We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dmitry, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stories Hotel Kumbaraci

Save Saved
You added Stories Hotel Kumbaraci to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stories Hotel Kumbaraci
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kumbaraci Yokusu No 66 | Beyoglu, Istanbul 34435, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #218 of 901 hotels in Istanbul
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dmitry, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Me and my spouse were at the hotel in the beginning of April 2013. We liked Stories Hotel Kumbaraci. Everything in the hotel was nice. Personnel is friendly. Service is perfect. We would like to note one remark only. Unfortunately, breakfast was outside the hotel. It is a little bit inconvenient. In other respects it was perfectly well.
I hope we will visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoriesApartIstanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Stories Hotel Kumbaraci, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Mr. Dmitry,

We really appreciate the time you have taken to write this review. Feedback is extremely important in order for us to know what we are doing right and what we can do to improve. The days you were staying at our hotel we were remodeling the restaurant. Now everything has done and we serve the breakfast again at next door. It would be an immense pleasure for us to have you back at Stories Hotel very soon !
Best regards,

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    20
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
20
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ankara, Turkey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This is indeed my first time writing a review on an hotel. But it's really worth it. I have been travelling in 66 countries and have lived in Turkey for almost 5 years now, but living in Ankara I often go to Istanbul for business. I visited all the hotels in the area of Beyoglu and can easily say this is the best compromise in price-quality wise.

First thing you need to know is that the location is great. A few steps from Istiklal, 5 min from Galata, near all sorts of good restaurants and the Sishane Metro Station. In that sense there is really no one like this Hotel.

Second the staff is professional, kind, and speaks perfect english.

Third the rooms are spacious, with all the comforts you can want and silent (the latter is maybe the most important criteria when choosing an hotel in the area). Yes because it's true that Beyoglu never sleeps with all its clubs, restaurants, famous places and the Istiklal Road but it is very difficult to find a nice hotel where you would not be bothered by all the noise. After trying at leasdt 15 hotels in the area this is indeed the best.

I strongly recommend it. It is so good I took the time, like never before, to make this review.

Enjoy it.

The staff at the entrance is great

PS: I was looking for some critical points to make this review really honest but the only thing that I could find is that You need to move next door to have breakfast in the Italian Restaurant. I do not care and it was actually good ... but for the sake of honesty ....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoriesApartIstanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Stories Hotel Kumbaraci, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

We really appreciate the time you have taken to write this fantastic review. Feedback is extremely important in order for us to know what we are doing right and what we can do to improve.We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and we do hope you will be back to stay with us in the future.See you soon.
Kind Regards,

Hotel Team Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

high quality and clean rooms.. everything was perfect thanks to polite staffs.. just little bit cold on winter thats it:) Location is the middle of istiklal street, so close to night life and historical places. good choice if you wanna go to magical istanbul

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoriesApartIstanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Stories Hotel Kumbaraci, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent review.
Once you are in Taksim, it is pretty easy to switch into holiday mode no matter what you are here for. It is a special place.
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we are looking forward to welcoming you back here soon.
Warm Regards,

Hotel Team Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

If you are looking for a very clean, attractively furnished, functional, quiet, and comfortable hotel room without the frills (lobby, shops, pool, view), this is a superb choice. The internet service is excellent, as is the heating/cooling system. An added plus is that the staff are very friendly and consistently helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoriesApartIstanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Stories Hotel Kumbaraci, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Mr. Kuran,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comment. We really appreciate the time you have taken to write this review. Feedback is extremely important in order for us to know what we are doing right and what we can do to improve. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to see on next month.Kind Regards,
Hotel Team Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Very friendly staff. Cental location. Most of the sightseeing locations are within walking distance. Close to clubs and bars, but still a quiet hotel. Rooms are clean nice. Shower is very good as well

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoriesApartIstanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Stories Hotel Kumbaraci, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

We really appreciate the time you have taken to write this review. Feedback is extremely important in order for us to know what we are doing right and what we can do to improve. You are also right in saying the location is great and it would be an immense pleasure for us to have you back at Stories Hotel very soon ! Best regards,
Hotel Team Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chavenay, France
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This is an exquisite hotel. It is very central, a few steps away from Istiklal street, Beyoglu, and Taksim. Room are very nicely furnished. Staff is welcoming. Would stay there again on a next trip to Istanbul !

Room Tip: Some rooms have a small window looking to a wall, so there is not much light getting into the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoriesApartIstanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Stories Hotel Kumbaraci, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review following your last stay at Stories Hotel .We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and perhaps you may like to try one of our deluxe room, with large wide windows , on a future occasion? Hoping to welcome you again very soon,
Best regards,
Hotel Team Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This hotel is central with easy access to all sightseeing places. The hotel is very clean, the staff is lovely and helpful and the rooms were very nice.......................
I will recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoriesApartIstanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Stories Hotel Kumbaraci, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Ms. Sara ,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review following your stay at Stories Hotel . It was indeed a pleasure to read that you were satisfied with our services and the staff. We truly hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back! Best regards,

Hotel Team Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stories Hotel Kumbaraci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stories Hotel Kumbaraci

Address: Kumbaraci Yokusu No 66 | Beyoglu, Istanbul 34435, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #218 of 901 hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Stories Hotel Kumbaraci 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The building named after Kumbaracı Ramp, one of the most well-known streets of Beyoğlu consists of 24 rooms with a surface area of approximately 23-61 sq. meters and bar with a fireplace, restaurant and bistro.This building that attracts the attention of people walking by in Istiklal Street with its historical exteriors is located in Asmalı Mescit that became the center of not only our cultural heritage but also the entertainment with lively cafés and restaurants.Asmalı Mescit, the most well-known area of Beyoğlu and the most popular district of historical Pera resisting to being forgotten and defeated by time is the meeting point of entertainment lovers thanks to its night clubs and bars. Current historic fabric was restored with modern lines and it is surrounded by boutique hotels, restaurants and entertainment facilities. Thus Asmalımescit, the center of night life in Istanbul and the mirror of Beyoğlu not only entertains but also displays the finest details of cultural heritage. The building of Stories Hotel Kumbaracı dating back to early 1900s and matching with this location elegantly features the typical characteristics of French architecture that forms the architectural style of Beyoğlu predominantly. It was intended to create large suit rooms in this building which was decorated successfully to maximize the functionality.Stories Hotel Kumbaracı combines the modernism and history with its high ceilings, large passageways, marble spiral staircase and bar in the ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Stories Hotel Kumbaraci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stories Hotel Kumbaraci, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.