We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, steps from Sultanahmet sites!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Perula

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Perula to your Saves list
Hotel Perula
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Binbirdirek Mah. Peykhane Sok. No 45, Istanbul 34010, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #118 of 829 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, steps from Sultanahmet sites!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Great hotel in the perfect location! If walk out of the hotel, make a left and walk a block, you'll end up at the bottom of the Hippodrome. The ATMs and the Sultanahmet Tram stop are on the north end of the Hippodrome, which is perfect if you want to explore other areas of Istanbul. I booked my room directly through the hotel and got the free airport shuttle (stay 3 nights) which was very convenient. Breakfast was standard (cheese, boiled eggs, meat, rolls, drinks). Close 10min walk to Akbiyik street (east of Blue Mosque) where all the bars were. I felt very safe in this location and would book again next time I'm in Istanbul!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    63
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
14
66
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boulogne-Billancourt, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

we (young couple) have stayed 5 nights at Perula Hotel, in December/early January 2013:

- the pros: location (2 min walking distance from Blue Mosque, very close to Saint Sophia and Bazar as well, nice neighborhood, absolutely safe and quite) ;

- the cons: breakfast was clearly disappointing (nothing "extraordinary" contrary to what the website says) ; service was just ok (each time the room had been prepared by the staff, we had to ask the reception to send towels ; contrary to what pictures on the website suggest, there is no bar in the hotel (you'll have to go outside for a beer or a glass of wine) ; once, two staff members started to argue loudly in the breakfast room ; we got kicked out of the Turkish bath once because other clients had "booked" the place - we learned later that it was absolutely not the hotel policy to make bookings to use the Turkish bath).

So, just a nice hotel (clear, pleasant area, nice staff) but we are sure you could find a better value for money elsewhere in Istanbul.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed in this hotel before and and after our trip of Turkey and enjoyed our stay. Evyryone was very friendly, very polite and welcoming. We learned few words and used them a lot - everyone's face would lit up every time we say something in Turkish, you could see it they loved that!
Place is very new (renovated), very tidy and within walking distance to the biggest tourist attractions in Istanbul - Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazar, Topkapi Palace, Cisterna Basilica. And it has its own hamam! It may be not as good as Cimberlitas Historical Hamam (that is just a 5 min walk from Perula by the way), but it is marble, just like any real hamam is, provides you with towels and it is free.
Rooms are a bit on a small side, however it is not a problem at all - there is so much to see and do in Istanbul, you really won't be sitting in your at all. Beds are comfortable and we always felt well rested in the morning.
We liked breakfasts, perhaps the only complaint about breakfast would be lack of good coffee. There is coffee, but it is a coffee-machine coffee and very average even for a coffee machine. That said, just outside of the hotel there are plenty of places to have a real turkish brew. There is a restaurant in the hotel and plenty of places to eat in surrounding area. As soon as you walk away from the main drag, prices do drop dramatically. Two doors away from the hotel, on the same side of the street, we found a tiny little shop that sells absolutely wonderful fresh gozleme (this is a must to try while in Turkey) for 1.5TL only!

Room Tip: Before we started our tour we were staying in the room that was right in the end of a corridor and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I arrived in Istanbul (from the US) with a brand new, raging cold. The day and night staff, most of whom spoke good to excellent English (I speak no Turkish), provided me with pots of tea and hot water day and night, which I so appreciated. Everyone there was kind, polite, and helpful, including the cleaning ladies who were wonderful. The room was immaculate, the breakfasts were delicious, I felt lucky to be staying there for the three nights before I joined my tour group. Plus, the hotel is conveniently located near the Blue Mosque and the Aya Sophia. My tour group leader recommended this hotel to me, and I would stay there again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

A Wedding Anniversary suprise getaway present for my wife and first time visit to Istanbul, on arrival at the local tram stop "Cembrutine" I was taking back a little by the localised and narrow back street feel - Amsterdam like... with a turkish twist.

Location is key: By sheer coinsidence, it turned out we could'nt have chosen a better location as tour coaches actually came from other areas to set down other adventurers who chose hotels further out 5 - 7 minute walk to the "Blue mosque", 10 mins from the "Topkapi Palace" and the "Sophia museum" The grand bazzar 15min walk. in summary the key sites which summise a visit to Turkey is all located within this square mile.

Staff/Hospitality: Start with a smile and watch barriers fall aside... we found all levels of staff ranging from security staff to managers full of smiles and always going the extra mile to meet your needs.

Communication: As expected, always make an effort to learn key phrases in local tongue such as Hello - "Marhaba" or "Tesekkur Elderim" - Thank you very much.

Tips:
Local currency is Lirasi or the Euro.
Best weather June - September (personal opinion)
Street Hawkers always on approach always be firm but polite if not interested...
Do your own research

Hope this helps, all the best.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Very confort and nice room.
Excelent location! Near the main attractions (blue mosque, hagia sofia, topkaki palace) and best places to chil out. Brand new place with new forniture and elevator.
Really recommend!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I would like to thank Hotel Perula for saving my vacation to Istanbul. We had checked into a place called "Hotel Klas" which was not only NOT a "4 star" and was not only tiny beyond belief but was also dirty with unfriendly staff. Perula was such a brath of fresh air, THANK YOU. Friendly and helpful staff and extremely clean rooms.

While it seems far from the tram, it is actually just one block from the Hippodrome and Blue Mosque (SultanAhmet Mosque), so it is central to the old city and once you are settled here easy to get around.

They also have their own Turkish bath service! A nice touch

Again, a very clean hotel with great staff. Strongly recommend

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Perula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Perula

Address: Binbirdirek Mah. Peykhane Sok. No 45, Istanbul 34010, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 829 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Perula 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Perula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Perula, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.