We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and homely hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stray Cat Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Stray Cat Hostel to your Saves list
Stray Cat Hostel
Mebusan Yokusu No 35 | Taksim Beyoglu, Istanbul 34433, Turkey (New City / Taksim)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #57 of 929 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful and homely hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

When we arrived we were pretty skeptical, but soon it felt like a second home. you have to climb a small mountain to get to taksim, but Findikle station is just next to the hostel. the staff was very helpful. They made sure every morning that we had a plan, and if not they would provide one. They showed us a lot of local places, both for eating and going out. The hostel is extremely flexible and laid back. We have to admit that it smelled a bit like cats when we arrived, but you will get used to it, and they are quite funny! we read a lot of the bad reviews too, but can conclude that they have improved on everything. We can only recommend this place to others, enjoy Istanbul!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    33
    11
    1
    7
See reviews for
3
29
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This hostel is located very close to Taksim Square, the center of the modern quarter of Istanbul, but the neighbourhood was quiet enough to enjoy a good sleep. The room was basic but really clean, breakfast was abundant, included in the price.
The best from this hostel is the stuff. Excellent, helpful and nice people.
Deffinitely, recommended. Only if you like cats!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Our excursions into the city were always better because we knew we had an amazing place to come back to. The hostel was comfortable and homely. the owner and staff were extremely cool and helpful and gave us some great recommendations. They were also very happy to chat with us about any topic under the sun. The location was great - just a 10 minute (thought rather uphill) walk to Taksim Square. And I loved the cats! The room was very spacious and clean and the beds were very comfortable. The owner was extremely accommodating and allowed our friend who turned up at the last minute to stay in our room - we thus had a 4 person room all to ourselves! Really loved this place.

Room Tip: The hostel has an elevator - so any room is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

It was the last hostel in our 3.5 month jorney around South-East Asia. So on the way to home we were suprised by the service in Stray Cat Hostel. Everything is absolutly great: location, frinedly staff, art decoration, clean rooms, wi-fi, kittens! Would definetyly come back again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I had a fabulous time staying at Stray Cat Hostel!! The staff at Stray Cat were amazingly friendly! They were so helpful and always went above and beyond to help my friend with whatever we asked. The hostel is also very clean with very charmingly painted rooms, and there are kittens to play with which is always a plus! It's a little bit away from the core attractions of Istanbul- the Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, and etc- but very conveniently located close to a metro station which will easily take you there. An excellent value for our stay, and by far the best hostel I've stayed in!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I strongly recommend this place. Very safe, clean, cosy, near to all good sites, and cheap. You will find a friendly staff, always ready to help you. The decoration is charming, the playlist amazing, and the location just perfect to go out or to visit the city. There is a cute courtyard where you can smoke, a free breakfast, free drinking water, and cofee and tea all day long. Enjoy your stay !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Had an awsome weekend here travelling with a friend, it's a good place to meet people, really arty, great atmosphere, with a nice living room area to chill with games and kittens... Breakfast was good, and there's free tea and coffee all day. Staff are really friendly, helpful and good fun :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stray Cat Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stray Cat Hostel

Address: Mebusan Yokusu No 35 | Taksim Beyoglu, Istanbul 34433, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 929 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stray Cat Hostel in Istanbul offers a simple , laid back, comfortable , affordable accomodation in city center. The hostel is located 5 minutes walk from Taksim City Center, Taksim is full of bars , cafes and clubs for every taste, 200 meter down from the hostel there is a tram stop takes you in 15 minutes to historical monuments of Hagia Sofia, Topkapı Palace, Underground Cistern, Blue Mosque. Stray Cat Hostel in Istanbul has double, triple, four bed and 6 bed rooms . Some rooms have their own bathrooms some has shared ones . Breakfast is included in all prices. Also free tea, coffee and mineral water all day long is included to room rates . Safe deposit in reception for valuables are free of charge . Free bedding , beds, sheets and towels are included in price. Free high speed wi-fi is also available, and we have one kitchenette with tea coffee making facilities, and one equippied kitchen for free guest use.Stray Cat is a quite social hostel but not a party one. We do not serve alcohol just you can enjoy your drinks that you bought from several discount supermarkets and liqour shops in 2 minutes walking distance to hostel in our smoking or non smoking separated common areas. Just please note that although we are a very social hostel with an artistic vibe, that different paintings made by different guests and artists, the Stray Cat is not a hard partying hostel. We offer free night stay to artistic travelers would like to make a paint or performance in hostel . We have 24 hours reception with people working on desk who are knowledgeable and helpful for your possible needs, wishes and questions in Istanbul. We do not tolerate any kind of behaviour that consist of sexual, religious, ethnical, and racial discrimination, we reserve the right to refuse service anyone falls under these categories.Thank You. We wish you a nice stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Stray Cat Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stray Cat Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.