We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Customer Service in Istanbul” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The House Hotel Bosphorus

Save Saved
You added The House Hotel Bosphorus to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The House Hotel Bosphorus
4.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Salhane Sokak No 1 | Ortakoy, Istanbul 34347, Turkey   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
-15% on Food & Beverage
Ranked #65 of 901 hotels in Istanbul
Miami, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Customer Service in Istanbul”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This hotel is a former mansion, 250 years old having belonged to the father and son architects of the Ortaköy Mosque ın Ortaköy Garabet and Nigoğayos Balyan, who also designed the nearby Dolmabahçe Palace and Mosque.

It has been faithfully restored in the Ottoman Style but with everything else minimal and contemporary which makes a great combination. The views are breathtaking and the service is impeccable. From the manager Bahar Karaca to the housekeeping staff, each and every one is very polite and always willing to give assistance to make one feel comfortable and at home. It isn't located in a major tourist section like Sultanahmet. The views of the Bosphorus are breathtaking and sitting having a breakfast on the terrace while looking across to Asia makes you realize that life can't get any better. I can't thank them enough for the courteous and accommodating manner in which I was treated during my recent stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
House_Hotel, General Manager at The House Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear BobbyOnline,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at The House Hotel Bosphorus.

It was a pleasure meeting you and having you as our guest. My team and I are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and felt comfortable. Many thanks for your recognition and your wonderful feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ortakoy when you visit Istanbul again.

All the best to Miami,

Bahar Karaca
Hotel Manager
The House Hotel Bosphorus
bahar.karaca@thehousehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    242
    76
    11
    4
    7
See reviews for
32
195
8
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

End of April we stayed at The House Hotel Ortaköy for three nights which we had found through recommendations on various online booking platforms.
We received a very warm and nice welcome upon arrival, our luggage was immediately taken care of and we were personally shown to the room and introduced to all the amenities.
However, the overall very nice room (in the booked category) did not fully meet our expectations, mainly because of the limited view. We expressed our slight disappointment and were very nicely consoled with chocolate in the room. At breakfast the next day the manager personally came to greet us and delivered the good news that a room on a higher floor was available for us. Our baggage was smoothly moved during our absence and we then had a fantastic view over the Bosphorus to the point of the Old Town in the distance.
The room was exactly as shown on the webpage, neat and clean, with only one small negative remark: the lack of storage space!
The breakfast offerings were exceptional with international and local specialties, fresh and nicely presented at a beautiful breakfast room with terrace over the Bosphorus, the service staff was very attentive and friendly.
Overall the staff, especially at reception was very friendly, always had a nice word whenever we passed by and were very concerned about our well being and safety, especially through the riots on May 1 (all guests received written information and updates about the traffic situation and possible security issues). The manager helped us in organizing a special boat transfer to the Old Town that day since the traffic was down and roads blocked.
We would like to especially express our thanks to Emre at reception for his professional and personal care and attention in every respect, i.e. by giving us directions, restaurant recommendations or by helping us with the pre-check in of our flights when we had lost our booking reference. Emre well contributed to making our stay outstanding and remarkable.
The hotel location is also very nice, a bit off the city center, however well reachable by taxi and tram, and in the middle of a lively, beautiful area of shops, bazars, restaurants and bars (windows of the hotel must be well insulated, there was no problem with quiet night sleep).
We highly recommend this hotel and would stay there again any time when in Istanbul.

Room Tip: Rooms on 4th floor have spectacular view. Windows well insulated, good night sleep provided. Calcu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
House_Hotel, General Manager at The House Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear petra f,

Thank you so very much for taking the time to write about The House Hotel Bosphorus in this much detail.

We are very happy you enjoyed your experience with us and had a nice time in Istanbul. Thank you for the stellar comments about our service philosophy and for recognizing the true spirit of our hotel.

My team and I are grateful for your feedback. Emre in particular is extremely happy and most thankful for your acknowledgement.

It will be a great pleasure to see you again when your travels bring you back to Istanbul.

Warmest regards to Vienna,

Bahar Karaca
Hotel Manager
The House Hotel Bosphorus
bahar.karaca@thehousehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I was not expecting to have this amazing sea view and neighborhood when i made my reservation at the House hotel. I and my family had a very beautiful time in this amazing hotel. i was surprised with their welcome and professionalism as well as their readiness to help us in anything. if you feel tired and don't want to go far you can choose between their restaurant with its superb view and food or have a walk in the public market where there is tens of restaurants and cafes....
i will certainly reserve at house hotel in my next visit to Istanbul.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
House_Hotel, General Manager at The House Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Zrawad,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to share your feedback about The House Hotel Bosphorus.

We are very happy you enjoyed your first time experience at our hotel and had a great time. Many thanks for your wonderful comments about the team.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Bosphorus on your next visit.

Warm regards to Riyadh,

Bahar Karaca
Hotel Manager
The House Hotel Bosphorus
bahar.karaca@thehousehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Beautifully restored house turned into expensive but well designed hotel. Big plus in our deluxe room was a terrace which overlooked all the action on the Bosphorus. Unlike Tine H, I found the staff were pleasant but uninformative. For instance,we went to breakfast at the House Cafe on the hotel premises ( busy and lively) only to be told that breakfast was served in another part of the hotel ( empty of people). Surely a basic orientation lesson when checking in would help.There was no information in the room about any tourist activities ( eg ferries timetables or things to see nearby). Before I arrived I emailed about an airport pickup and was given the choice of a range of Mercedes for between 90 Euro to 135 Euro. Ok, so the hotel rooms are expensive, and we had a 2 night splurge, but that does not mean we are happy to pay luxury prices for an airport transfer.
Instead we arranged for a deluxe private car and chaffeur provided by Vigotour for 45 EUR. I think this a good but overpriced hotel which needs to be a bit more aware of serving the needs of overseas tourists.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
House_Hotel, General Manager at The House Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Chantman,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts about The House Hotel Bosphorus. Your input as a seasoned world traveler is greatly appreciated.

While I am disappointed to hear your experience from a service perspective was less than perfect, I am grateful for your honest feedback and suggestions.

I would like to address some of your comments. Breakfast at our hotel is served at our Lounge which is on the first floor. The House Cafe, which is located on the ground level of the same building, is our neighbor. During check-in, our guests are informed of where breakfast is served and this same information is repeated during room orientation. There are times when this detail might be forgotten/overlooked, especially after a long journey. However, I will use your input and make this vital piece of information more visible.

We have a Guest Services Directory that is placed in the guestrooms. This small booklet has information about major attractions, transportation and other useful information. It is deliberately small and light so our guests can carry it with them. I suppose you did not see our booklet. Also, we proactively advise our guests to take full advantage of the public boats and other water transportation due to our unique location.

As for the airport transportation, the price range of private airport transfers for majority of Istanbul hotels of similar caliber is Euro 90 – Euro 220. These transfers are done with premium cars. For more affordable transfer options, we are happy to provide our guests with relevant information when asked however our private transfer rates are within the current market parameters.

Again, thank you for sharing with us your thoughts which I will be happy to use as guidelines in our constant effort to achieve service excellence.

Warm regards,

Bahar Karaca
Hotel Manager
The House Hotel Bosphorus
bahar.karaca@thehousehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Many things make the House Hotel in Ortakoy truly worthwhile. First and foremost the friendly, helpful, proactive and genuinely service-minded staff, you can ask guidance on everything and get great tips & hints on sights, restaurants, transport alternatives. There is the quickest and most excellent room service, turn-down service, a welcoming breakfast room and lounge area, everything fantastically situated by the Bosphorus Bridge with very easy access all of Istanbul, old town, Nisantasi etc. The Danes will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
House_Hotel, General Manager at The House Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Tine H,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback about The House Hotel Bosphorus.

My team and I are very happy you enjoyed your experience with us and had a nice time in Istanbul.

We look forward to welcoming The Danes back to Ortakoy!

Warmest regards to Copenhagen,

Bahar Karaca
Hotel Manager
The House Hotel Bosphorus
bahar.karaca@thehousehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The hotel was an oasis of calm in the chaos that is Istanbul. Is situated in a great location and has fantastic views ofvthe Bosphorus. The rooms are well decorated and comfortable although we had a deluxe suite which only had a shower and no bath. The hotelmis in a lively spot surrounded by restaurants, bars and market stalls but it only adds to the experience. The staff are very friendly, professional and helpful. They dont seem fazed by people wearing their huge sunglasses to breakfast and clutching their Prada handbags as if their life depeneded on it. The House Cafe is definitely the place to be seen and is akways buzzing with atmosphere - a great people watching experience!

Room Tip: definitely try to get one overlooking the Boshorus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
House_Hotel, General Manager at The House Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Pipsmum999,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at The House Hotel Bosphorus.

My team and I are very happy you had a great stay with us and enjoyed our accommodations and unique location.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to our hotel.

Warm regards to London,

Bahar Karaca
Hotel Manager
The House Hotel Bosphorus
bahar.karaca@thehousehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The Hotel is in a very beautiful but also practical location. The amazing Bosporus view is its strongest attribute. Moreover, the rooms give a refreshing, and very clean sensation. The hotel manager is always smiling and has a very transparent profile, whereas all the team is extremely kind, and willing to help the guests 24hours. At the caffè one may eat delicious mezes, and drink some Turkish wine. As a whole it is an experience that all should try!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
House_Hotel, General Manager at The House Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Melina k,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback about The House Hotel Bosphorus.

We are very happy you enjoyed your experience at our hotel and thank you for your note of recognition.

When your travels take you back to Istanbul, we hope to see you again at our hotel.

Warm regards,

Bahar Karaca
Hotel Manager
The House Hotel Bosphorus
bahar.karaca@thehousehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The House Hotel Bosphorus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House Hotel Bosphorus

Address: Salhane Sokak No 1 | Ortakoy, Istanbul 34347, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 901 hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The House Hotel Bosphorus 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The House Hotel Bosphorus is a landmark building built in late 19th century with magnificent views of the Bosphorus. Renovated by the internationally acclaimed design firm Autoban, the historical building has been transformed into a design boutique hotel. With its original features that have been restored, the Hotel combines historical glamour with contemporary design. The Ortakoy area where the Hotel is located is a lively area with restaurants, cafes and a wide range of stores. A few strokes away from The House Hotel Bosphorus is the landmark Ortakoy Mosque which is constructed on its own platform in the Bosphorus and offers almost 360 degree view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Jetsetter, Hotels.com, Splendia, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, MrandMrsSmith, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The House Hotel Bosphorus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The House Hotel Bosphorus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.