We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value 11/10! Room 11/10!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stories Hotel Kuloglu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Stories Hotel Kuloglu to your Saves list
Stories Hotel Kuloglu
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kuloglu Mah. Ayhan Isik Sok. No:30 Tarlabasi, Beyoglu, Istanbul 34435, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #192 of 979 Hotels in Istanbul
Adelaide
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Value 11/10! Room 11/10!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

We arrived to stories apart Karakol and the man at the desk looked and said we are meant to be at the stories apart Kuloglu. The gentleman at the desk spoke with a worker at the apartment and the man grabbed my heavy 23kg suitcase and my boyfriends 23kg suit case and said to come with him as the other hotel is around the corner. He refused to let us help him. The man was so incredibly nice he walked a good half a km with our bags and when we offered a tip he refused it!
We walked in the our hotel and were surprised to find it was brand new! It is a very funky, chic apartment. Service was so pleasant. The room was absolutely stunning! In fact easily the best room of our trip and we stayed in some 5 star hotels! Take note thi is a serviced apartment so no in room dining, however walk 50 metres and your in the main mall in taksim with food everywhere! The street it is in looks a little ragged but it is very safe and the locals are very nice. Cannot say a bad word about this accommodation. Will NOT stay anywhere else in Istanbul.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    18
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
30
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

The location is great, in the middle of the centre of the new Istanbul, with lots of cafes and restaurants in the neighbourhood (as well as the main shopping street).
The room was nice, stylishly furnished but on a small side (especially if you consider the price we paid) and there is lots of noise from the street.

There is a tea and coffee corner with Illy espresso machine (which is listed on the Internet site). We liked our espresso in the morning but we were surprised that we had to pay for it. Nobody informed us about it and it is not mentioned on the Internet that it is a paid service. We had a lenghty discussion about it with the man at the reception desk. He reacted very unprofessionally telling us: If you do not pay for the coffee (4 cups in total), the employee who did not inform you, will have to pay for your coffee, because it was his mistake. We felt as if he wanted us to feel sorry for the employee and to make us pay for the coffee out of pity.
If there was an internal miscommunication the hotel should deal with it internally and not put the guests under pressure.
It was a pity that this incident negatively infulenced our opinion on this hotel.
On the plus side: an umbrella in the room (turned out very useful) and a free wifi.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

It was a difficult place for the taxi driver to find, but once we arrived the staff was great. We actually got the room that was on their website. It was small but felt cozy. The staff was very attentive and made our stay comfortable. If I ever go back to Istanbul I'll be sure to stay here again...

Room Tip: There are only 12 rooms, I got room #1 at the top of the stairs. It can be noisy when new customers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

The place is clean, new and in an excellent location. The only issues I had with the place is they gave me a room facing the alley/sidewalk which was a noisy during the day, small and no sofa or chairs to lounge on. Our friends got a large room with sofa and in the back of the building. If you reserve a room ask for a queen size bed those rooms are the nice ones. I think b/c we were two guys they gave us 2 single beds, not knowing we were a couple. The second issue I had was when I inquired about transportation from the airport they said they would arrange it. I was thinking it would be a hotel shuttle. It turned out to be a car service which cost us 3x the cost of a taxi. I feel that they should have mentioned the cost or just recommended a taxi, this felt a little shady and a scam.

Room Tip: Request queen size bed in back of building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

A really trendy design hotel, with a superb Taksim location. We slept like angels.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

My partner and I really enjoyed our stay at the Stories Apart at Kuloglu. It made our holiday in Istanbul.
Elif who confirmed our booking was very helpful and ensured that all our needs were catered and provided an excellent service.
The Apart is just off the very heart of Istanbul - Istiklal Caddesi, an area that is busy and alive till very late. The building has been renovated to very high standards and the interior is beatifully designed with outstanding attention to detail, providing even bathrobes and slippers. The room was immaculate and provided everything we needed for our stay. The other plus was we could not hear any noise from outside even though we were on the ground floor. Its a great place to stay I will recommend to everyone.

Sheniz & Jan

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

This hotel is centrally located near the shopping district which is easily accessible by foot. There are eatery choices nearby. The hotel itself is on a lightly travelled street (no cars) which means minimal to zero noise. The rooms are extremly modern and the staff..well...after all my travels in various budget ranges...this was by far the most helpful staff ever. Not only did they assist with taxi's (with a trust worthy company), luggage, basic tips, but they even went so far as to arrange private tours which were a fraction of the cost of any I found on the web.

I would absolutely stay here again.
Tip: Taxi drivers are not going to be able to find this place easily (or 80% of the other hotels really). Best to print out a map or have the address written in turkish.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stories Hotel Kuloglu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stories Hotel Kuloglu

Address: Kuloglu Mah. Ayhan Isik Sok. No:30 Tarlabasi, Beyoglu, Istanbul 34435, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #192 of 979 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Stories Hotel Kuloglu 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stories Apart Kuloglu offers self-catering apartments in Istanbul, Turkey, boasting a modern and eclectic style. The apartment complex in located within 2 minutes walking distance to Taksim Square, in Ayhan Isık Sokak Street next to İstiklâl Caddesi Street and is easily accessible by public transport (tram, subway, and bus). These apartments in Istanbul's Beyoğlu district is ideal for those looking for accommodation in the most active art, entertainment and night life centre of Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Stories Hotel Kuloglu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stories Hotel Kuloglu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.