We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful little boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rooms Galata

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Istanbul
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rooms Galata
Save
You added Rooms Galata to your Saves list
Sahkulu Mahallesi Kumbaraci Yokusus No 37, Istanbul 33430, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 928 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Delightful little boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Really very impressed by this one. This is a small boutique hotel right in the centre of the action. We received a warm greeting on arrival from the young receptionist, who by the way also doubles up as the bar man and tourist information. Situated in between 2 converted town house merged together to make this hotel. The rooms, all individually decorated, extend upwards across 4-5 floors. The contemporary design and decor inside is both modern and wonderfully chosen, wooden floors, leather sofas and lots of natural light through the window. The room I stayed in was beautiful, very large and extremely comfortable. I also had a balcony that overlooked a little terrace garden below, the garden is a nice place to have breakfast in the morning if the weather permits. The inside communal areas are great to, there's room to hang out with friends and relax before hitting the town. The only down side to this hotel is its position on a hill, getting to and from can be tiring after a long day shopping and socializing. However that aside this is a wonderful place to stay, I certainly would return!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rooms G, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at Rooms Galata, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Simon2012, we are delighted by such a kind comment. Thank you. We are waiting for you, at Rooms Galata.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    12
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
24
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York CIty
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We had an outstanding experience at the Rooms Galata. The two proprietors were gracious and extremely helpful in arranging taxis, airport transfers, etc. The hotel itself is perfectly situated in Beyoglu within short walking distance to Istiklal Cad and Galata Tower, with a beautiful rooftop deck overlooking the Bosporus. Our room was clean and spacious -- exactly as advertised. I would certainly stay here again and would recommend Rooms Galata to my friends without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rooms G, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at Rooms Galata, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Eltahca, thank you very much: we will be waiting for you again with pleasure, next time you will decide to come to Istanbul and (why not) be a perfect guide for your friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I absolutely loved this hotel. Just got home from a three-week holiday in Turkey, including a three-day stay at Rooms Galata at the end of my trip. The location was great, near Istiklal and Galata tower and all sorts of interesting sidestreets, and my gorgeous room was an oasis of calm and comfort amidst the excitement of the streets. Staff is friendly, the rooftop terrace has beautiful views, and there is also an inner courtyard, which is nice for the small breakfast that is included. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rooms G, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at Rooms Galata, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
We absolutely loved your comment, dear lialia4. Thank you for your positive feedback. Hopefully we will meet again during your next journey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zurich
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

To clarify: Rooms Galata are not just a boutique hotel, they are rooms with kitchenette and an outstanding concierge service. From the days before our arrival, when I called to request an airport transfer, to the moment we left, Emir Can and Ahmed took personal care of our experience in Istanbul. They arranged very interesting restaurant reservations, tour guides and all the details in between. They don't behave like formal hotel staff while doing this, but were really personal and cool. It really reduced the complexity of the city and helped us to make the most of our time there. I don't want to forget how beautiful and interesting the house was, unassuming from the outside but full of tasteful design once you entered. Why would anyone ever want to stay in a cookie-cutter hotel chain after this? We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rooms G, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at Rooms Galata, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear eurogirlZurich, as you can't wait to come back, we can't wait to host you again. Thank you for your warm feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Nice location and friendly personel. Architecturaly, it combines old style with modern trends. I'd come back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rooms G, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at Rooms Galata, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
We are waiting for you to come back to Rooms Galata, dear Stephanie59M, for you to give us an opinion about the result of our renovations, as well. Thank you for your politeness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We recently travelled with a group of girls to Istanbul. We not only loved the little hotel and its excellent location but also truly appreciated the amazingly friendly service. We had an amazing time and can very much recommend this little jewel. The rooms are very stylish and the view from the terrace impressive.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rooms G, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at Rooms Galata, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Sandra G, flattered by your politeness, we thank you for the positive feedback. Hopefully we will meet again during your next journey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham NC (USA)
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

I was thrilled with every aspect of my (admittedly brief) stay at Rooms Galata, a small "boutique" hotel in a stylishly refurbished old building only a few blocks from Istiklal Caddesi and also close to many of the major sites on the European side of the city (although it is not within easy walking distance of the "historic" sites in Sultanhamet, one advantage of staying in Galata is that you are very close to some of the city's best food and nightlife). The hotel's renovations are tasteful, pleasing to fans of both traditional and modern architecture -- my room, a single (90 euros) was more than ample for a couple, and it boasted crisp sheets, a nice decor throughout (including the pristine bathroom), and even a semi-private terrace that was never occupied by anyone but me. The roof terrace is lovely, as is the ground-floor courtyard (one of the loveliest things about Istanbul is spending as much time outside as possible, enjoying views from every angle). The staff was friendly and helpful (I already knew my way around, but they went out of their way to give me maps and other information). One possible con is that the hotel does not serve a full breakfast -- only coffee and 'simit' (Turkish sesame rolls, a bit like bagels), but there are plenty of lovely cafes on the street and in the vicinity, and I'd rather not have breakfast in the hotel at all than be charged an exorbitant price for it, as one often is in large European city hotels. This hotel would be ideal for younger couples and for anyone who is interested in exploring the more "modern" side of Istanbul -- though it's an easy tram ride to all major sites.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rooms G, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at Rooms Galata, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Ingleseitalianato, thank you very much: we will be waiting for you again with pleasure, next time you will decide to be thrilled by Istanbul.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rooms Galata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rooms Galata

Address: Sahkulu Mahallesi Kumbaraci Yokusus No 37, Istanbul 33430, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 928 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the multi-cultural and colorful city of Istanbul, we offer you a luxurious and unique experience at the lively heart of the city where history, culture and night life are intertwined for a peaceful repose.Consisting of 15 rooms in 2 separate, yet connected historic buildings, Rooms Galata has been restored with contemporary techniques that meet the needs of modern living. This boutique-style residence introduces flats with garden, private terraces,maisonettes, single and double rooms with kitchenettes, each of which reflects unique, and trendy decoration, supported by the comfortable and best quality beddings, flat screen TVs, wi-fi, air conditioning, hair dryer and mini bars. Somerooms can accomodate up to 3 people. The rooftop terrace overlooking the sea view of Istanbul, the secret court yard opening from the cosy lounge with bar are designed to meet the guests' comfort. The art pieces in rooms and in common areas are selected, and the room furniture are specifically designed in harmony with the historical character of the buildings. Various places of visit such as the Galata Tower, art galleries, museums, theaters,restaurants, bars and night clubs are within 5-10 minutes walking distance. The staff assists scheduling tours and activities in Istanbul. Do not miss the opportunity of "Sailing on the Bosphorus" with the sail boat of Rooms Galata. Laundry and dry cleaning services are available upon request and with surcharge, as well as VIP Airport Transfers. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rooms Galata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.