enjoy the most fascinating and historically important areas of the worlds great cities. The looming architecture of the famous Aya Sophia, the historical Topkapi Palace, and the eloquent Blue Mosque and Basilica Cistern all within a 2 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Minel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Minel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.