We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely a solid hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sultan Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sultan Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Sultan Palace Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Katip Sinan Sok. No:38 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #414 of 945 Hotels in Istanbul
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Definitely a solid hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

I think there's a spread in reviews for this hotel bc it depends on what you compare it to. Our room (standard) was clean, the shower was great, there's a safe inside the room and plenty of closet space for longer stays and slippers! The front desk staff was okay (limited in english) and the breakfast was okay (in comparison to other bnb's in Istanbul). There is a lovely rooftop terrace and wifi in the rooms. From the hotel, there is easy access to Blue Mosque etc. Maybe about a 5 min walk to Hippodrome. One downside was that we had an early flight and the hotel does nothing to accommodate take-away breakfast. That may be standard in Turkey but in Egypt, they pack up your breakfast to take with you! Oh yeah, bc it started raining while we were there- our room got cold. We tried the heaters but couldn't get them to work. HOWEVER, we didn't ask the staff for help so there was probably something simple we missed.

Overall, Sultan Palace is good. Very good.

Room Tip: We were in room 404 which was nice bc it had a balcony (teeny but still- it's a balcony) from wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    23
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
13
28
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Very friendly staff, great service and very friendly staff!
Our room was spacious, clean and very comfortable.
Would recommend this hotel.
Very affordable.
The hotel is in the perfect location to the popular sights.

Alexia and Kathy

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

I took the sea view room it was very small and not a good furniture the hotel is cheap no soap or shampoo only soap dispenser and the room was very small the size was not as I expected not a good cleaning only one lady can not clean the hole hotel the towels and sheets only changed upon request I had the room changed after 2 days to a bigger one wich was better size wise the hotel still need fixing the bathroom also small
Breakfast has no fresh juice
The staff were helpfull but only if you ask not a good recommendation for the hammam too over all too much for the price the only thing good is the location

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Had a good stay at the Sultan Palace Hotel a week back for 5 days with my wife. Overall I would rate this place as an average Hotel as if you choose the normal rooms its like your in a cage too small except if you choose to stay in the Deluxe Superior rooms where the rooms are a bit spacious with an open balcony facing the sea which is not a good or great view as its quite far away. This hotel is quite affordable if you not looking out for any amenities, the location is quite good as most of the attractions are walking distances.
While I was there I did get attracted and found more hotels in the city centre which I would recommend you to check before choosing this hotel.
The Owner is quite friendly and a great person for advice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Best hotel ever and freindly staff perfect location no dout i would book in it again clean room . Nice bath.good room service . Breakfast is vgood . The only note is the way to the hotel at night is creepy kind of dark

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Virginia, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Hotel has good location, only 5 minutes walking to Sultanahmet square. Room was clean, large enough and air condition worked properly. They have a very nice terrace which offers great views. Value for money was perfect my stay. Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This hotel is very nice, clean but very tiny room, which is not unusual in Turkey. You shouldnt be worry about the standard, cleanness and sleep quality. If you like the pictures and the location you will not be disappointed when you arrive. We stayed there 2 nights, June 2013, and liked it very much. The day after we found a similar hotel but a little bit cheaper in the area so we left.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sultan Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultan Palace Hotel

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Katip Sinan Sok. No:38 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #414 of 945 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sultan Palace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sultan Palace Hotel offers accommodation with elegant furnishings and flat-screen TVs. It is situated in the historic centre of Istanbul’s old city, just 300 metres from the Roman Hippodrome. Rooms feature cable TV and free Wi-Fi access. Each is fitted with wooden floors and air conditioning while some also offer a seating area. All rooms have modern bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sultan Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sultan Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.