We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent mezes, fish and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hayat Cihangir

Hayat Cihangir
Kilic Ali Pasa Mah. Akarsu Cad. No. 25 D 1, Istanbul, Turkey
293 5374
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #457 of 11,077 Restaurants in Istanbul
Cuisines: Seafood, Turkish
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent mezes, fish and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

A small local restaurant but a fabulous meal. The service was friendly and informative resulting in a great meal. Try the local wine- the Narince turkish grape variety is fabulous. We had a bottle most nights.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayatcihangirde, Yönetici at Hayat Cihangir, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Stephen W,

Thank you very much for spending time and write your comments. It's very nice to hear and read your fabilous comments. We are happy for you to have good times at our restaurant. Hope we can see you here again. Have a nice holiday...

Yasemin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    27
    12
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Too rushed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Too fast, too rushed and overall not a relaxed pleasant evening out. The food was good but there was no menu, no sense of what anything cost and that disturbing feeling that you would be ripped off. We were not, by any means. By why not provide a menu and take the tension out of ordering?
Good food quality, good locality but overall ruined by the pushy service.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayatcihangirde, Yönetici at Hayat Cihangir, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Hadyn P.,

First of all thank you for spending time and write your comments about our restaurant. You can be sure we will care about your comments and we are going to work on it. We have a menu but ı am so sorry for not giving you and the misunderstanding. I will worn the stuff not to have this problem again. Hope we can see you here again...

Have a nice day,
Yasemin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Not worth the money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

The food is ok but not great and quite expensive. The service by part of the staff pushy and not pleasnet at all. I would not return.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hayatcihangirde, Yönetici at Hayat Cihangir, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Michal F,

Thank you for spent time and write your comments. Your all comments are very important for us, you can be sure that we care all of them. I wished you would leave more happy from here and I am sorry for your negative experience here. You can be sure we will work on it. Hope to see you here again.

Best Regards
Yasemin O.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New York
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“A smoky restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

The food was OK, the waitress tried her best, and the spirit of the patrons was good. However, despite the large "No smoking" poster in clear sight, thick clouds of smoke came from every side. Although smoking isn't allowed in restaurants, the management clearly did not care. For us this was a negative, and I wouldn't return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayatcihangirde, Yönetici at Hayat Cihangir, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Odd_Metter,

Thank you for sharing your comments about Hayat. I am so sorry about the experience you had here about smoking. I just had a chance to read your comment and talked with the stuff to learn how something can happen here. Because inside of our restaurant smoking is not allowed. That's why we have balcony for the smokers. Again really sorry for your experience...

Best Regards
Yasemin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food seriously let down by service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This restaurant is on a popular and upmarket street in Cihangir. The food is really very good - excellent topik (a Turkish-Armenian speciality) and wonderful calamari in particular. Unfortunately, the service is pushy and unprofessional - really quite unpleasant - and marred the experience signficantly.

All started out well - the waiter brought around an appealing tray of mezze for us to select what we wanted, and took our drinks order. He jokingly scolded me for not ordering alcohol (I'm quite visibly pregnant, but fine, one never wants to assume anything, and it might not have been apparent when I was sitting down) Had my abstinence been for a less happy reason, this could have been more uncomfortable. My husband ordered raki, on which there is a very significant mark-up - but to be fair that is normal for Turkey and especially smart places like this in Istanbul.

The hard sell of the fish was what left a particularly unpleasant taste in the mouth. It's not unusual for fish, including local, seasonal fish, to be rather expensive In Turkey, but the prices quoted were quite extreme - 120 TL for one particular specimen (I forget what it was - dorado perhaps?), for a portion clearly two large for two diners, as we were. I really wasn't in the mood for fish and explained this (surely aversions and culinary whims during pregnancy are pretty well known?) but the hard sell continued - the fish is good for the baby, etc. etc. It's not unusual for places in Turkey to particularly recommend something like this, but this really went too far and made us uncomfortable. We asked if they had any meat dishes - the waiter shrugged his shoulders dismissively - they did have kofte, but really it's much better to order the fish...Why would they have something on their menu they didn't have any confidence in and didn't recommend? It didn't leave a good impression.

For the rest of the meal, we were treated quite curtly, the initial friendliness having evaporated along with our unwillingness to spend an exaggerated sum on fish we didn't want. We both ordered kofte, only one came - that sort of thing. They apologised, to be fair. When the bill came, it was significantly higher (say 20-30%) higher than similar meals in similar establishments. It wasn't completely unreasonable, but they'd done things like adding 7 TL each for a cover charge. This isn't at all the norm in a meyhane. We decided to treat this as a service charge (14 TL came to not much short of the 10% we would leave for good service, which itself is on the high side by Turkish standards).

An unpleasant coda - we got 200m down the road and realised we'd forgotten something at the restaurant. My husband went back and faced complaints from the waiters about the lack of a tip. Really not on! Despite the excellent food, we really wouldn't recommend this place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hayat Cihangir also viewed

Istanbul, Turkey
 

Been to Hayat Cihangir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hayat Cihangir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.