We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Food In A Tourist Area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Istanbul Culinary Institute

Istanbul Culinary Institute
Kadir Has Avenue | Cibali, Istanbul 34437, Turkey
+90 212 251 2214
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #471 of 11,072 Restaurants in Istanbul
Price range: $10 - $30
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Exceptional Food In A Tourist Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

We stumbled over this on our first night in Istanbul having absolutely no idea where to eat and were very lucky to do so. We had an inkling it might be good, as it was full of people who gave the impression of having been there before and they seemed to know the staff. It was what we would describe as `fine dining` in the UK, but without the hefty price tag. Yes it is a little bit more expensive than the tourist places round the corner, but if you want to have something a little more appealing than kebabs then spend the extra couple of pounds. The service was attentive and as well as being delicious the food was very well-presented. Highly recommended!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    43
    14
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Food, Good Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We've gone twice, taking friends on the second trip. Carefully prepared modern dishes which riff off of old Turkish favorites highlighting seasonally-available ingredients. I think they also follow the current 'farm-to-table' trend but (thankfully) it's not shoved down your throat like its contemporaries in the US. One dish that appeared on our second visit was chicken baked in scooped-out quinces - the largest I've ever seen. Our friend devoured it in record time, declaring it amazing.

The prices are not rock-bottom, but they are much lower than most nearby trendy high-cuisine restaurants. It's great value as long as you don't order the wine. The wine prices are quite inflated. There's a view of the Halic from the upstairs dining room but they won't seat you there if the downstairs has open seats.

Oh, and for those of you who complain about Turkish tea: this restaurant has an extensive gourmet tea menu. The management offered to treat us to complementary after-dinner teas and we were so glad we took them up on their offer.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbulculinary, Guest Relations Manager at Istanbul Culinary Institute, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Hi almostidaho,
Thank you for writing about Istanbul Culinary Institute.
We are very glad to hear that you chose to visit us at Enstitü Restaurant, not once but twice. We are very attentive about the way we cook our dishes, from ingredients to cooking technics, to service. It makes us happy to hear that our guests enjoy it.
Wishing you a great stay in Turkey...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frenaros
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Found this by chance near our hotel, it's the best food ever and inexpensive. The dishes were top quality in taste and presentation, the atmosphere very comfortable and staff attentive. A little gem! Well worth seeking it out. So good we went there twice and would have gone everyday if they had been open on Sunday.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbulculinary, Guest Relations Manager at Istanbul Culinary Institute, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Hello Michael R,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. It is always a pleasure to hear about our guests who have enjoyed their visit to our restaurant. Our staff and students who work in the kitchens make every effort to prepare the best dishes. I will happily share your positive message with them.

Best wishes from Enstitü Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Tasty, well-presented and imaginative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We were taken by our Turkish friends here which says something, ie not just for tourists! For meze: the zucchini fritters were delicious served with a yoghurt and cucumber dip. Various types of vegetarian pates including hummus, all tasty. Wonderful chickpea pattie stuffed with sweet fried onions. Mains included griddled chicken escalopes with ratatouille, slow cooked lamb wrapped in Swiss chard with a broth and pared ('turned') vegetables. Restaurant casual, lighting just right not too stark not too dim. No gimmicks, just the kind of place I like-the food does the talking.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Top Contributor
296 reviews 296 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
230 helpful votes 230 helpful votes
“Who Woulda Known”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I have to credit one of the other guests at Hotel Marmara with telling us about this place. That guest had returned from lunch raving about the experience so my wife, her sister (who lives in Istanbul and met us at our hotel) and I made plans to go there for dinner.

Menus were in English, but the server we had didn't speak English well and referred us to another server for translation. Bear in mind the menu is limited to what we would call "farm to fork" type items; fresh produce and locally sourced meats. All prepared meticulously by the chefs in training. But this is no five star restaurant. It is a local's secret where groups in the know get to try well crafted foods.

The wait staff might be a bunch of rag-tag guys but they knew their stuff. We started with an appetizer platter which included small samples of a variety of foods; hummus, dolmas, olives, etc. That was followed by entrees including short ribs for my wife, fish of the day for my sister-in-law and chicken schnitzel for me (of all things). Our meals were finished off with a shared slice of chocolate cake. The food was well prepared, served hot and delicious.

The best part was, it was all reasonably priced for food that could easily have cost much more. If I have one regret it is that we did not get seated on the second floor. While our first floor table afforded us a view of the street, the second floor would have given a better view of the Golden Horn albeit it from a distance. Such minor concerns can't take away from the wonderful experience we had.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Istanbul Culinary Institute also viewed

 
Istanbul, Turkey
Istanbul, Turkey
 

Been to Istanbul Culinary Institute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Istanbul Culinary Institute, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.