We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stories Hotel Kumbaraci

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Stories Hotel Kumbaraci to your Saves list
Stories Hotel Kumbaraci
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kumbaraci Yokusu No 66 | Beyoglu, Istanbul 34435, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #195 of 943 Hotels in Istanbul
Chavenay, France
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This is an exquisite hotel. It is very central, a few steps away from Istiklal street, Beyoglu, and Taksim. Room are very nicely furnished. Staff is welcoming. Would stay there again on a next trip to Istanbul !

Room Tip: Some rooms have a small window looking to a wall, so there is not much light getting into the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoriesApartIstanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Stories Hotel Kumbaraci, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review following your last stay at Stories Hotel .We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and perhaps you may like to try one of our deluxe room, with large wide windows , on a future occasion? Hoping to welcome you again very soon,
Best regards,
Hotel Team Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    21
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
24
7
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This hotel is central with easy access to all sightseeing places. The hotel is very clean, the staff is lovely and helpful and the rooms were very nice.......................
I will recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoriesApartIstanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Stories Hotel Kumbaraci, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Ms. Sara ,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review following your stay at Stories Hotel . It was indeed a pleasure to read that you were satisfied with our services and the staff. We truly hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back! Best regards,

Hotel Team Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

My husband and I really, really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We weren't sure what to expect initially since it's a small boutique but this hotel surpassed our expectations. The check-in staff, especially Gokhan, had been extremely helpful with everything. The hotel is located in a small historic building and though the building is old by age, it looks like recent remodeling had been done as there was hardly a trace of the interior being old. The exterior of the hotel is beautiful and especially at night when the lights come on. It's located on a downhill cobblestone street which makes it more romantic looking.

The room we stayed in is what they call the Suite. The bedroom has its own room and there's a small separate living area. The whole place was very clean and welcoming. The bathroom amenities included shampoo, conditioner, cotton buds, manicure kit, shoe polish mitt, hair dryer, room slippers, etc, which was a very pleasant surprise since usually smaller boutique hotels might not give these complimentary amenities. There were also bathrobes and ample towels for us. I loved their shower stall and most importantly, the water pressure is strong enough. The room is very well heated as well (important in the cold season). There is an Illy espresso machine in the room but there's a charge for it. Tea and two medium sized bottles of water are complimentary.

We found this location to be perfect for us. It's a 3-sec walk off the southern end of Istiklal Cd which is the best of both worlds. People usually want to stay at either Sultanahmet or at Taksim Square (northern end of Istiklal). However, staying at Sultanahmet means it's convenient for sightseeing during the day but not as convenient for nightlife in Beyoglu. Or, staying at Taksim Square might put you in a good area for nightlife but since it's on the northern end of Istiklal Cd, you have to go all the way south to Sultanahmet. The location of Stories Apart Kumbaraci puts you in the middle of it all.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoriesApartIstanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Stories Hotel Kumbaraci, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to go into so much detail and share your experience with the online community.
Our goal, is to exceed our guests' expectations so that they may have a memorable stay with us and in turn recommend the hotel to their family and friends . I am delighted to hear that Gokhan made such a good impression on you.
Again, we are grateful that you took from your time to post your review on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to see you again .
Warm Regards,
Hotel Team Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Excellent place in perfect location, a little piece of istanbulian Europe with friendly, helpful, and good-looking personell. Rooms are spacious and luxurious, packed with usefull appliances, including kitchen unit, and stylish furniture. The only possible improvement may be suggested: a bit clearer instuctions of the usage of temperature level (air conditioning) regulation device, and fireplace---it remained unused, which is a pity.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoriesApartIstanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Stories Hotel Kumbaraci, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Stories Hotel Kumbaraci as your accomodation choice for your recent visit to Istanbul and for taking the time to share yor experience with us.Kindly note that after your review,we have instructed our staff ,for each arrival guest - our front-office will accompany the guest till the room and give clear instructions , including air conditioning and fire place .
We hope you will give us a second chance to convince you with a better service.
Warm Regards ,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My husband and I really, really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We weren't sure what to expect initially since it's a small boutique but this hotel surpassed our expectations. The check-in staff, especially Gokhan, had been extremely helpful. At first, we had some issues with our reservation which was neither our fault nor the hotel's (long story short-- the issue was with a third party agent that our booking was done through) but Gokhan was very helpful in trying to help us resolve the issue. The hotel is located in a small historic building and though the building is old by age, it looks like recent remodeling had been done as there was hardly a trace of the interior being old. The exterior of the hotel is beautiful and especially at night when the lights come on. It's located on a downhill cobblestone street which makes it more romantic looking.

The room we stayed in is what they call the Suite. The bedroom has its own room and there's a small separate living area. The whole place was very clean and welcoming. The bathroom amenities included shampoo, conditioner, cotton buds, manicure kit, shoe polish mitt, hair dryer, room slippers, etc, which was a very pleasant surprise since usually smaller boutique hotels might not give these complimentary amenities. There were also bathrobes and ample towels for us. I loved their shower stall and most importantly, the water pressure is strong enough. The room is very well heated as well (important in the cold season). There is an Illy espresso machine in the room but there's a charge for it. Tea and two medium sized bottles of water are complimentary.

We found this location to be perfect for us. It's off the southern end of Istiklal Cd which is the best of both worlds. People usually want to stay at either Sultanahmet or at Taksim Square (northern end of Istiklal). However, staying at Sultanahmet means it's convenient for sightseeing during the day but not as convenient for nightlife in Beyoglu. Or, staying at Taksim Square might put you in a good area for nightlife but since it's on the northern end of Istiklal Cd, you have to go all the way south to Sultanahmet. The location of Stories Apart Kumbaraci puts you in the middle of it all. It also literally a 3-sec walk from the hotel entrance to the southern end of Istiklal Cd.

We definitely will stay again in this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoriesApartIstanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Stories Hotel Kumbaraci, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your invested time and your kind feedback.
We appreciate your wonderful remarks ,we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back again .
Warm Regards,

Stories Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

When you want to stay in the center of Istanbul, notably around Taksim/Istiqlal you generally need to renounce calm. This was not the case here since the rooms, mine at least, was calm despite the incredible amount of people and activity on the streets around. The hotel is small and cosy with good service.
My room on the fourth floor was nice but dark since it gave to a staircase, however given the price and the quality of the room I did not mind. TV worked well and so did wifi. The complimentary tea was nice and two bottles of water compliments of hotel everyday. The bathroom amenities were good too.
One thing I believe may be improved: the bathroom floor looks like it has not been scrubbed or properly cleaned for a while and it is a shame because you feel that it is the only negative point you may give to the stay. The breakfast was fine (tea very good), but it lacked fruits or non-carbs and this was not easy to get used to.
The restaurant next door, Italian and attached to hotel, is very good with good service.
I recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I would recommend asking for a room that is away from the staircase and the elevator because they ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoriesApartIstanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Stories Hotel Kumbaraci, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed experience with us.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and the surrounding areas.

We regret that our breakfast offer in Morro restaurant did not meet up your expectations.Your suggestion on having more items to breakfast is very valid and the restaurant offers currently a variety of no-carbs and fruits .Thank you for your useful remarks.
Regarding the room cleaning,we have instructed our Housekeeping Manager and kindly note that we took action and we hope you will give us a chance to see our "real"level of quality .

We hope you will have an opportunity to return and enjoy Stories Hotel again in the future .

Wam Regards,

Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at this very small boutique inn from 16th of August through the 26th. The room has everything you need. If you wake before the coffee shops the espresso maker in the room will suit you. The room is comfortable with all your needs provided. The style and architecture of the building are well thought out and provide an artful and attentive aesthetic. This period of 2012 also embodied the last portion of Ramadan. Anyone traveling during Ramadan knows nothing shall be as expected so have few if no expectations and your travels will be great. I arrived and found glitches in the system, more so because of Ramadan than anything. For example, internet down can always reek havoc on any traveler especially when our worlds back home have not stopped just because we are on vacation. Stories Apart had everything up and running in under 24 hours and during Ramadan that is really saying a lot. Anything that was not 100% was dealt with expeditiously. A very friendly staff and management is very hands on. I felt very at home here and treated with respect.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Kumbaraci Cadessi are a bit noisier because the Istiklal is steps away. There is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stories Hotel Kumbaraci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stories Hotel Kumbaraci

Address: Kumbaraci Yokusu No 66 | Beyoglu, Istanbul 34435, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #195 of 943 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Stories Hotel Kumbaraci 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The building named after Kumbaracı Ramp, one of the most well-known streets of Beyoğlu consists of 24 rooms with a surface area of approximately 23-61 sq. meters and bar with a fireplace, restaurant and bistro.This building that attracts the attention of people walking by in Istiklal Street with its historical exteriors is located in Asmalı Mescit that became the center of not only our cultural heritage but also the entertainment with lively cafés and restaurants.Asmalı Mescit, the most well-known area of Beyoğlu and the most popular district of historical Pera resisting to being forgotten and defeated by time is the meeting point of entertainment lovers thanks to its night clubs and bars. Current historic fabric was restored with modern lines and it is surrounded by boutique hotels, restaurants and entertainment facilities. Thus Asmalımescit, the center of night life in Istanbul and the mirror of Beyoğlu not only entertains but also displays the finest details of cultural heritage. The building of Stories Hotel Kumbaracı dating back to early 1900s and matching with this location elegantly features the typical characteristics of French architecture that forms the architectural style of Beyoğlu predominantly. It was intended to create large suit rooms in this building which was decorated successfully to maximize the functionality.Stories Hotel Kumbaracı combines the modernism and history with its high ceilings, large passageways, marble spiral staircase and bar in the ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Stories Hotel Kumbaraci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stories Hotel Kumbaraci, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.