We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is good... but hotel is not” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Momento

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Momento to your Saves list
Hotel Momento
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mithat Pasa Cad. Kucuk Haydar Efendi Sok. No:14 Beyazit, Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #360 of 944 Hotels in Istanbul
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Location is good... but hotel is not”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

I travelled to Istanbul for 3 nights and stayed in this hotel because it was part of a package deal. Though they claim to be a 4 star hotel, what they really mean is 4 stars on tripadvisor. There is no gym and the breakfast served in the morning is cold and stale. I stayed in room 309, which was a single bed room. The bed was not comfortable, the room is not well lit (it's depressing in there) and to make things worse, my blackberry charger got stolen by housekeeping.. (It was in my room when I went out in the morning and gone when I came back). The reception refused to acknowledge this and said I must have taken it out myself! Having said that, the hotel is located very close to the blue mosque, hagia sofia and other attractions. (walking distance). I will avoid this place if I go to Istanbul again. Surely, there are better places out there.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    70
    11
    5
    1
See reviews for
20
50
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of October and the location in the old town made seeing the major sights very easy. It is walking distance from the Sultanahmet (Blue) Mosque, Agia Sophia, Grand bazaar and Topkapi Palace. A short walk takes you to "Tram Street" where you can take a tram for 3.5TL to the other areas of the city.
The Momento hotel is very nicely decorated and furnished. The staff were very polite and friendly. Our room was not very spacious but it was comfortable and very clean. We only had a view of walls of surrounding buildings but we were glad that we were not overlooking the road where there was a lot of traffic and roadworks! We did not spend a lot of time in our room as there was so much to see in the city. A good breakfast buffet set us up for each day's walking!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the road at the front of the hotel may suffer from traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed in Hotel Momento for 9 days. Its good clean hotel. Staff is very good cooperative & friendly. Location is in good place because you can walk to the main market, Metro & Grand Bazar. Breakfast also was good restaurant staff were also good alert. I will be going again and will choose the same hotel.

Room Tip: Best Location on walking distance everythin is available. Hotel staff good & friendly. Hotel i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tayside
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The Momento Hotel is really well placed for sightseeing, shopping and eating. Five minutes to the Grand Bazaar and restaurants, fifteen minutes to The Blue Mosque.
The hotel is modern inside and very well maintained, although the area has a run-down city look. Rooms are not large but are very comfortable and well-equipped. Even though our room was on the first floor, the double glazing and curtains blocked out the street, which can get very busy from early morning onwards.
Breakfast is plentiful and varied, mainly Turkish style. Staff are helpful and friendly. Free wifi throughout.
If returning to Istanbul, I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

In August my husband and I spent five wonderful days in Istanbul. We stayed at the Momento Hotel - The room was wonderful, the service A1, the breakfast was amazing. I cannot fault this place in anything.Very comfortable beds, bathroom clean, modern furniture.
The Momento is close to the Grand Bazaar, walking distance to the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and Hippodrome.
The staff was so helpful. They made our stay in Istanbul so memorable. Unfortunately five days were not enough so we have to return again next year, and i will definitely be staying at the Momento again.
On our last day, we had to catch a plane at 6am, so the Manager got up at 5am and made us sandwiches to take with us.
If you are visiting Istanbul this is the place to stay, although its in the old part of the city, it captures the true meaning of Istanbul - you feel like you were taken back in time! Thank you to the management for everything!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Perfect location for sightseeing. Looks a shabby part of the city, but was perfectly safe. Loved watching life going on from our bedroom window. Newly renovated hotel, spotlessly clean. Lots of attention to detail. Staff very helpful and try very hard to please you. Breakfast was plentiful although there were a few things that we Brits would prefer not to participate in at that time of day. But eggs were always available and yummy breads. Never went hungry. All in all very happy with everything. Would we go back - yes !

Room Tip: Think all the rooms were fine ! Some bigger than others but all very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We were in Istanbul only 3 nights, on a "bargain" offer, so were not too concerned that our room was small with a view of others' air conditioning units, because it was extremely well-appointed -- very comfortable beds, good quality bedding, towels, furniture, etc, with free safe, good air con, and minibar for those who wanted. Bedroom and bathroom always spotlessly clean. Breakfast fine, and we had a superb dinner (grilled perch...) on one evening. Bar staff very friendly ! Easy walking distance to Grand Bazaar and related eateries, etc, and ideally situated for BRILLIANT tram line, which gives access to all main places of interest on both European and Asian side, including Golden Horn and Bosphorus boat trips. We actually walked to Sultanhamet Square and all around, to soak up atmosphere. Hotel is in busy commercial area, and we had much fun watching the drivers and barrow-pushers avoiding each other ! We would stay there again -- but would hope to fly in to Ataturk Airport (European side of city) rather than Sabiha Gokcan (Asian side), due to horrendous traffic pressure on motorways. We would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Momento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Momento

Address: Mithat Pasa Cad. Kucuk Haydar Efendi Sok. No:14 Beyazit, Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #360 of 944 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Momento 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Momento is less than one mile from Topkapi Palace and half a mile from the Blue Mosque. This special class hotel has a 24-hour front desk, a restaurant and free Wi-Fi. All guest rooms at Momento Hotel feature a private bathroom and an LCD TV with satellite channels. Every room includes a mini-bar, air-conditioning and a safe. Buffet breakfast is served in the spacious dining area, and Momento's Restaurant offers delicious examples of Ottoman Imperial and French Cuisine, accompanied by exquisite wines from the hotel's collection. Hotel Momento is less than a 5 minute walk from the nearest train and bus stations, and is 9 miles from Ataturk Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Momento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Momento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.