We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a really nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbiye Residence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Harbiye Residence to your Saves list
Harbiye Residence
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cumhuriyet Cad. Selbasi Sok. No 6 | Harbiye - Taksim, Istanbul 34373, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #171 of 943 Hotels in Istanbul
Alexandroupoli, Greece
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“a really nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

i stayed at this hotel for 4 days at nov 2012.The staff was really polite and helpfull and always available.the room was very clean and comfortable and although we have a baby cot bed there was enough space.also we have great view of the city.the breakfast wasnt something special but good.the location of the hotel is convenient only 5 mins walking to the metro station osmanbey, and 20 mins to the taksim square, many shops and restaurants around.i strongly recommend this hotel and i certainly stay at this hotel when i visit istanbul again.

Room Tip: use gps if you are travel by car!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    29
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
24
17
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I stayed in this hotel because of a conference at the Istanbul Conference Center. This hotel is very nearby and just about 10 minutes leisurely walking distance away. The hotel is value for money. The room on the first floor was huge, with cooking facilities, so it's great for a small family. It faces a quiet streetfront, so rest assured of a good night sleep. The staff were very helpful. Breakfast was included and it was a good spread. Coffee, tea and juices were also available round the clock.
Negative side: the lane to the front entrance was very steep, and at that time, roadworks were just completed and there was a lot of debris around. The road surface was uneven, almost fell on the day of checking in with baggage. Not advisable for travellers with very heavy luggage to lug these to or from the hotel to the bus or train station - it's too difficult and dangerous. The lane also often reeked with urine smell. Finally, if you were stay on the first floor and your room faces the balcony, it can be quite noisy during breakfast time when the dining room is busy with people. Very plus point: Wifi Internet free access in the room.
Highly recommended if attending conferences or business meetings at the ICC.

Room Tip: Higher floors from the second upward.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed here with family for a week while attending a conference. Staff friendly and helpful, rooms clean and en-suite excellent. We are vegetarian and the self catering option was brilliant. Walkable distance to Taksim, with excellent transport links...

One important word about booking local tours at the hotel -> they are expensive!! Do your own research before committing!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I spent four nights here with a friend. We were both in town for conference at the Harbiye Cultural Center and Museum. This hotel is only two minutes away from the cultural center and a 10-15 minute walk to Takim Square. The hotel staff are super friendly. When I arrived I asked to borrow an adapter so my American computer could use their Turkish electric socket, when they found they were out of adapters, the ran to the store and bought me a one free of charge! Very helpful.

Each morning, the hotel staff sets out an enjoyable Turkish breakfast and generously leaves it out until 10:30 am if not longer. They are also willing to make you a cup of tea or coffee at any hour of the day or night.

A great stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moses Lake, WA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

The standard room was spacious, modern and clean, staff friendly and helpful. We stayed three nights before traveling to other Turkish cities and it was convenient location for our tour. The room was booked for us through a tour company who also picked us up and dropped us off at the hotel. Dinner and evenings we were on our own and there were plenty of restaurants and things to see within walking distance. Being cat lovers, we especially enjoyed the nearby "cat park". When we returned for a final night before flying home, they surprised us with an upgrade to the honeymoon suite. We would definitely recommend this hotel, but because it was part of the tour package and therefore don't know how the actual cost of the rooms, I can't really speak to price vs. value relative to other hotels.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peize
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Harbiye Residence is located near a major conference center and is also close to Taksim Square with many shops, restaurants, etc. The hotel is clean, convenient. No superfluous luxury. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Public transport or a taxi give easy access to the Old City of Istanbul. We selected the hotel because of its vicinity to the conference center and it appeared a very good choice.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

I stayed for 4 days, 3 nights, from 29/07/ 12 till 01/08/12. First off, I did not take a taxi or shuttle as public transport  ( from the airport) is very easy & cheap to use. However,  it was a nightmare to find the place because it is not located on the main road and certainly not 5 minutes from Taksim square as they claim. It is a good 10 to 15 minute walk from Taksim square. The street were it is located is very dirty & smells like urine.  That being said, I loved the appartment and Harbiye Residence in general !  Everything is  very clean & proper, very fast & good internet connection,  and the staff is very helpfull. The apparment  is very modern, well equiped & bathroom nice & clean and enough 'luxury' to make your stay pleasant. Neighbourhood is very quiet at night. Prayer around 11:00 did not bother me at all. Breakfast is not too fancy but enough to satisfy you. The neigbourhood is packed with shops & small grocery stores where you can buy basically everything you might need for a short visit/stay. Overal it was a good choice & I would definately stay again and/or recommend. And the 15 minute walk from Taskim square to Harbiye Residence ? I got used to it and it is actually not that bad if you are not lazy and/or tired. There is a busstop very close ( not even 5 minute walk ) but do NOT take the bus if you don't have an Istanbul public transport card because they don't sell tickets on the bus. I nearly got kicked off ! Plus : DO go have dinner @ Harbiye Hatay Sofrasi. It is around the corner of Harbiye Recidence. A 2 minute walk. This restaurant has authentic Turkish food & desserts and it is AMAZING and DELICIOUS  ! The staff is extremely nice and helpfull. They will go out of their way for you as customer. On my last night I even got complimentary food and Turkish tea. Overall choosing for Harbiye Residence was a good experience and value for money. 

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbiye Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbiye Residence

Address: Cumhuriyet Cad. Selbasi Sok. No 6 | Harbiye - Taksim, Istanbul 34373, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #171 of 943 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbiye Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbiye Residence is located at the heart of the Istanbul city, one side close by just 5 minutes walking distance to the most famous Taksim Square and Istiklal Street which includes the most famous Pedestrian Street of Istanbul with lots of shopping places, art galleries, restaurants, pubs and bars. On other side has 5 minutes walking distance to the center of modern Istanbul, Nisantasi district which includes most popular high quality entertainment, shopping, national and international brands within walking distance also subway and Lutfu Kirdar (Istanbul) Congres Center.The comfortable and friendly atmosphere makes it a warm living place than a luxury hotel. Our friendly and experienced staff is ready to welcome you with simplicity and peace in your business and leisure travels in Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, T4B, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Harbiye Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbiye Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.