We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for first time Istanbul visitor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Broken Column

Save Saved
You added Hotel Broken Column to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Broken Column
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Cankurtaran Mah. Akbiyik Cad. No:45 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 770 Istanbul B&B and Inns
athens, ga
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Perfect place for first time Istanbul visitor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We selected Broken Column Hotel as result of Trip Advisor reviews and because we just liked the name. We were delighted with our choice and stayed four nights in total. Perfect location for visiting all the old city sites as well as easy access to the tram for going further afield. Our room was very clean and comfortable and certainly good valure. It faced the street but this was not a problem as there was air conditioning and the windows are double glazed. We especially loved the upstairs terrace which overlooked the Sea of Marmara and breakfast consisted of all sorts of Turkish cheeses, eggs, meats, olives, breads, and fruit.
The very best thing about the Hotel for us had to be the friendliness of all the staff and especially the ever so helpful manager, Cengiz. He went out of his way to communicate with us prior to our arrival and set up airport transfers. On arrival we were offered a cup of tea while he helped us plan our five days in Istanbul. Cengiz and the Broken Column Hotel made our first trip to Istanbul easy, efficient, and most enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    31
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
31
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We've checked in to hotel around 12 pm and they told us that room was available and we honestly liked it a lot!
We left our luggage, locked our money and passports in the safe deposit box and left some stuff on top of the deposit box like medicine and other necessities. Since we've been in Istanbul already and did already sightseeing, so booked this hotel on our last two days after visiting Izmir before we go back home to just try it out.

We returned to hotel around 11 close to midnight to find out that THEY TRANSFERRED OUR THINGS to the other room without our consent ! They moved our luggage and just left our things at the safe deposit box and already other guest moved in our previous room! So we were very frustrated and had to wait till the morning to get our money, passports, jewellery!!!!!!!!!!!!!! And we lost our comb, throat spray forever!


We've traveled around the world! Asia, USA, Europe-u name it and never experienced this kind of bad service and disregard!!! BE aware that in this hotel you have to be mean to people so they will respect you. If you are nice to them, they will treat you without any respect!!!

So overall cleanness of room is fine and breakfast too, but NO RESPECT, so we didn't even like anything there after accident ,we were even thinking of moving in back to Apricot hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Hotel Broken Column is in a great location just a block from the Arasta Bazaar and minutes from the tram stop in the heart of Sultanahmet. Enjoy a bountiful Turkish breakfast on the rooftop lounge overlooking the Sea of Marmara and you can also relax here at the end of the day as the sun sets. The rooms are a nice size, air-conditioned and are quite nicely decorated. There is no elevator but the stairs are wide and no problem to navigate. We were here for four nights in the Moscow room on the top level and had double doors that we could open for a great view of the Sea of Marmara; it was away from the street and quiet. This hotel is a great home base from which to explore Istanbul.

Room Tip: Either The Moscow room on the top floor or the London room just below it are quite spacious and both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

We were looking for a reasonable hotel that could accommodate our group of friends and booked the Hotel Broken Column based on Trip Advisor reviews. I was really just looking for a location close to the Old City and a good price. We were totally thrilled with the hotel. The location was not just good but amazing! The street was filled with cafes, restaurants and shopping. It was a few blocks walk from the Blue Mosque, Aya Sophia, Topkopi. It was about 15 minute walk from the Grand Bazaar and the Spice Bazaar. It was also extremely walkable to the Sultanhamet Metro station from which you could get almost anywhere including the airport.

The rooms may have been a bit small and I never figured out the TV but those were totally minor issues. Breakfast is included and is served on the roof top. The Nescafe machine was always on so even before breakfast was ready you could sit peacefully enjoying the panoramic view of the Bosporus as the cruise ships came in. The WIFI worked well and was also included with out extra charge.

The staff were very nice and helpful and could speak English. The rooms were clean and attractive, the bathrooms were updated. I would recommend the hotel and stay there again.

Room Tip: I was on the ground floor triple called New York. It was very convenient as there is no elevator. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sulphur, Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

Booked sight unseen but very happy with this accommodation. Location cannot be beat. Very reasonable rates and staff offered very good suggestions for us. No elevator. Not recommended for mobility impaired but then neither is Istanbul

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

This is a wonderful and fairly inexpensive boutique hotel in the heart of Sultanahmet. The Blue Mosque along with many attractions and restaurants are all within walking distance. The staff, especially Cengiz spoke great english and was a wealth of information when it came to setting up tours or where to eat. The rooms are nice, clean and a bit small, but we did not spend a whole lot of time in them. Front of the hotel, has a nice little sitting area where you can relax and watch people. We would stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kocani, Republic of Macedonia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Nicely Decorated, AWESOME HOSPITALITY , VERY Friendly , Beautiful, Clean Rooms and a breakfast with a fantastic VIEW. I would definitely choose this hotel again when i visit Istanbul.

Zorica, Macedonia

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Broken Column? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Broken Column

Address: Cankurtaran Mah. Akbiyik Cad. No:45 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 770 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Broken Column 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Broken Column Hotel serving in heart of historical peninsula with lux rooms, indoor restaurant and terrace bar & restaurant (with magnificent Bosphours view) with friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hotel Broken Column reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Broken Column, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.