We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good first impression” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stories Hotel Kuloglu

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Stories Hotel Kuloglu to your Saves list
Stories Hotel Kuloglu
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kuloglu Mah. Ayhan Isik Sok. No:30 Tarlabasi, Beyoglu, Istanbul 34435, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #193 of 981 Hotels in Istanbul
Copenhagen
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good first impression”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

Apparently we were the very first guests to stay at this small elegant hotel, so everything was perfectly new and clean. The interior design and decor is neat and simple with a Turkish touch (I don't know why small rooms need a big widescreen TV, but that's probably just me). The street outside is busy and there's lots of noise (live music) and activities at night, but fortunately it seems to stop around 12-01 am. Apart from the noise, the location is perfect. It's next to Cihangir and locals live and hang out here. You will need to bring your sneakers as the area is hilly and worth discovering by foot. The hotel staff is relaxed and attentive. It was my birthday during our stay and the staff noticed and showed up at our room with a delicious strawberry cake (with burning candles).

Nb. On our way back home to the airport we had a terrible experience with our taxi driver who 1. took us on a detour. 2 nearly crashed on the highway because of fast and aggressive driving (the idiot was going 140 km pr hour + zig-zaging between lanes and other vehicles). Upon returning safely home I reported the incident to the hotel and encouraged them to 'screen' taxi drivers in the future when they book taxis for their guests. After two days the hotel management reported back, that they would immediately stop working with the involved taxi company and start working with a different one.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    18
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
30
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

it was brand new, and extremely elegant and comfortable

Room Tip: the higher up in the building, the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

We booked this hotel very late and we were a little bit worried because we could not find any reviews on the internet. We had a huge surprise upon arrival: the hotel is located at 2min walk of the Istiklal street, it is brand new and the staff is simply fantastic. We were traveling with our 1 year old son and we had a room which was big enough to accommodate a cot and still feel spacious. There is a small kitchenette which is very useful to warm up milk for the baby and have a coffee before starting the day. They also have wireless internet which works perfectly well. A special plus for the beds which were particularly comfortable! We highly recommend this place and will certainly go back next time we are in town.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

Fantastic location right next to Istiklal street with places to eat and visit everywhere. We felt really safe and happy in the apartment and were able to step out and into the hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoriesApartIstanbul, Managing Coordinator at Stories Hotel Kuloglu, responded to this review, July 29, 2011
Thank you so much . Look forward to see you again .

Best regards,

Neslihan Ugurlu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Stories Hotel Kuloglu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stories Hotel Kuloglu

Address: Kuloglu Mah. Ayhan Isik Sok. No:30 Tarlabasi, Beyoglu, Istanbul 34435, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #193 of 981 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Stories Hotel Kuloglu 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stories Apart Kuloglu offers self-catering apartments in Istanbul, Turkey, boasting a modern and eclectic style. The apartment complex in located within 2 minutes walking distance to Taksim Square, in Ayhan Isık Sokak Street next to İstiklâl Caddesi Street and is easily accessible by public transport (tram, subway, and bus). These apartments in Istanbul's Beyoğlu district is ideal for those looking for accommodation in the most active art, entertainment and night life centre of Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Stories Hotel Kuloglu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stories Hotel Kuloglu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.