We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Portus House Istanbul

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Portus House Istanbul to your Saves list
Portus House Istanbul
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Mumhane Cad. 31 | Karaköy, Istanbul 34340, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Raleigh
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a great place...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

f you want to travel to Istanbul and want to experience the city as a local, this is the place to stay. You can walk to Istiklal street within a couple of minutes. Istiklal street is full of restaurants, bars, and night clubs. You are a couple streets down from the awesome Bosporus. Rooms are very clean and comfortable. It is not like a standardized hotel design which is boring and tasteless. This place feels like home. The room design's are very original. Breakfast is a traditional Turkish breakfast which is very healthy and interesting (tomato, cucumber, olives, cheese, jam...). Lastly the staff is very professonal and knowledgable about the city. Apparently the owner wrote a guide book or something for Istanbul. She gave us great restaurant names, and trip advice. I can not wait to go back and do it all over.

Room Tip: Top floor was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    40
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
36
98
19
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

I travel a lot and been in many hostels. I chose this hotel because I wanted more comfort during the stay and something more fancy. I would give 7 from 10 for this hotel. Location of hotel was good. But our room was in the hightest floor so we firstly had to get our stuff to fourth floor and every day to go up and down. Room was small and for two people was only one table. Staff was friendly but not helpfull with our luggage. As a hostel it would fit standarts but as a hotel - no. Breakfast very poor, no fresh fruits or juice, small portions.
I

Room Tip: Try to get a room in first of second floor. If you live in fourth floor, you'll have to climb ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

When I made the reservation I thought it was too good to be true, cheap, good location and very nice. It was kind of tricky to find the place but when we got there, so good! Perfect staff, clean, quiet, just great!

/Swedish surf guys

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

Friendly and funny staff especially Ismail. Strategic location, 10 min walk to spice bazaar and galata bridge, 3 min walk to Karakoy tram station and Funicular to Istiklal Caddesi. Stayed in a triple room with shared bathroom. The room is a little bit small but nicely decorated. Separated bathroom and toilet, Bathroom water pressure is weak. Breakfast served in a plate included tomato,cucumber, 2pcs ham, cheese, olive and jam. Will be better if cereal is provided. Overall is good.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortusIstanbul, Manager at Portus House Istanbul, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Dear Wei Ken P,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your positive experience here with future travelers.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us but also appreciate your constructive feedback. Please note, the water pressure in your room has been adjusted to above normal levels now and as per your suggestion, we have also added a selection of cereals to our breakfast.

We look forward to welcome you again here at Portus House.
Kindest Regards from our entire staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Great place to stay.

The kitchen, my room and the shared bathroom/shower were very clean and reasonably modern. Free wifi and the breakfast was simple but perfect. The guest house is located in a great area and the staff are very welcoming and quick to provide travel advice. They even have several travel guides you can borrow for your duration (lonely planet).

The only problem (and some may see it as a benefit) is that it is located on a very quiet street. I felt a bit uncomfortable walking back alone at night as the area was really deserted. If your 2 coming back at night I am sure it is fine.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortusIstanbul, Manager at Portus House Istanbul, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Dear KRicha16,

Thank you for your high praises. We are happy that our staff was able to accommodate you with your special wishes.
As you mention, our location indeed is in parallel to the main street, to provide quiet comfort within this sometimes overwhelmingly bustling city. Due to the fact that it is not high season, coming back far after midnight you may not encounter too many souls on the streets, though rest assured it is absolutely safe.

Looking forward to again greet you here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

I stayed here the night before my cruise a little while ago. The staff that run this place I cannot describe how nice they are! They really did look after us! They arranged for a car to pick us up from the airport, and also found out the dock that our ship was docking at and also arranged for a taxi to take us there. The lady also gave us her mobile number incase we got lost or needed help. This is the sort of extra service I expect from a Hilton or a Marriot. Honestly cannot sing the praises enough for this place.

Room Tip: If your elderly or have trouble walking ask for a room not on the top floor. The staff will help wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortusIstanbul, General Manager at Portus House Istanbul, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Dear Harry,

Thank you very much for the taking the time to share your positive experience with fellow travelers. We are truly humbled by your kind words.
Indeed, due to our close proximity to the cruise terminal, more and more cruise guests honor us with their visits and our entire staff is always enthusiastic to help with arrangements such as transfers, orientation tours, special requests, etc. After all, this city has a variety of unique impressions to offer, though only if you are at ease with the organization, which we gladly take on for you.
If you are ever again around this corner of the world (we hope you will be), please drop by even if it is just for a cup of Turkish coffee.

All the Best from Istanbul.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterthur
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

Spent a weekend here last month and could not have asked for a better experience. The place was very clean and warm, and best of all, the price was very reasonable. The location was excellent, within walking distance to most of the sites in Istanbul and I felt that it was safe. The breakfast we had was decent and consisted of traditional Turkish items, which added to the authenticity of the place. The owner gave us advice on places to see and restaurants to go to, and she could not have been nicer and more welcoming. I will definitely be staying here next time I am in Istanbul and will certainly recommend it to my friends as well.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortusIstanbul, Manager at Portus House Istanbul, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Dear Gretlerc,

It will be a pleasure to serve you and your friends again here at Portus House.
I am especially thrilled to hear our advice on where to go and what to do suited you so well.
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your positive experience.

Kindest Regards from our entire staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Portus House Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portus House Istanbul

Address: Mumhane Cad. 31 | Karaköy, Istanbul 34340, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 850 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Portus House Istanbul 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in an Art-Nouveau building in Beyoglu, Portus Hotel Istanbul is a unique establishment designed and managed by travellers just like its guests. The main idea is to provide a feeling of comfort and safety. This comfortable hotel features 10 rooms with iPod docks and some flat-screen TVs. Portus Hotel is located in a quiet street by the lively Galata Port, in Istanbul’s prime starting point for tours in all directions by foot, by ship, by metro-tram and by bus. The Karakoy Ferry Terminal and the Galata Bridge are a 2-minute walk away. Free tea and coffee can be enjoyed throughout the day. Guest can also make use of the fully equipped, modern communal kitchen, where usually travelers like to mingle and exchange experiences. There is a supermarket across the hotel as well as plenty of good breakfast houses and restaurants. Decorated with modern art, all air-conditioned rooms offer free Wi-Fi. Some rooms feature a private bathroom with a hairdryer. At the 24-hour front desk, you can find luggage storage and book a shuttle service to Ataturk or Sabiha Gokçen Airport. Private parking is also available. Come and enjoy a fresh, friendly and fun environment, the entry Port for your adventures in Istanbul… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Portus House Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portus House Istanbul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.