We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be careful - the website photos can be deceptive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rose Garden Suites Istanbul

Save Saved
You added Rose Garden Suites Istanbul to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rose Garden Suites Istanbul
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kucuk Ayasofya Mahalle Sehit Mehmet Pasa Sok., No 5, Istanbul 34126, Turkey   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 916 hotels in Istanbul
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Be careful - the website photos can be deceptive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

The location is pretty good and this hotel has some good features, including a peaceful central garden and friendly, helpful staff. We had 5 nights at the beginning of our Turkey trip and a final night at the end.

Our gripe is that we booked a superior balcony room based on an internet photo and the room we were allocated for our five night stay was not to the same standard. It was much smaller, less appealing in decoration and generally disappointing, even though the bed itself was comfortable. Because of a significant birthday, we'd opted to fork out extra money for this property over the property recommended by our travel agent - we wanted something special. Shortly after getting to our room, I spoke to the duty manager and explained that the room was not what we had expected and inquired about the scope to move to a room that was more like the one we had viewed - but the response inferred that our room was consistent with the standard. I was even shown another room (which was no better) to confirm the claim. So we just copped it on the chin and did our best to enjoy Istanbul for the next five days. It was extremely frustrating though to know that we had paid a lot of money for something that we thought would be special - and it certainly wasn't at that point. We compared similarly priced properties and could not help but feel that we had been ripped off.

But the real frustration for us occurred when we returned to Istanbul for the final night at the end of our two weeks in Turkey and we were allocated a room that was entirely consistent with our original expectations. Much more spacious, elegantly decorated and with a much more private bathroom.

It was infuriating because it confirmed that our original concerns from two weeks earlier were legitimate, but were dismissed. The duty manager at that time was not rostered during our final night so it was hard to escalate our frustrations. As we had a five night stay we know that our room could have been reallocated at some point during our stay - we saw the comings and goings of guests and know that it would have been possible to move us after the first or second night of our stay.

We did email the hotel management before posting this review - but, unfortunately, they chose not to respond.

So, in summary, it's not a bad hotel but our advice would be to carefully consider the price of the accommodation given that you cannot rely on the standard of room especially if you are looking at the photos on the website.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    327
    100
    15
    3
    0
See reviews for
77
230
19
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

It seems that this hotel is a bit further away from the main sightseeing attractions, but in fact, it is very close by once you work out how to navigate the backstreets (which isn't too hard). The garden area makes a welcome relief for sun or shade, which ever you wish, and the different levels of hotel, restaurant and suites makes it a more interesting setting. we stayed in suites and were very pleased with the quietness (even with a room facing the breakfast area, i heard little sound, and I am a light sleeper). The rooms are large and comfortable and the staff are very friendly and super helpful (thanks especially to Ramazan and Selcuk). The food is quite reasonable (breakfast and snacks) and the beer is cold. Nice touches of free water, fruit and biscuits to help yourself.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Close to all Main Attraktions, Helpful staffs, big& cleaned room with balcony. Mr. Ramazan is helpful service staff. After Sightseeing i,m refreshed myself with coffee and some fresh fruits in lovely& charming Garden.
Instead of Swimming Pool i spent the wonderful and relaxing Time with Good Book in Lovely Garden.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

very central exactly as it says on the tin - quiet area and helpful staff - close to all the main attractions - the staff cant do enough for you - we couldnt find anywhere open to eat late one night so they cooked for us after midnight which was very accommodating

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

as me and wife we went to Paris by Turkish air, while returning to Mumbai we stopped TURKEY and stayed at this rose garden hotel ,checked in on 27th June and checked out on 1st of July,
we found from front desk to restaurant ,to food plus 24 hour tea/coffee ,every thing was perfect ,At front desk Mr Bora,Selchuk,and other two ,i don't know the names,special y when you go for your Morning breakfast,the lady making omelet to girl NINO was very helpful,
I don't know when we will be going again to Turk y ,
but even if we will go we will prefer to stay at this hotel,
Even the owner of the Hotel Mr AZIZ is visiting regularly and taking review of every guest
C K Malhotra

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phila
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We are just finishing our stay at the Rose Garden Suites. The Suites are connected to a main hotel across a courtyard. The rooms are spotlessly maintained, with all the little touches that make this feel like home.

Our stay was in two parts, about 7 nights total, broken up by a couple of nights in Selcuk.

Breakfasts were great, in true Turkish style with an a plus of an omelet chef who was consistent. Also great were the simple but elegant wine and cheese hours (6:30 to 7:30 many days). Sitting in the garden after a long days' touring was wonderful.

For all the other plusses, probably the best thing about the hotel is the staff. Arif, the reservation manager, was extraordinarily kind and vigilant. Whatever you need - he'll get. But it doesn't stop there. Boris at the front desk was always helpful, and the porters, breakfast manager, and all other staff were just fantastic.

About the only note I have is that It is important that you not mind dealing with steps, as there are a bunch. I think the hotel has an elevator, so if you mind steps, stay in the main hotel building (which is in front of the garden). Also, a good tip is to take cards from the hotel desks to show taxi drivers. The streets of Istanbul are crazily named, and most cab drivers won't be able to find the hotel without help.

Finally, if you are hesitating to come to Istanbul now - don't. It is wonderfully safe and fun.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 213 with a balcony and then, after returning, room 411. Both were attractive in d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

The staff was very helpful and hospitable. They had daily breakfast with someone cooking fresh eggs of your choice! We stayed there three nights; and our room was located around the courtyard so in the mornings we could hear cutlery (people must be having breakfast) and there are seating area outside our rooms
Which can be quite noisy when the neighbours are out having a good time. All in all, it has been a good stay, good location and great service.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rose Garden Suites Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Garden Suites Istanbul

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mahalle Sehit Mehmet Pasa Sok., No 5, Istanbul 34126, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#26 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#28 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#52 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rose Garden Suites Istanbul 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
. The Rose Garden Suites have only 15 luxury rooms with a unique design of Turkish architecture. The hotel is located just a few steps from the world wide famous Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace and Grand Covered Bazaar. The hotel gets its name because of the roses in the garden. There is a wide range of roses that have been collected from all around Turkey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Rose Garden Suites Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Garden Suites Istanbul Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rose Garden Suites Istanbul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.