We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ayasultan Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ayasultan Hotel to your Saves list
Ayasultan Hotel
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Alemdar Mah. Catalcesme Sok. No:26 Eminonu/Cagaloglu, Fatih, Istanbul 34110, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #215 of 829 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Adelaide, South Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Lovable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I loved this small, modern hotel in the heart of Sultan Ahmet. Our first floor room was small but comfortable. Décor is subdued. The breakfast bar was more than ample and has a great view. The staff went out of their way to help us and provided a very early breakfast in the comfortable lobby before we departed on a tour. Good English was spoken.There are more eateries than one could ever sample in the immediate vicinity (try The Anatolian). The hotel is conveniently located in relation to the major tourist attractions. Grizzles: lighting too dim in the room; nothing to sit on in the room eg a chair!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    70
    25
    14
    5
See reviews for
30
53
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

First impressions were that the hotel is a little tired and could do with some TLC. There were scuffs on the walls and the carpet was stained, the bathroom had an unpleasant drain smell at times.

Apart from that, the location of the hotel is excellent. Last year we stayed in Taksim which was great but wanted to five the other side a try. I'd say that this hotel's location is among the best. The breakfast on the roof terrace is very good and has a lovely view. Apart from the negatives above, the rooms were comfortable and had great air conditioning. The staff were pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed three nights at the Ayasultan and loved its location, its super breakfasts, the view from the rooftop terrace and more. Its a three minute stroll to the tram stop and surrounded by restaurants that offer good food at a reasonable price. (Head further away for a more local price) The Blue Mosque, Ayasofya and Topkapi Palace is just a spit down the road.

Our room was comfortable, quiet and clean. The desk staff on our first day in particular were really helpful. The B team took over after that. Wifi was rock solid. Good value for money hotel.

Room Tip: 5th floor was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Comfortable and friendly hotel ideal for exploring Istanbul. Close to the Blue Mosque, Basillica Cistern and a wealth of local restaurants. Breakfast very reasonable and although the dining room is small it provides some stunning views over the city. The tramway is also just a short walk away once Istanbul has walked your feet off! All in all and unless you want to spend a fortune for unnecessary luxury during a city visit, the Ayasultan Hotel provided a very pleasant, clean and welcoming base for our first visit to Istanbul and we would certainly use it again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda Maryland
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were here for 4 nights. 5 th floor room very quiet. Very very nice staff although many have very limited English or other languages. We had a view of the Bosporus from our room. Nice bed, lovely bath. Only jarring note was "liquid concentrate" coffee at breakfast. This is Turkey , famous for coffee. WiFI worked very well .

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room and it was just that .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Pleasant and helpful staff, the room was clean, if not in prime condition. However, everything worked as it should and we slept well before enjoying a simple breakfast on the roof. Location in the middle of the Sultanahmet "old town" of Istanbul and walking distance to all the main sights and the tram (goodness knows how the traffic functions at all, there are so many cars on the road). Not luxury, but excellent base from which to operate.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We had a few minor issues with noise, lack of hot water and wireless signal, all of which were fixed immediately, and none of which could dampen our pleasure at the stunning location (thirty seconds walk from the Sultanahmet tram stop, three minutes to the Aya Sophia and less than ten to the Grand Bazaar), pleasant staff or amazing low price.

If you are not looking for luxury we would happily recommend the Ayasultan Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ayasultan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayasultan Hotel

Address: Alemdar Mah. Catalcesme Sok. No:26 Eminonu/Cagaloglu, Fatih, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #215 of 829 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ayasultan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ayasultan Hotel is a lovely boutique hotel located on the historical peninsula of Istanbul, Turkey. With a mix of classical and modern architecture, the Ayasultan Hotel has 36 attractive comfortable rooms offering a B&B service. Situated just a short walk from the major attractions of Sultanahmet Square, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, and the Basilica, guests will appreciate the great location and easy access to the city delights. Book into the Ayasultan Hotel and relax in style and comfort in this delightful Istanbul boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ayasultan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ayasultan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.