We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stray Cat Hostel

Save Saved
You added Stray Cat Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Stray Cat Hostel
Mebusan Yokusu No 35 | Taksim Beyoglu, Istanbul 34433, Turkey (Beyoğlu)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 769 Specialty lodging in Istanbul
Heilbronn
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Like!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

I´d recommend this hostel warmly. We stayed in a double-room and the room was made ready though we arrived ahead of time. No problems with cleanliness. The guys running the hostel are very helpful and interested. Thanks Eva especially! For sure the smoking in the ground floor is disturbing but we didn´t have a problem with it in the 3. floor. I loved the many cats and if you choose a hostel with this kind of flair you should be aware that there is the possibility of having a small "cat mess" somewhere though this didn´t happen during our stay. The breakfast is turkish and enough for everybody. Besides this there is a waterdispenser everybody can use the whole day. We had a great time with interesting people and I´d love to come back soon.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    22
    9
    1
    6
See reviews for
2
24
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

Stayed here a couple of nights in Sept and Oct. Agree that this isn't a great place for non-smokers, but I think the staff more than make up for it! They were really friendly and approachable, and I also like how there were stray cats coming in and out of the hostel like they truly belonged there. Definitely one of the more interesting hostels I've stayed in. Location is pretty decent. Oh and I was really grateful for their lift (I stayed on the 4th floor)!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

Not Impressed:
Smell-Funky
Frıendlyness: Not so much
Cleanlıness: Cats standard
Locatıon: Hıdden
Lıft:Dark and small
Bed lınen: rıpped and Dısney themed
Wındows: Closed bıg fıre hazzard

Wouldnt advıse to anyone unless ıts your last 15L ın your pocket

AVOID!

Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

people smoke in living room mostly all day,even stay on 3rd floor u can smell it.
shower was cold,drain was blocked. After telling the staff he just said it's broken. Seems nothing can be done.
Main entrance is smelly,i have cat but don't have that smell at home.
Location is good,only a short walk to tram.
price is good but will not return again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

Even if it is a hostel, it does not mean it needs to be that dirty!!! So what if the price sounds cheap; it is NOISY, HOT in the rooms, with a very COLD water in the shower, the sheets were torn and not clean, the windows did not open, and if they did, they wouldn't close. The noise outside is unbearable, so you do not really get to sleep at night, unless you are a rock in bed! There was no AC or FAN; the room door wouldn't close unless we raised it and locked it! The reception was crowded with luggage since they do not have a storage room, and to top it all, there was Cat POOH in the kitchen!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linkoping, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

Best location in Istanbul. The staff was extremely helpfull, we have stayed at more then 20 hostels but never seen such supreme service!
Best Regards from Daniel and Adelina from Sweden

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Good value for money, good location near tram and ferry stop, helpful staff. Oh, and really nice cats!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stray Cat Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stray Cat Hostel

Address: Mebusan Yokusu No 35 | Taksim Beyoglu, Istanbul 34433, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoğlu , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 769 Specialty lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stray Cat Hostel in Istanbul offers a simple , laid back, comfortable , affordable accomodation in city center. The hostel is located 5 minutes walk from Taksim City Center, Taksim is full of bars , cafes and clubs for every taste, 200 meter down from the hostel there is a tram stop takes you in 15 minutes to historical monuments of Hagia Sofia, Topkapı Palace, Underground Cistern, Blue Mosque. Stray Cat Hostel in Istanbul has double, triple, four bed and 6 bed rooms . Some rooms have their own bathrooms some has shared ones . Breakfast is included in all prices. Also free tea, coffee and mineral water all day long is included to room rates . Safe deposit in reception for valuables are free of charge . Free bedding , beds, sheets and towels are included in price. Free high speed wi-fi is also available, and we have one kitchenette with tea coffee making facilities, and one equippied kitchen for free guest use.Stray Cat is a quite social hostel but not a party one. We do not serve alcohol just you can enjoy your drinks that you bought from several discount supermarkets and liqour shops in 2 minutes walking distance to hostel in our smoking or non smoking separated common areas. Just please note that although we are a very social hostel with an artistic vibe, that different paintings made by different guests and artists, the Stray Cat is not a hard partying hostel. We offer free night stay to artistic travelers would like to make a paint or performance in hostel . We have 24 hours reception with people working on desk who are knowledgeable and helpful for your possible needs, wishes and questions in Istanbul. We do not tolerate any kind of behaviour that consist of sexual, religious, ethnical, and racial discrimination, we reserve the right to refuse service anyone falls under these categories.Thank You. We wish you a nice stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Stray Cat Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stray Cat Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.